We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
68
34
18
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
34
18
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen lovely courtyard a great place to stay risotto chef dinner wine hospitality sunday agriturismo pool courses video car dishes
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Even though we have become accustomed otherwise this is how an agriturismo should look and feel. The facilities are comfortable but rough, just as staying in a working farm should feel like. We stayed at a big room (#14) with two floors and space for four. The feeling was as if we're staying at a renovated barn (I think that is what it was). The bathroom was huge and well appointed. We had some flooding problems due to poor drainage in the shower. The unit has just one A/C unit that was clearly not enough to significantly cool down such a huge space in summer. Francesco is a nice and clever young man in charge of the reception. At our request he somehow managed to obtain a fan on a Sunday and we were very grateful for it. Other requests made to him were diligently answered as well. Parking is large. The pool area too. We only had breakfast at the property; the quality, presentation and variety were on the low end of our expectations which, I must say, have become quite high from fancier but less genuine agriturismos. Location is a good base to visit the west and north-west. However, this awkwardly shaped town is difficult to reach from the main highway (A29) connecting Palermo with Trapani. It is much easier to reach if you are using the state road (SS187). The charming medieval town of Erice, the gorgeous beaches at San Vito lo Capo, the magnificent ruins at Segesta and the cities in the west coast of Sicily are all relatively close.

Room Tip: Property is very peaceful. Room 14 is huge.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelandfood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed 3 nights with a family of 2 kids and thoroughly enjoyed it. The manager is named Francesco. He was incredibly helpful and spoke pretty good English (better than our Italian!). Our room had a loft with 2 single beds for the kids and the room was fairly large compared to other places we have stayed.

The place was originally built in the 1600s and is currently owned by the great grandson of the first owner. He took us on a "tour" of the little museum they have to show us some of the history of the place. What a nice touch and the kids enjoyed it.

The highlight for us was the Cooking Class by Chef Anna. She is a sweet Italian lady so most of the class was in Italian but didn't find it to be a problem. The kids also participated in the cooking class. We made 4 different dishes and ate it for dinner that night. We made homemade pasta and native Sicilian dishes such as Tonne (tuna) encrusted with pepper and pistachio. What a memorable part of our vacation!

The pool is very large and offered a great time to relax. The only negative was the WIFI. It was not reachable from our room, but you could get it at the pool or main house location.

Be sure to go visit the little town of Erice a walled city with a big castle during your stay!

I highly recommend this!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We found the hotel and the staff second to none in our 30 days in Sicily. Staff willing to alter dinner time to suit. The kitchen is very good. Just tell them what you like. Our room was spacious, had frig, good shower, wardrobe, ground level garden exit with seating, pool. All very well kept. The bed was good king size. they added to the bed because it had stated my height. Wasn't necessary , but sweet. Location not difficult to travel from. Agricultural surroundings, small towns. Beach 30 minutes, other points of Sicilian interest within 30-45 minutes. Low key, quiet, nice. We enjoyed the large, comfortable and quiet lounge for our wifi work. really nice.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room with garden exit. Wifi in a very nice lounge.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ainslie earl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Nicely renovated "baglio" which is a fortress-like medieval farmhouse. We resided in the stallo, supposingly one of their most beautiful appartments. It was very charming. The housekeeper Francesco was very welcoming and accomodating. Breakfast was abundant. they served homemade jam, fresh bread and cornetti from the pasticceria. We got attracted to the place by their professional homepage with beautiful pictures. Those pictures do not pretend, however to sum up our negative impressions: We arrived at the place still hibernating. They just opened for Easter and nobody thought about telling us that the cook would not yet be available, the pool uncleaned and the turkish bath shut down. Given the assumed high standard of this particular Agriturismo you would expect to be informed about such conditions. They were very quick to accomodate our wishes, opened the restaurant and the baths on request and the garden was ship-shaped in no time (although cutting down dead trees at 8 am is also not very guest friendly). So, I hope they read this and learn to clean up the place before opening season. For guests planning to stay there in low season we recommend to ask about services available. Nevertheless, we can highly recommend the place and would go there again.

Room Tip: ask for the "stallo"
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pinot924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

I recently spent an evening here with a group of well travelled individuals on a cultural tour of Sicily. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners and given a really interesting talk and video show on the history of tuna fishing in Western Sicily. The Baglio is beautiful and really reflects Sicily's history in this part of the island. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the main restaurant with fresh local produce and wines - good value for money. The whole experience was unique and enhanced by being in an arabic 'Baglio' exuding charm and history.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Hopper878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews