We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a meal and break on Mombasa highway”
Review of Sagala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagala Lodge
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Voi
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I had a very pleasant late breakfast here, it's a cute fairly basic lodge but it's got a nice atmosphere. I plan to stay the night on my next drive to the coast. The rooms look functional and clean. I would recommend stopping here instead of the at the grim gas stations en route. It's only 2 kms off the main road.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank eiryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks so much Eiryr and really looking forward to even offering you our best
Always welcome to sagala lodge and you will like us even more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed there for two nights with our rooftop camper. It was very nice and very quite. The birdlife was wonderful. You can see easily more than hundred birds on the compound. At the lodge you can get an experienced guide, who know everything about the place. There is a small sanctuary where animals from Tsavo East (mostly Waterbucks and Elephants) pass by. You can do a small walking tour there. Furthermore there is a swimming pool and an own restaurant. The food was very good. The facilities are quite old but clean and you can get warm water for showering if you need it. We really liked the place and we had some relaxing days there.

Moreover the Voi-Gate to Tsavo East is about a 25 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Daniel_86_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks Daniel for your review and we promise to always do our best to make our guests always feel at home when in sagala lodge
Looking forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Sagala lodge is a great place to relax on your way to or from Mombasa with an amazing experience of hospitality. The smiling faces of the waiters makes Sagala like a home.
Thank you bwana General manager for the good hospitality and customer care.....
Coming soon after August Election.

Regards
Mutua

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mutua2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thanks for your review sir and please let sagala lodge be your second home always we appreciate your support and for your information we are now connected to Kenya power no more generator
Looking forward to hosting you soonest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This lodge is under new management,not to many visitors when I stayed overnight on way back to Nairobi but lots stopped for lunch.It's very rustic but there was plenty of hot water and good toilets bed a little hard but that may be ok for some.the birds were lovely and early morning brought lots of guinea fowl.Dinner was beautiful we had a choice and all was cooked fresh with not to long to wait.I would be happy to stay again on next road trip to Mombasa.The staff were very helpful and did all they could to make you welcome.

Room Tip: all cottages were in nice positions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PerthJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks Jill and we really look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We really loved our two nights at Sagala Lodge. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The setting is lovely - great plants and flowers and the bird life was wonderful. Had a great guided walk through the small reserve which our two- and four-year old children loved - learning a lot about animal tracks and spoor. The pool was warmed by the sun, and made for very relaxing afternoons. Meals were tasty and portions plentiful (buffet-style lunch and set-menu dinner whilst we were there). All the staff were very friendly, and the manager David was really great and helpful. Remember it's a community lodge, not the Ritz, but I'd say it's real treat for birders and a great place for families to spend a day or two. Very easy to find, off the Mombassa highway.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucym0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thanks Lucy and your family and we really look forward to hosting the family again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Voi hotels
0 km away
Impala Safari Lodge
0 km away
Afrika Lodges
Afrika Lodges
#12 of 16 in Voi
20 reviews
0 km away
Voi Lutheran Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Manyatta Camp
Manyatta Camp
#9 of 16 in Voi
4 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
The Joy Hotel
#2 of 8 in Voi
1 reviews
0 km away
Fine Breeze Hotel
Fine Breeze Hotel
#3 of 8 in Voi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagala Lodge

Address: Mombasa Rd, Sagala, Voi 85868, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Voi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Voi
Price Range: ₹ 3,428 - ₹ 7,653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sagala Lodge is ideally located between Tsavo East and West National Parks. It comprises of 25 bungalows, 1 deluxe suite bungalow and one cottage, pool, restaurant, shop, bar, lounge and a 5000 acre private wildlife park. Bungalows can be rented short or long term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Sagala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagala Hotel Voi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing