We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect...thanks Patrick and team!”
Your view coming up to your private estate.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view coming up to your private estate.
Why it's called 'The Sunset' Fresh, delicious, plentiful breakfast.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Your view coming up to your private estate.
Why it's called 'The Sunset'
Fresh, delicious, plentiful breakfast.
Views as far as you can see.
Amazing play of color and light.
Dinner service, delicious home cooking.
High ceilings of sustainably harvested hardwoods.
Costa Rican art and tile work throughout the home.
6 comfortable bedrooms all with shower and bathroom.
Office area, Musical instruments to use.
Spacious and elegant.
Lake Cote is just a mile and a half hike or drive from the home!
Sunset from the pool house.
Your private rental estate.
Great views!
Great for large presentations or just your intimate group.
Awe inspiring views.
So much room to spread out and enjoy.
Simple, clean and well appointed.
You can go to the horses or the horses can come to you.
A vista from one of the several hiking trails.
2 or 25 we can tend to your group or large corporate groups.
We can set up all your adventures!!!
Comfortable and relaxed.
Sunset from a small local eatery we recommend. 15 minutes from the house.
Comfort overlooking nature's grandeur.
You may find a great book and not want to leave till you're finished!
Dining over the Lake for two to 24 people.
Chef's kitchen where your every dietary need can be met
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chamboy88
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Just perfect...thanks Patrick and team!”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Maybe the hidden gem of this rental is the "master concierge" and owner of the property, Patrick. He greeted us every morning after breakfast and collaborated with us on our daily adventures, meals and travel. Patrick is not only incredibly knowledgeable about Nuevo Arenal and La Fortuna but of the Guanacaste region as well.

With regard to the property itself, the pictures do not do it justice. The grounds are expansive, the house is huge (we traveled there with a family of 13 and had plenty of room to spare) and the pool is awesome.

We were treated like royalty by Patrick’s wife and her helper every morning with delicious breakfasts, as well as three dinners that we had them prepare for us (added costs but worth it especially after a long day of adventures).

Other than the rough drive up and down to the house (really not a big deal for us, but rent a 4WD) and occasional Wi-Fi outages (we had 9 teens), there were very few issues that we had with this rental.

I cannot recommend this property any more highly…Patrick and his family made us feel welcome and safe…thanks Patrick!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom73...
1 review
“COSTA RICA IN OCTOBER”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in October 2016

This is THE place to stay. Costa Rica has various weather regions. At this location the weather is cooler and although it rains almost every day, it's like a warm shower that soon passes. We brought light plastic rain wear (Walmart). The resort has two. They can be folded up and carried in your pocket or fanny pack. We went for walks in the sun, and in a few minutes the weather changed and warm rain cooled us down. We also carried a small umbrella to shield me from the sun (I burn easily).
For being a tropical country it was surprising that there were less bugs than I had at my home in California (something that I worried about before I visited). We found that Southwest airline flies to CR but the flight arrives at 9 pm. No problem, the driver was there to pick us up and drive us the two hours to the resort (do not rent a car, the roads are horrible). Patrick is the most courteous, kind, helpful person you can ever deal with. He met us at 11 pm and showed us the six rooms to choose from. We staid upstairs. When we awoke the next morning we were thrilled to see a 180 degree view of Lake Arenal, the volcano, and the beautiful tropical vegetation. The resort has so many flowers we never did figure out how many different flowers there are.
Do yourself a big favor that you will never regret: Have Patrick cook you dinner every evening! The free breakfast was enough for us to go all day without getting hungry. There was always enough fresh papaya-banana-pinneaple juice left for our snack. One of us is vegetarian and the other is not. Every evening, at the time we chose, Patrick showed up in the kitchen and quickly made a banquet. Somehow he made both of us something delicious, and it was different every day! It's been a year since we were there and we still talk about how good the food was. We want to go back just to eat there again!
We were driven to town over a rocky road where we visited the grocery store. I don't see how I could of cooked our meals. It is a foreign country! The choices were meager and expensive. Forget it, have Patrick cook!
The driver is expensive ($200 and up) but well worth it. We went to see the butterfly farm, the snakes and other creepy things (skip that), and the rain forest. We also went to the hot springs, after which our driver took us on a wild ride over rocks maskerading as a road, and into a country restaurant. We all ate a very delicious meal. It was a lot of fun to be part of the culture.
The only negative I can think of is the bedrooms have a lot of light and there are no room darkening curtains. Bring eye mask if that bothers you.
We had the large pool (cool water), and large hot tub to ourselves. We just had to let Patrick know ahead of time to turn it on.
Since we were on our honeymoon we wanted a place that was private. This is surely private. It's miles from anywhere. Patrick's and Elisa and their darling son live next door, but it's not positioned so they can see into the resort and it affords complete privacy. As other's have said, you feel like they have become your friends, so it doesn't really matter.
I suggest you bring your own DVDs of movies and music. We never figured out how to use Netflix, nor did we get our cell phones to work.
Talk about service! Patrick let us use his cell phone for urgent matters, and of course there is wifi. Also, when I suddenly needed a prescription on Sunday afternoon, he was able to get a hold of a pharmacist and drove into town to pick it up. He knows everyone in the region and is very well respected.
Patrick's wife is also an excellent cook. If you get her to cook you a dessert you will be delighted.
My husband and I have traveled in many countries of South America, Europe, etc. This is a wonderful country to visit. The people are friendly, the food is good and this resort is the best. It's a wonderful memory for us and we often talk about it. We hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TTR4us
Montana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pampered, Private, Pura Vida – Perfecto!”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the first contact with Patrick we could tell this is an exceptional place to stay. He is the most responsive home owner and host; paying attention to every detail. I usually spend hours researching side trips, restaurants, etc prior to vacation. It was so relaxing to have Patrick as our personal adventure planner, superb chef and before you leave, you’ll feel like a friend. He sat down with us and visited about our to-do wish list, personally making reservations for us and drawing excellent maps of how to get there. (He also offers transportation if you prefer) What a treat to walk to the ticket counter or into a restaurant and simply say “Patrick at the Sunset called about us” and be immediately handed our tickets or seated at our table. Whether staying as a couple or a group you have the whole house to yourself. There are six big bedrooms, each having its own private bath. Incredible views out all of the windows, outdoor patio that is as big as a dance floor with panoramic views of Lake Arenal and the Arenal Volcano. Breakfast is included; plentiful and delicious. The kitchen is very well stocked, you can cook if you like – but we strongly suggest that you let Patrick pamper you with at least one of his homecooked meals. The price is very reasonable and it’s so nice to have a freshly prepared dinner (with dessert!) waiting when you return from a long day of activities. They shop, prepare, serve the food and clean up afterward; all you have to do is enjoy. He and his staff make it the most pleasurable, carefree vacation. We were so spoiled! Whatever size group or pace of vacation you are looking for he can help tailor it to be memorable and fun. Or you can simply enjoy the spacious, privacy of the home and feel comfortable that Patrick and his staff are nearby if you need anything. The temps were perfect and we had NO mosquitoes! We enjoyed ziplining, hanging bridges, hiking up to Cote Lake (right by the house), therapeutic massage (conveniently came to the house), horseback riding, The Gingerbread restaurant, Crocodile River Float (on the way to airport but Patrick made arrangements for us) and simply sitting on the deck or in the hot tub visiting with our friends. Our only problem was that we ran out of time! We are already looking forward to visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2luvfood
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful vistas, wonderful food and great hospitality!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently stayed for one week at Patrick's place with my extended family of 11. Ages ranging from 10-77. Different tastes, wants and languages spoken. Everyone was well taken care of thanks to Patrick and his family. If you are a group or a family looking for a place where all of you can be together, not waiting in a buffet line for meals or getting lost on the often windy and long roads... this is the place for you. The teenagers and kids had a great time in the very large pool every afternoon. The adults did too after they came out of the hot jacuzzi. The grandparents loved the views of the wildlife and the volcano. Then there was the food that was provided by Patrick , his family and staff. I would recommend staying at a place where there is someone to help guide you, letting you know where and what to do. Patrick came to visit us every evening asking us what was on our list to do. Often times booking for our group and even finding French speaking guides. He even helped us put air in our tires of our rental car...the unpaved roads can be very tough on the car and on our stomachs, but Patrick was always there in good spirits. There was no problem he could not find a solution to. You go to Costa Rica for the adventure, the views and the experience but you love it because of Patrick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Patrick's help and assistance.
Liked least: The squeaky floors in the green room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Place is Amazing!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family of 6 just got back from Costa Rica. We stayed 4 of our 8 days at “The Sunset”. We had an amazing time there. Patrick and his wife Lisa were very friendly and accommodating. Lisa cooked our breakfast every morning and they were delicious. Every morning there is coffee, a beautiful fruit plate, a meat of some sort, and either waffles, pancakes, French toast, etc. She offered to make us a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, and we decided to have that the last day. It was amazing!! I’m so glad she asked us!! There is a housekeeper that comes every day, which is also really nice. She does a really good job. Every morning after breakfast Patrick came over and helped us plan our day. We came in the rainy season, so we knew weather could be iffy. Our first full day there it was pouring and Patrick was able to suggest some things to do in an area that it wasn’t raining. Not only did he suggest these excursions, he called them to check the weather and made our reservations for us every day.
The house is very clean and well maintained. Each room has it’s own air conditioner but the main areas don’t have one. I was worried at first since the temps were in the 90s but ended up never missing a/c. Each door has a screen as well as the windows. We would open some up every morning and be completely comfortable. Each room has it’s own bathroom, which is great when everyone is trying to get out of the door. The bedding is clean and the mattresses are comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and also very clean. My only disappointment is that we weren’t able to see the majestic view until the day we were leaving because of the weather. I’m glad we got to see it because it was spectacular. I highly suggest staying here and if we return to Costa Rica we will definitely choose “The Sunset”.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious house
Liked least: The road leading to the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing