We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but great beach bungalow - however, the noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tribes Garden Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 30 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expensive, but great beach bungalow - however, the noise!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed for 7 night in February 2012 en really enjoyed our stay at Blue Tribes. Let's start out with the pro's:

- Ko Lipe and it's surrounding island are extremely beautifull!
- the owner (Luca) and staff are very friendly and their attitude is very relaxed
- the pizza's are expensive but the best we had in Thailand.
- we had the beach-front bungalow - not exactly on the beach but 10 mtrs away. The bungalow was good for Thai standards. Clean, a nice porch, fine bed. Just basic wood/concrete. All you need on an island.

However, there were some downsides
- the price, which is very high for Thai standards. We paid 2300 THB/night (discount for staying 7 nights) and the bungalow was just basic. However, all the other hotels in Ko Lipe were just as expensive I found out.
- the most important one: THE NOISE. We were in high-high season (the whole island was full) and all the beach on Pattaya did a contest which music was the loudest. Weekdays to 1.00, but on friday and saturday to 3.00. We are young, and don't mind a party once in a while, but this was just too much. The bungalows are wooden and since they're right on the beach next to the bars you can hear every word and beat in a song. We couldn't sleep without earplugs and just relaxed reading a book on the porch was not possible. Very frustrating because we expected paradise (just came from Ko Phi Phi) but in this way the bars are raping this beautifull island. I'm afraid that in a few years Ko Lipe will be just as Ko Phi Phi town.
- the same for the boats. Pattaya beach is extremely beautfull. However, you can only swim on 30% and the other 70% is taken by longtail and speedboats. So there goes the nice view :(

--> my advise: go to sunrise beach. The beach is less beautifull, but you have less boats and almost no bars. Or, go in low season. With some discount on the rooms and the bars closed you will have a great island and a great bungalow


Note 1: bring your own musquito-net. We had one, but me & my girlfriend still managed get stung lots of times. Also my girlfriend picked up Dengue-fever here.
Note 2: you have to ask for cleaning, it's not automatic. We found this out after four nights ;)

Room Tip: Take one in the back. I guess you'll hear less of the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    41
    23
    22
    25
See reviews for
29
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Bluetribes, the bungalows are nice and well isolated, not overpriced, the owner Luca is very friendly, would recommend

Room Tip: Bungalow 7 was great, not quite on the beach but very quiet, we had very good nights there and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satun, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Set in an ideal location next to the Bundhaya Resort on Pattaya Beach in Ko Lipe, very easy to find once you step off of the speedboat. That's pretty much the only good thing about Bluetribes, is its' location. It has some bungalows right at the top of the beach, most are a very short walk from the beach, under 30 metres I'd say. The standard rooms are very basic, two beds (one double, one single) a fan, a bedside table and a shelf. No desk, AC, TV, Internet, closet, and the single light was the dimmest I've ever seen which was kind of annoying at times. The floors are old wood so bringing pets shouldn't be an issue. The bathroom was very drab and water was brown, I didn't bother showering at all during my stay because of this. No hot water. Each bungalow has a porch with a couple of triangle pillows and mats. Hotel staff was somewhat helpful. The island itself is amazing, especially Sunrise Beach. Expect to see double to triple the regular price for most things from shops (e.g. bottled water, toothpaste). Plenty of good restaurants that aren't too rough on the wallet. If you have a TrueMove SIM card, it won't work here (as of November 7th, 2011). Bring a DTAC SIM if it's imperative for you to have mobile access. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place unless you get an irresistable offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sens4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lipe hotels

Daegu, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Located on Pattaya beach, this resort offers more than just a view. Clean rooms, great hospitality, and an amazing atmosphere is what this place is all about. This was my first time to stay on this island and I must say that this resort exceeded all of my expectations. The bungalows are clean and spacious with a great terrace on the front that can be used for many occasions. This resort is also located near some great bars and restaurants, and next to walking street. The owner of the resort is a kind, down to earth man too. I can't wait to return to the island and this resort. Thanks to the whole staff for making my stay enjoyable. Can't wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, Daegu, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Amazing location! Right on Pattaya beach. I could see the ocean from my bungalow easily. Very clean rooms and excellent bathroom. I have stayed at a few other places on the island and this one is by far the best package. What impressed me the most was the staff. The boss Luka is one of a kind. He went far out of his way to make our stay was as enjoyable as possible. The Italian cooking was amazing. All of the staff where also top notch. The price is not the cheapest in the high season, but compared to any other resort with the views and amenities it is a very good bargain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.6 km away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.6 km away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
291 reviews
0.6 km away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 57 in Ko Lipe
407 reviews
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Beach Resort Koh Lipe
1.0 km away
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tribes Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tribes Garden Beach Resort

Property: Blue Tribes Garden Beach Resort
Address: 45 Moo 7 | Koh Sarai, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,135 - ₹ 3,623
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Tribes Garden Beach Resort is set in a tropical garden, in prime position, directly on the white powdery sands of Pattaya beach, in the south part of Lipe island, with crystal blue safe waters, soft breezes and spectacular sunsets.Family atmosphere… Blue Tribes is a small, friendly and informal resort where you don’t need shoes or sandals.At Your service: 22 all ensuite wooden bungalows in 5 different categories, coffee-bar reception, Italian & Thai family restaurant where everything is expressly homemade, wooden terrace with an amazing view & beach cocktails bar. Daily longtail boats trip in the National Park’s archipelago with Sea Gipsies captain from “our family”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Tribes Garden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tribes Garden Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing