We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
24
17
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
17
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird life manager david swimming pool under new management birds mombasa stopover lodge journey drive coast safari
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We really loved our two nights at Sagala Lodge. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The setting is lovely - great plants and flowers and the bird life was wonderful. Had a great guided walk through the small reserve which our two- and four-year old children loved - learning a lot about animal tracks and spoor. The pool was warmed by the sun, and made for very relaxing afternoons. Meals were tasty and portions plentiful (buffet-style lunch and set-menu dinner whilst we were there). All the staff were very friendly, and the manager David was really great and helpful. Remember it's a community lodge, not the Ritz, but I'd say it's real treat for birders and a great place for families to spend a day or two. Very easy to find, off the Mombassa highway.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucym0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thanks Lucy and your family and we really look forward to hosting the family again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This hotel takes my breath away just thinking about it. It's a great place with amazing experience of hospitality,it's like home and you don't want to leave. I found it to be a nice hotel that offers good value for money......had a relaxing stay with birds chirping away.

gladys

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chemm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thanks Gladys we shall always endeavor to provide the best hospitality to our esteemed customers and we welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

It was a two nights away with family to relax and enjoy the holidays. The lodge offered much needed quite with birds chirping away in the background and cool ambience. Staff are friendly,professional and helpful to make your stay as comfortable. The food is delicious and you can make requests in case of special dietary needs. The pool is clean and you will definitely enjoy cooling off on a hot day's heat in it, the children loved it!! We definitely enjoyed our Christmas at Sagala.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Madiscover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We as sagala lodge team are grateful to host your family and we are looking forward to host you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Sagala Lodge is a unpretentious lodge just off the main NBO-MBA highway.

The setting is very natural, plenty of trees & bushes with a scenic backdrop of Sagala Hills.

The lodge has little cabin rooms tastefully decorated using rustic timber with wooden porch to cherish the tranquillity of nature.

The in-house chef cooks up delicious 4 course gourmet meals starting with tasty, hearty soups, fresh salads, delicious mains & desserts.

One can pass the time by taking nature walks, going for game drives or lazing by the clean swimming pool.

Sagala is perfect for an inexpensive weekend escapade or have a quick, yummy lunch whilst visiting the Parks nearby.

Sagala is ideally situated to access the nearby Tsavo East & West Parks.

Wake up to the sound of chirping birds, nature calls - that is Sagala !!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEFANILARDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

It was pleasure hosting you and having quality chats and forever welcome you to sagala lodge and feel just like home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

A big thank you to the staff at Sagala Lodge. We spent one night, we were 5 adults and 6 children and we got a great deal for half board. Meals were fantastic as a kiddy meal was incorporated. Staff were friendly.... The ambiance was lovely, a very relaxing place with a clean swimming pool. We will definitely come back. Thanks once more.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Matilda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thanks Matilda and we always welcome you and your family to sagala lodge;it is the place to relax just like home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews