We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
26
17
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
17
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool is bird life relaxing days a great place to relax manager david beautiful grounds under new management rooms are clean tsavo west birds lodge mombasa packet journey comfort drive stopover
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We spent Christmas week here and it exceeded my expectations. The lodge is beautiful, clean, inviting, friendly and nicely located at just 2km from Mombasa-Nairobi highway. We were welcomed at the reception and then directed to the restaurant which is large and lovely before we were escorted to our rooms. The parking was cake. The breakfast was hearty. We had room service several times and the stuff very professional in every way. The lodge is also the best place to have a stopover on your way from or to Mombasa. The swimming pool is awesome too.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Victor thanks for your review and welcome again to sagala lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Nice garden in front of Sagala hills.You can enter Tsavo East NP at Voi (12 Km) and Tsavo West at Tsavo Gate (60 Km).Service is o.k also pool ,but if you dont get a refurbished cottage :very poor ! Except birds no wildlife..Nearby you find better value at Ngutoni Lodge or Voi Wildlife Lodge (adjactend to Tsavo East with plenty of game
free of entrance fees.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Günther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks for your review and we are doing our best to meet expectations of our guests and come again and you will be surprised how much we have improved our services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

On arrival we were shown to our rooms, which were at the furthest edge of the lodge. Two adjoining room in one lodge building. The rooms were grim, dark, the bathrooms full of cracked tiles and just miserable. Bat droppings and staining decorated the outside walls and added to the grotty feel. We are used to bush life in Kenya, but this was not good. We complained and were met with much apology and taken to much better rooms near the entrance.
Late arrivals to the camp were greeted with much chatting and calling out which woke us up as we were near the entrance. A little more thought about the other guests sleeping would have been good.
The power is via (noisey) generator and therefore limited, only available at certain times of the day. It would be better to invest in solar power and make more basic things like lighting available all day.
It has a nice pool, pleasant surroundings and lovely bird life.
The food was not great either, under cooked fish served in the dark. We couldn't see what we were choosing from the buffet. I would like to say better things, because the staff are so kind and helpful but the place is far behind the service. The cost is much too high and it would be better to operate at budget costs until the place is improved

Room tip: stick to the refurbished rooms
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks for your review and we promise much has really changed since your last visit and we are now very much improved and the sky is the limit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely to see that the place is very much better compared to what was there before great staff and friendly.Lovely Confrence facilities.Most of all the bird watching was so thrilling looking forward to my next visit

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Michael we appreciate and look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When I was there last week they still did some renovation works. Very friendly staff. Rooms are very nice decorated, food is good. There is a viewing platform but I was told there are no animals to see (but you see some colourful birds and have a good view to Sagala Mountain) although on the way from Mombasa-Nairobi Highway (2,5 Km) I saw some elephant dung. A swimming pool is also available. You can't do much there but it's a very nice place to break the journey from Mombasa to Nairobi. If you have some time you can go on a motorbike taxi to Sagala Village (up on the mountain) and enjoy some nice views to the plains and the mountains on the way to Talio. Instead of staying in town (Voi) that's a much better option. And prices are almost similiar when you consider it's half board or full board.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JamboHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieChiwe, General Manager at Sagala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks for your review and please visit us again to see how much we have worked hard to improve everything

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews