We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
68
34
18
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
34
18
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchentunalovely courtyarda great place to stayrisottochefdinnerwinehospitalitysundayagriturismocoursesvideomuseumcardishes
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Look hard for Baglio Fontana's Booking Terms & Conditions. They don't appear on their website, nor does their Reservations Office tell one about them when booking. When in early February we booked a 4-night stay for late June to early July, they demanded a pre-paid deposit of Euros 150 by bank transfer; then, when in early May we asked to cancel the booking for family reasons (no longer able to travel to Sicily) they refused to return the deposit; said that under their Terms & Conditions free cancellation had to be made 30 days or more before a booked arrival, otherwise they keep the deposit "as a penalty" (their phrase). That seems unreasonable at any time and especially when no prior warning is given about cancellation terms. Two other points to note, albeit less serious. Baglio Fontana's email reply to our request to cancel was in Italian; my emails to them were in English; they did not reply (in either language) when I asked for an Engish translation; nor did they answer my further request to send a copy of their Booking Terms & Conditions. Through the Microsoft Translator, I understood that they would allow our deposit to be taken forward to secure another booking at a further date. Fair point. But family reasons will still prevent our rebooking in Sicily, so the point won't apply.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank youlaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We did not stay in this Agriturismo, we went for a meal and to be shown a film on the Tuna fishing industry in Sicily and to taste the wine. The buildings were very old and had been in the same family for centuries. We were shown the old wine presses and various pieces of equipment, it's rather like a museum. There is even the old family car in the garage , a 1934 Lancia which still runs. The meal we had was very good and consisted of several courses, finishing with home made ice cream. The place itself is in rather a remote location and to be successful it really needs an upgrade.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight so can't advise.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Stay away from this place. Looks great in pics, but falls far short of the expected. We booked for a week - the owner assured us price included use of pool with its outdoor furniture, tennis courts, dining room. When we arrived the pool was a green morass. Ok, we came for french spring break so not prime tourist time in Italy but if you tout all the good things about your establishment when a customer is booking, you really ought to deliver. We left as soon as we could, no refund. A real pity. This place has such potential. In the right hands and management (& funds to fix it up and decorate) it would be a delight.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank MontreuilMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Beautiful buildings and rooms decorated and furnished very traditionally with local tiles and paintwork. Interesting antiques on display. Evening meal was okay but not memorable. Ditto with breakfast although the coffee was good. Interesting place to stay but don't expect modern facilities

Room Tip: Rooms inside the main building are preferable to those in the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Although it's a beautiful building the glory days we think date from app. 10 years ago or even longer. Maintenance is at a low level and some small repairs were done only in the area and at the time where the owner and his friends came over to have their own privat party. The pictures on the website are the glory days from the past.
It might be a Western European point of view; staff should be at a more active instead of passive level. They never offer you anything although they are very friendly and helpfull if you ask. It all closes down after app. 22:00 pm. Kitchen food is moderate. The restaurant does not have many outside visitors.
We just missed the Italian pride to please and show you the best things they have to offer.

There are some good things too: rooms are good, excellent swimming pool and a good starting point for exploring the north western past of Sicily. With another approach it could be 4 stars. Nowedays it is not. We think it is not hard to acchive a higher level. It has a lot of potential.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank tjerk1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews