We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine and oil tasting with dinner at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Baglio Fontana
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We went to Agriturismo Baglio Fontana for a wine and oil tasting evening including dinner on Sunday the 28 th May. Me and my wife were totally blown away by the attention given to us and the richness of the food and the experience. We arrived a bit late but we found two young ladies ( Daniela and Rosanna) waiting for us in the lovely courtyard of the Baglio. We were given a tour of the place and the unique traditional BB rooms available there following which we were shown a video of traditional Trapanese culture followed by wine tasting of two house wine varieties- a red and wine. This included delicious bruschetti, olive oil and garlic bread and two types of house honey dips which were excellent. Following this we met the charming and incredibly gifted Anna the cook who not only brought us a dazzling array of dishes but also spent time with us to explain the dishes she had prepared and to make us feel truly welcome. We had a sicilian antipasto mixed dish which included ricotta, Caponata and other delicacies followed by two types of pasta, a stupendous meat dish and a Sicilian specialty desert washed down with wine and coffee. This was one of the best gastronomic experiences I ever had and I would like to thank il signor Nicola the owner, Daniela, Rosanna and especially Anna for an incredible experience and evening. I will never forget the welcome we had there and I truly recommend this Agriturismo.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Reggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Look hard for Baglio Fontana's Booking Terms & Conditions. They don't appear on their website, nor does their Reservations Office tell one about them when booking. When in early February we booked a 4-night stay for late June to early July, they demanded a pre-paid deposit of Euros 150 by bank transfer; then, when in early May we asked to cancel the booking for family reasons (no longer able to travel to Sicily) they refused to return the deposit; said that under their Terms & Conditions free cancellation had to be made 30 days or more before a booked arrival, otherwise they keep the deposit "as a penalty" (their phrase). That seems unreasonable at any time and especially when no prior warning is given about cancellation terms. Two other points to note, albeit less serious. Baglio Fontana's email reply to our request to cancel was in Italian; my emails to them were in English; they did not reply (in either language) when I asked for an Engish translation; nor did they answer my further request to send a copy of their Booking Terms & Conditions. Through the Microsoft Translator, I understood that they would allow our deposit to be taken forward to secure another booking at a further date. Fair point. But family reasons will still prevent our rebooking in Sicily, so the point won't apply.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank youlaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We did not stay in this Agriturismo, we went for a meal and to be shown a film on the Tuna fishing industry in Sicily and to taste the wine. The buildings were very old and had been in the same family for centuries. We were shown the old wine presses and various pieces of equipment, it's rather like a museum. There is even the old family car in the garage , a 1934 Lancia which still runs. The meal we had was very good and consisted of several courses, finishing with home made ice cream. The place itself is in rather a remote location and to be successful it really needs an upgrade.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight so can't advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Stay away from this place. Looks great in pics, but falls far short of the expected. We booked for a week - the owner assured us price included use of pool with its outdoor furniture, tennis courts, dining room. When we arrived the pool was a green morass. Ok, we came for french spring break so not prime tourist time in Italy but if you tout all the good things about your establishment when a customer is booking, you really ought to deliver. We left as soon as we could, no refund. A real pity. This place has such potential. In the right hands and management (& funds to fix it up and decorate) it would be a delight.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank MontreuilMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Beautiful buildings and rooms decorated and furnished very traditionally with local tiles and paintwork. Interesting antiques on display. Evening meal was okay but not memorable. Ditto with breakfast although the coffee was good. Interesting place to stay but don't expect modern facilities

Room Tip: Rooms inside the main building are preferable to those in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buseto Palizzolo
2.5 km away
Hotel Ciuri di Badia
Hotel Ciuri di Badia
#1 of 1 in Buseto Palizzolo
649 reviews
42.1 km away
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
#1 of 20 in Castelvetrano
308 reviews
16.8 km away
Agriturismo Fratelli Sanacore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41 km away
Agriturismo Casale del Principe
17.1 km away
Agriturismo Vultaggio
Agriturismo Vultaggio
#1 of 1 in Guarrato
387 reviews
36.8 km away
Agriturismo Duca di San Martino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Baglio Fontana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Baglio Fontana

Address: Via Palermo 26, 91012 Buseto Palizzolo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Buseto Palizzolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Buseto Palizzolo
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo Baglio Fontana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Agriturismo Baglio Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing