We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful gîte, ideally located”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Haut Champ

Le Haut Champ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Haut Champ
View from the Front Garden Gite Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Le Haut Champ
View from the Front Garden
Gite Entrance
Lounge with Traditional Features
A Touch of French Glamour
Dining Area
Kitchen
Traditional Meets Modern
Traditional French Fabric
A reminder of our resident Barn Owl
Les Arbres Bedroom
Traditional Features in Les Arbres Bedroom
Les Arbres Shower Room
Les Arbres Shower Room
La Selune Bedroom
La Selune Shower Room
La Selune Shower Room
Showers
View from the Bedrooms
Relax & Enjoy the Gite Terrace
View towards the Village
Our very own French Hen!
View across the Lane
Apple Blossom on Our Apple Trees
Apple Harvest at Le Haut Champ
Local Wildlife
Our Neighbours....
Our Local Town St Hilaire du Harcouët
Le Haut Champ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gayle A
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful gîte, ideally located”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was really pleased when I arrived at Le Haut Champ. The gîte has been beautifully renovated, combining tradition and modernity. The kitchen is well-stocked and we able to prepare and cook meals comfortably. The lounge area has two comfy sofas and there is a dining table for 4. The weather was quite damp during our visit and we needed the fire everyday to warm up after a day exploring. Be aware that after the 1st basket logs have to purchased (we found Carrefour in Parigny the best value) so budget for this. The bedrooms are accessed by separate staircases (making this gîte unsuitable for those with young children) however our 10 year old loved having her own space. Both bedrooms have a good bed and the wardrobe space is plenty big enough for clothes and suitcases. Both bedrooms also have an en-suite with an excellent power shower.
The hosts are welcoming - the fire was lit and there was home made cake on arrival - but not at all intrusive. They are also knowledgeable about the area.
The gîte is ideally located in a quiet, peaceful countryside spot but easy to find and only 10 minutes from the market town of St Hillaire du Harcouet. We found destinations such as Mont St Michel and St Malo were within easy driving distance.
Having stopped at many gîtes over the past few years, this really is one of the best. Clean, well-equipped in a good location and at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bliss”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We returned for a second visit to Le Haut Champ to celebrate our wedding anniversary and in
every respect it was as good as our first. As before the gite was immaculate, well equipped and very comfortable. Ann and Simon made us very welcome. The countryside in autumn was beautiful and we will remember the utter peace, the wonderful night sky and hearing the owl nightly for a long time. Returning after great days out to light the log burner and the candles and open the wine was sheer bliss! Do try it for yourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoyment of such a comfortable property
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie C
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely piece of countryside tranquility”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fantastic stay. From visiting the excellent local market to sampling the local butcher's prize winning sausages we enjoyed the best of French country culinary delights. The gite was perfectly kitted out for cooking and superbly clean and well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. We cycled around the local area most days and found the French drivers were a breath of fresh air with their courtesy to cyclists. We also tried out the local watersports on the lake about 10km away from the gite, visited Mont St Michel and the Normandie beaches - so a perfect spot for lots of tourist attractions but also so quiet and relaxed that you could just put your feet up and chill out in the garden or on the sofa if you wanted to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Simon and Anne are very hospitable and made us very welcome, we have returned home refreshed and revitalised. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Too much to choose!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
833audrey
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The gite was fantastic. Very clean and well equipped and finished to a very high standard.It is quiet and peaceful but lots of places to visit. We especially enjoyed Dinan and the firework display in St Hilaire was spectacular. Anne and Simon were excellent hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet peaceful location and the excellent finish of the gite.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMcTopHa...
1 review
“Lovely gite in excellent location”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spent a fantastic week here. Well equipped accommodation in a great location for visiting Normandy and Brittany. The Normandy beaches is a must see as is Le Mont St Michel. Lots of picturesque towns and villages within easy drive. Simon and Ann are great hosts and very helpful.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 86
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing