We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect luxury retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Chinnor,Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect luxury retreat!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our fifth stay at this beautiful hotel .
Once again it lived up to our expectations.
The warm snd friendly welcome along with the beautiful surroundings and incredible food make this Scottish hideaway an absolute treat.
It is wonderfully situated for the Cairngorms and all of the he variety of activities that they offer and also some beautiful walks around Lochs and woodlands . Aviemore , Inverness, Elgin, Aberdeen and Fort William at all within easy distance by car along with all of the gorgeous scenery and locations that were used in the TV series Monarch of the Glen .
When you have had your fill of the marvellous countryside you can return to Tigh na Sgiath content in the knowledge you will have a warm welcome from host Iain happy to hear about your day and take your order for the wonderfully cooked and presented meal that Elaine wikl provide that evening,before retreating to your warm and cosy room to relax and watch TV or listen to music and prepare for the lovely evening ahead with good food,drink and normally company in the elegant dining room .
We stayed in our second favourite room ( Tulcan) this time as we booked late and our favourite room was taken for part of our 10 day stay but it is sttil a most comfortable luxurious room ,
All I can say is that it is an absolute gem in gleaming crown that is the Scottish Highlands .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stratfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
266
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just returned from our third stay at Tigh na Sgiath, which we enjoyed immensely. The welcome is so warm, the food is first-class, and everything spotlessly clean. Iain and Elaine must work tremendously hard to consistently maintain such high standards, and they are to be congratulated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltwo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at TNS for 3 nights in the Ballindalloch suite (which is the best room as per previous reviews). We did peer into a couple of other rooms though and the standard was still very good indeed. The hotel is spotlessly clean, Ian is a marvellous host who goes out of his way to provide local knowledge. The location is great for Loch Garten etc. Our room was very comfortable, the bathroom good and the views great of the surroundings woods. As per one previous review the extra heater in the room was needed as the temerature dropped to -5 one night and this kept you nice and toasty. My only comment is around the food - the only option if you eat in is the 4 course formal meal in the dining room. Nothing wrong with the food itself - in fact it is beautifully prepared - but there is not much else locally so if you want to eat in (we had a 5 o'clock start to see the capers for instance) but don't want the formality there isnt another immediate option. A lighter alternative would be a great addition here. The breakfasts are good, especially the kipper!! Overall, well recommended.

Room Tip: if you can get the ballindalloch suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulatricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

With the arrival, you simply feel welcome. Instead of standing on a counter and waiting to get your room, you first get placed in a nicely decorated hall and are offered a drink. Instantly we felt comfy. The hotel spreads an atmosphere of, how shall I put it, great old english style.
At least that was how I see it from my german point of view. Our room had a great view and the squirrels were really busy. After a very restfull night the breakfast service was overwhelming.
We felt indeed like lords in our home with our on butler. Everything tasted excellent, but it was this kind of personal service that made the difference. Only thing that we missed, the mobile phone was dead and there was no wireless service. But perhaps that's just what people seek at this remote hiding.
I have at least 30 to 40 hotel-nights a year, put never experienced anything similar. Staying there was definitly the highlight of our journey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have stayed here perhaps 4 times and can't believe I haven't written a review before now. Iain and Elaine at Tigh na Sgiath have done something wonderfully special. They have created a delightful and peaceful haven to which throughout the months at home we promise ourselves a return visit. Everything has really been said on previous reviews so come and enjoy the food, rooms, roaring fire and great ambiance.

We have visited some fantastic places and hotels around the world - I chose New York for my last special birthday but if I say this is where my husband wanted to spend his.........

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryder765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.3 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
508 reviews
8.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
4.4 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
727 reviews
7.7 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
9.0 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,815 - ₹ 11,414
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing