We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$ 57
US$ 53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Riverlands Roadhouse(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$ 112
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Morph Heritage Collection(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$ 156
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 121
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Coastal Lodge in 5 years.In 2007 we got married at Kulnine Lodge next door and stayed overnight at Coastal Lodge. This year Ben and I had our 5th wedding anniversary and I arranged a surprise stay at Coastal Lodge again. Each time we have been treated in a such a way we felt very special. Anne and Grant are down to earth and great company. Anne's breakfasts are delicious and Ben just loves her home-made bread.A lovely setting near the ocean which leaves you restored.

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the "honeymoon suite" which is large and luxurious.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Coastal lodge is a lovely spot tucked in across from the Restaurant in Kekereungu. We thoroughly enjoyed our walk along the beach taking in the scenery. The hosts Grant and Anne were warm hosts and helpful with my inquiries. I relaxed and liked the lavender outside my room. I look forward to returning to Coastal Lodge and staying longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrantAKekerengu, Owner at Coastal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you to all our guests over the years who have taken the time and made the effort to write wonderful comments on our trip advisor page.Our goal is to make your holiday time/business time with us the best it can be and we try and provide everything, to enable you to do that.
Anne and I enjoy meeting you all and look forward to hearing about all your travel adventures.
Thank you all for sharing your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

An oasis on SI's main road south. Grant and Anne were fantastic friendly hosts. Food straight from their garden, including olives and a variety of citrus fruits - it may be on the wild Kaikoura coast but it's got a climate all it's own!
This was not a planned stay for me but I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyMek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Coastal Lodge is a great stay!

The ocean view is not only beautiful, but very relaxing! You can see it from both their deck and from the inside of their beautiful home. The view also includes The Store, a well-known restaurant and its picturesque landscaping right across the street. The landscaping in Anne and Grant’s yard is awesome, too—nice yard with lots of flowers and shrubs! Our room was very nicely decorated and comfortable—with fresh cut flowers in our bedroom and freshly picked lavender in our bathroom—really nice touch!

The continental breakfast was scrumptious! I think my husband and I almost ate all of the fresh fruit—and the bowl was really big! Lots of different kinds of fruit, most of it home-gown, and all delicious!

Anne and Grant were excellent hosts! The evening we arrived, we talked for hours while sipping on beer and wine. They were eager to help us figure out our drive the next day, and to offer suggestions for sights to see and things to do. You won’t find a more gracious host and hostess anywhere! We really enjoyed talking with them and enjoyed our stay here very much.

We highly recommend this wonderful B&B!!!

Diane and Tim

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dweber_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We arrived to a very warm welcome and were delighted with our spacious room and ensuite. We wanted to have dinner at the reknowned resturant located across the road called "The Store" which our hosts kindly booked for us, while we took a drive to Blenheim.
After Dinner we enjoyed a couple of choice wines and excellent conversation with our hosts before retiring for the night. We enjoyed a superbly comfortable quiet nights sleep.
The breakfast was excellent. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and home baked bread. The whole package was great value and we left feeling really revitalised even though we were only there one night. We could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenYo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews