We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 2 nights of our 10 day holiday.”
Review of Lone Kauri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lone Kauri Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Karekare B&B and Inns
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best 2 nights of our 10 day holiday.”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

What a fabulous location for a B & B and wonderful warm hosts looking after us! The room was beautifully furnished, bathroom very modern and overlooking the bushland, so many beautiful touches like the flower on the bedside table, afternoon tea waiting for us when we return from being out, books & maps to read, and the most delicious breakfast ever which included home made preserves. Keith even had the Australian flag flying while we were "in residence". We loved staying here and will return. Thank you to Keith and Ann for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We found Keith and Ann to be excellent hosts with all our needs being met. Our stay was very relaxing, like home away from home. Our accommodation was clean tidy with lovely furnishings. The bedrooms had beautiful covers and throws. Each bedroom had a modern ensuite. Can’t wait to go back and be spoilt with Ann’s delious baking and relax in the spa over looking our beautiful NZ native bush.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Over in NZ for the Rugby so a real action packed trip as only there for just over two weeks. We pre booked the Lone Kauri Lodge and thank goodness we did. Right from the start of our stay Keith and Ann Bishop were extremely accommodating at this fantastic B&B. We could not fault anything, the breakfast was great and Anns tea and homemade cakes after a hard days hiking were just brill. A long relax in the hot tub in the middle of the rain forest !!!!!! what more could you wish for. A great location for a whole range of activities. Nothing was too much trouble and our hosts were extremely knowledgeable making this an absolute pleasure. Highly recommended and we will return to see you again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We chose LKL for our honeymoon as a place to branch off to other sites. It's a home stay place where you can meet other guests.

I don't think you'll find any friendlier people than Keith and Ann Bishop in all of NZ. They are incredibly accommodating. It's as if you are staying with friend.

Their recommendations are spot on and very very helpful. The little snacks each day are a nice touch and Keith cooks a lovely English breakfast.

We couldn't be happier with our stay.

Recommend you hire a car as they don't do Airport pick up (not feasible).

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, so be sure to book early. It's not a resort, but rather a safe, friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Lovely place set in breathtaking rain forest, a bit out of the way, but that made it all the more special and was a great place to get over the jet lag. Room was nice size, big bed, large bathroom, not much side space though for toiletries and make up etc. Very helpful and accomodating hosts (greeted with tea and homemade cakes!), gave us a good recommendation for dinner, so good ended up going back next night, was about 20mins drive from B&B, called The Refreshment Room, lovely food and staff. Some lovely walks nearby, recommend KiteKite Falls about an hour round trip. Location of B&B is bit tricky, especially when driving in the dark, set down very windy narrow roads, adds to the charm though. Would definatly return for another visit.

Room Tip: Stayed in smaller of the two rooms, with stunning views and very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karekare
8.5 km away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
17.1 km away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
142 reviews
3.2 km away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Romantic Piha
Romantic Piha
#5 of 5 in Piha
4 reviews
9.9 km away
Bethells Beach Cottages
Bethells Beach Cottages
#1 of 2 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
137 reviews
11.5 km away
Bush Sand and Sea
Bush Sand and Sea
#1 of 1 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Kauri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Kauri Lodge

Property: Lone Kauri Lodge
Address: 4 La Trobe Track, Karekare 0772, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Karekare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Karekare
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,050 - ₹ 7,520
Hotel Class:3 star — Lone Kauri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace, privacy and tranquility just 55 minutes from Auckland CBD and International Airport. Lone Kauri Lodge is the perfect getaway from the city or, if you are from overseas then relax with us before setting off to see the rest of New Zealand or reflect on your visit before the trip home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing