We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
kitchen
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Patio with table and chairs for 4
Ensuite bathroom for twin bedroom
Ensuite shower room for master bedroom
Dining for 4
View from the kitchen window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hassocks, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nr1959
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Three of us stayed in this excellently equipped cottage that sits in a beautiful quiet location. The fixtures and fittings are all good quality and includes all the usual features you would expect to find and a lot that you wouldn't! The tasty homemade cake and homemade jams were a very nice touch. The only drawback for some may be the distance to walk to any facility such as shop or oub. You will need a car but that is the only negative (for some) to this beautiful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyScreenN...
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As you would hope, and a little more”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed four nights with my elderly mother early in a very cold January. I hoped it would, for her, be warm. It was. The details provided were accurate, the cottage was comfortable, all on one level, refurbished to a good standard. All that you would expect was provided, incl wifi. But delightful extras were also provided, the home-made ones being particularly appreciated. The area is quiet and attractive. The owners were reassuringly nearby, but unobtrusive. When I plan to head south to stay with mum again, the first places that I shall check for availability are 1 and 2 Moatside Cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very happy with everything.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor18
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this idyllic place. The cottage was exceptional and I can't think of one thing that they have neglected to add to the contents of the cottage. Sparkling clean, lovely friendly people and the extra touches of bread, milk, butter, home made cake and various teas was a welcome sight after a 6 hour drive. I highly recommend the cottages and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being part of the moated house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahL169...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value, superb self catering holiday cottage”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was a really fantastic cottage. 2 en suite bedrooms. Renovated to a high standard. The customer service whilst I was making the booking was great and remained patient and helpful while I changed my mind over dates several times!

The garden is really pretty and a great outdoor space. The surrounding walks were lovely. The kitchen was fully supplied with more than is usual in a holiday cottage. The owners provide milk, tea, coffee, butter, bread, home made jam and honey and a cake on arrival.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review our holiday cottage.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewer8...
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bit confused about all the really positive reviews about this cottage. It was perfectly fine but nothing special. We had a few problems with things not working or being quite right. The garden area is shared so there is no privacy which isn't ideal but it's a nice space. The customer service was really poor and not at the level I would have expected given the other reviews. I wouldn't stay again but the location is good so 50/50 as to whether I would recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
We are sorry that we were away during your stay and one of our regular guests had checked themselves into your cottage by mistake instead of the adjoining cottage they'd actually booked. This was a most unusual situation and certainly would not have happened if we had been around. We do hear what you have to say and regret that your experience was not the norm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing