We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for the North Cornwall Book Festival”
Review of The Cornish Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cornish Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pendoggett
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Such a friendly pub. We were shattered after our day at the book festival. The pub was only 1-2 miles down the road. We had a great room with generous amounts of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits on offer. There were toiletries fir each of us with toothbrushes and nail kits There were waffle cotton robes in the wardrobe and slippers too - such lovely touches. Dinner was delicious with a good range of dishes on offer. Breakfast was spot on with proper butcher's sausages. It's good value for money here and a great place from which to explore the north coast. Thank you to our thoughtful hosts. Those extra touches make all the difference and we're much appreciated.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mydogscalledspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a stopover on our coastal path walk and were impressed with the service and feel of the place. The owners were friendly and the facilities very good.
The building itself is old and has great charm but it is apparent that here is a lot of outlay required for the new owners to maintain it. But our room was lovely and the shower was excellent.
The only criticism we have, and I hope that this is taken without offence, is that the blue sweat shirts that are worn as a uniform don't really suit the place. We thought that it gave a holiday camp feel.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul_M551696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We visited here the other night after seeing a couple of recommendations at our holiday home. After ordering our drinks at the bar we were seated in the coffee room along with another couple. It was pleasant enough and we were given menus to look at. The landlord came through and took our order. We didn't have long to wait for our starters to arrive. When the main course came we waited about 5 minutes for some cutlery as the waitress disappeared to find some French mustard that my partner had requested. I enjoyed my meal, my partner's could have been warmer. We were under the impression that they had a staff issue, which from where we sat, was v obvious as our host was quite short with the chef and waitress. However maybe if there had been more help the evening probably would have run smoother.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank christine282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Just returned from a very enjoyable four night stay at The Cornish Arms with Geoff and Karen. Nothing was too much trouble for them and it felt like we were part of their Family with interesting conversation and attention to every detail. The room we had was very comfortable and clean with every amenity needed.The added benefit of free, fast Wi Fi in our room was very much appreciated as some Hotels still insist on charging for it.
We ate here every night and found the food tasty, well cooked and good value for money. The food menu is available on the Pub Website so you can browse it before visiting. We chose this Pub to stay at as we wanted to visit the area around Port Isaac. It turned out to be in just the right spot for going to Padstow, Wadebridge, Rock, Tintagel and Boscastle as well. All in all we felt our stay here was well priced, good value for money and very relaxing. We shall certainly be staying with Geoff and Karen again !!

Room Tip: We chose Room 6 as it was the only one with a bath, not just a shower enclosure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Found this fab little pub on our way from Port Isaac to Polzeath in search of a Sunday carvery, unfortunately they weren't doing them but we ate there anyway, the Steak & Ale pie was great, one of the best I've had. Staff were great and there was a very welcoming atmosphere.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pendoggett
2.6 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
558 reviews
3.6 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
3.2 km away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#2 of 4 in Port Isaac
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,371 reviews
9.8 km away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
363 reviews
8.5 km away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornish Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornish Arms

Address: Pendoggett PL30 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Pendoggett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pendoggett
Price Range: ₹ 7,308 - ₹ 9,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornish Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners, Geoff and Karen, offer you a warm welcome at The Cornish Arms in Pendoggett. Being situated 3 miles from the popular fishing village of Port Isaac makes The Cornish Arms an ideal base to make your stay in Cornwall a memorable one. We offer a variety of rooms including family, triple and double that will guarantee a great night's sleep. Lunch and dinner menus are available and in the morning we offer a traditional Cornish breakfast. Our bar offers a wide range of Cornish beers, lagers and ciders plus an extensive range of gins. Our gins collection includes gins from Cornish distillery's and from across the world. Explore all that this beautiful area of Cornwall has to offer including stunning scenery and coastal walks as well as all the local attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cornish Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornish Arms Hotel Port Isaac
Cornish Arms Port Isaac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing