We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coastal Lodge

Coastal Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kekerengu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coastal Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Kekerengu B&B and Inns
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Kaikoura was a mass of No Vacancy signs, well i had guessed due to the Seafest festival that it would be and so searched the internet for accommodation within 20 or 30 Km's of kaikoura. We weren't interested in the Festival, instead we were interested in a place to sleep and eat, you see we were planing a very impromptu motor bike Trip around the Nelson Marlborough region and home again to Christchurch. The internet exsposed the Coastal lodge and with a phone call I was talking with Anne. If first impressions count then Anne had already scored ten out of ten. The planes for the trip were still in there infancy and so I asked would they mind if i checked the location with Zoe, my infamous partner and riding companion. when i phoned back to confirm I spoke with Grant who was just as friendly and helpful.
We arrived at Kekerengu just a little shy of 7pm and firstly we needed to fill our tummies, Grant had informed me that there was a delightful reasurant accross the road with panaramic veiws of the coastline but they closed around seven pm and so with that oiut of the way we rode on to the lodge. From the moment we turned into the lodge driveway the garage doors were opening and we road straight into Grant and Anne's garage. The evening that followed and indeed the nest morning was a treat only made possible by two fantastic hosts. There lodge is beautiful, clean and superbly comfortable, the most immaculate of beds waited the end of the evening. It never occurred that a bed this good would also yield to an equally as good breakfast, silly me, Grants homemade bread was a treat, Anne's homemade Rhubarb poached in orange juice a walk down my lane of childhood memories. This is hospitality second to none. I could write for another page but just visit for yourselves you won't be disappointed.
Thanks Grant and Anne for a never to be forgotten experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

An absolutely stunning weekend away which left us very sad to leave. Anne & Grant were wonderful & so helpful & friendly. From start to finish they were the ultimate hosts. Absolutely beautiful lodge, lovely views & relaxing atmousphere.
The lodge is right at the start / finish for the Moa Hunt MTB Race, which was our purpose for the trip. Overall we can't rate this B&B highly enough. Can't wait for this years race!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

I really enjoyed the hospitality; laughs and great meals. I look forward to another cycle trip in the next year or so. Coastal Lodge is the only rest stop for cyclists on the main road between Blenheim and Kaikoura, NZ. I really enjoyed Anne's sight seeing drive up the back valley and hills where I got some great photos.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey Hills
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed at this B & B while on our South Island holiday. My hubby had small medical emergency the day before and needed somewhere to recoup for a couple of days and the Coastal Lodge by the main highway half way between the ferry and the whale watching was ideal. Nice restaurant right opposite. Warm, welcoming and spotlessly clean, we cant thank Grant and Ann enough for their hospitality

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellaedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed with Anne and Grant while my husband was hunting in nearby Remuera. Each night, regardless of the hour Eldon returned from the hunt, they had a delicious hot meal for us. Even when dinner started at after 10:00 pm, breakfast was waiting at 6:00 am so that he could catch the early morning hunt. We thorougly enjoyed a variety of meals, especially the fruit and produce from their yard. I have chronic kidney disease and have to particularly watch protein and salt intake. With their careful preparation and variety of choices at each meal, they easily accommodated my special dietary needs.

Our room was pleasant and roomy. The large living-dining room and kitchen have a beautiful view of the surf and Grant and Anne turn it all over to their guests. I stayed at the Lodge some of the days Eldon was hunting and they showed me some of the area and took me to town so that I could get a cable to download my photos. (American cable connections are apparently a different size.) They are knowledgeable and good conversationalists, but if you want to just vege out with a book, that's OK, too. We felt we were leaving two new good friends. Cindy & Eldon Lonborg, Oakville, Washington, USA

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchoolMarmFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Coastal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Lodge

Property: Coastal Lodge
Address: 9 Sunrise Place, Kekerengu 7260, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kekerengu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kekerengu
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,192 - ₹ 7,739
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful unspoilt countryside and uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean, Coastal Lodge B&B is the perfect stopover to relax and enjoy NZ scenery & hospitality. We are half way between Kaikoura and Blenheim, directly opposite Kekerengu's award-winning restaurant "THE STORE'. We offer spacious, comfortable, clean, affordable, accommodation, 40 minutes from Kaikoura's whale watch, seal colony and Marlboroughs vineyards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing