We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
ashagl
Surat
excellent location on sunrise beach, lipe
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2013
If i visit koh lipe again, i would stay here again. Its pretty basic shack, but right on sunrise beach.....can't ask for more for 400 bhats per night. Toilet was clean, the light in the room was dingy, but no complains.
Date of stay: November 2012Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₹30,532
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
₹14,411
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,411
0.5 km from Varin Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
₹2,260
₹1,929
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
₹15,455
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
₹10,879
₹9,674
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
₹10,257
₹7,479
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
₹8,759
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹19,478
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹5,259
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹43,656
  • Expedia.com
    ₹48,891
0.9 km from Varin Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Ko Lipe
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
19
48
59
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
48
59
28
29
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

really rally bad staff greating so bad no friendly i stay at varin beach on 25 to 27 price is ok location is better but out off staff the door is so bad houseskeeping talking with guest very very bad bad bad bad bad and very very rudly

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harobbyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This really is a sticking option to stay at. Expect no service whatsoever. They have a concrete set up on the main beach with staff that really are quite useless- especially those on reception, and at their beach bungalows on the other side, the toothless miserable old manager who collects the money just walks around clicking his fingers making 'money' signs at you demanding payment with no courtesy or manners. It is clear that these guys are just in it for the money - a shame when such a wonderful spot. A lovely island, but a hell of a lot better places to stay. Avoid!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Value for money-with breakfast
Location near to Lipe walking street.
Staff was helpful
just in front the beach pattaya, sunrise 10minutes, sunset beach 20minutes.

not all the room beach front, need to speak slowly with their staff due to language barrier

but overall no problem..

Room tip: near to the beach
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Syahrizal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Location is good. We stayed 6 night in aircon bungalow, which is ok, even though we checked in with a dead cockroach in the shower.

We first booked a fan room, which is way to expensive for the standard, which is very poor!!

The staff in the reception is very rude, and don't know anything about service!! They hardly understands or speak english, or else they don't want to...

Breakfast is very poor... Stay there for the location, and thats it..

Room tip: Avoid fan room, to expensive.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jakob_DK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've never given a hotel or hostel a bad review before, but this place really deserves one. We arrived in Koh Lipe just before New Year's Eve and took a room here out of desperation, as everything else was either booked out or very overpriced. They charged us 900 baht per night for a fan only room, which turned out to be the worst we'd ever stayed in. The room was ugly and tiny (the bed took up almost all of it), there was no way to flush the toilet (no handle or button, we had to use a bucket filled with water to flush it) and the walls were nothing more than light partitions between the other rooms. The shower was cold with smelly water and the sink was close to falling off the wall. I could hear people farting in the next room and could even hear someone turning pages in a book! The closest description of the room is that it was like staying in a small and very ugly caravan. We're not fussy people, but there's a limit to how bad a cheap room should be. The air conditioned bungalows were also small, but looked much nicer and were detached. They were charging 2,500 baht a night and nice as they looked, they were not worth that price. They also charged for facilities that would normally be free, such as wifi (300 baht per day) and clean water. You had to make a special request before 10 am if you wanted your room cleaned and they refused to give us fresh towels, even though we were there for 4 days.

We knew we'd only be sleeping in the room so we put up with how nasty it was, particularly as everything else was at least 3 times the price, but our worst experiences by far were with the staff. The reception staff in particular were incredibly rude. When I asked them for our breakfast vouchers on the first morning, they stood there giving me dirty looks for a few minutes, before grudgingly handing them over. They refused to help us in any way throughout our stay and even went so far as to accuse us of not paying for our room when we were leaving! They refused to return my boyfriend's passport on this basis and were really horrible in the way that they spoke to him. Once they found their copy of the receipt and realised their mistake, no apology was made. We were also abused by 2 staff members for going for breakfast at 9.50 one morning, because breakfast stopped at 10, even though they had served until 11 the previous morning. We'd understand if they had to make something especially for us at that time, but it's a buffet! We were able to take our breakfast because it was still within the time frame, but they seemed to just want to give us hassle for the sake of it. We were respectful and polite towards them at all times, so there was no need for their behaviour. The only good experience we had with staff was on the morning we left - it was raining and one man came to our room with an umbrella and sheltered us as far as the reception area, so we could bring our bags out without getting soaked. He was very sweet and polite - it's just a shame about everyone else working there.

Overall, it was in a good location, but the room and service were not worth the money. I would never go back there again, even if they offered us a free stay! Unless you get a very good deal on an air conditioned, detached room and avoid the staff entirely while you're there, I'd recommend going somewhere else.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ladymerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews