We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
24
17
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
17
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird lifeunder new managementmanager davidswimming poolbirdsmombasastopoverlodgejourneydrivecoastsafari
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed there for two nights with our rooftop camper. It was very nice and very quite. The birdlife was wonderful. You can see easily more than hundred birds on the compound. At the lodge you can get an experienced guide, who know everything about the place. There is a small sanctuary where animals from Tsavo East (mostly Waterbucks and Elephants) pass by. You can do a small walking tour there. Furthermore there is a swimming pool and an own restaurant. The food was very good. The facilities are quite old but clean and you can get warm water for showering if you need it. We really liked the place and we had some relaxing days there.

Moreover the Voi-Gate to Tsavo East is about a 25 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Daniel_86_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks Daniel for your review and we promise to always do our best to make our guests always feel at home when in sagala lodge
Looking forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Sagala lodge is a great place to relax on your way to or from Mombasa with an amazing experience of hospitality. The smiling faces of the waiters makes Sagala like a home.
Thank you bwana General manager for the good hospitality and customer care.....
Coming soon after August Election.

Regards
Mutua

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mutua2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thanks for your review sir and please let sagala lodge be your second home always we appreciate your support and for your information we are now connected to Kenya power no more generator
Looking forward to hosting you soonest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This lodge is under new management,not to many visitors when I stayed overnight on way back to Nairobi but lots stopped for lunch.It's very rustic but there was plenty of hot water and good toilets bed a little hard but that may be ok for some.the birds were lovely and early morning brought lots of guinea fowl.Dinner was beautiful we had a choice and all was cooked fresh with not to long to wait.I would be happy to stay again on next road trip to Mombasa.The staff were very helpful and did all they could to make you welcome.

Room Tip: all cottages were in nice positions
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PerthJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks Jill and we really look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We really loved our two nights at Sagala Lodge. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The setting is lovely - great plants and flowers and the bird life was wonderful. Had a great guided walk through the small reserve which our two- and four-year old children loved - learning a lot about animal tracks and spoor. The pool was warmed by the sun, and made for very relaxing afternoons. Meals were tasty and portions plentiful (buffet-style lunch and set-menu dinner whilst we were there). All the staff were very friendly, and the manager David was really great and helpful. Remember it's a community lodge, not the Ritz, but I'd say it's real treat for birders and a great place for families to spend a day or two. Very easy to find, off the Mombassa highway.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucym0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thanks Lucy and your family and we really look forward to hosting the family again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This hotel takes my breath away just thinking about it. It's a great place with amazing experience of hospitality,it's like home and you don't want to leave. I found it to be a nice hotel that offers good value for money......had a relaxing stay with birds chirping away.

gladys

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chemm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thanks Gladys we shall always endeavor to provide the best hospitality to our esteemed customers and we welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews