We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect property for a relaxing holiday messing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Southover

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
brand new hot tub!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TadleyKat...
tadley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a huge let down”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

On getting out of the car we were met with the smell of drains and the sight of an abandoned boat and a rickety worn fence, the person appeared to greet us and informed us that we were early and that the house was not safe, she told us to come back in half an hour which we did, we then had the guided tour and the bitter disappointment started to set in, we could see the house was different from the pictures we had seen and was very worn, after she had left we went down to the shop and brought loads of cleaning equipment and all 6 of us set to work for a couple of hours.
the kitchen wasn't clean
We had to de cobweb the house
The bathroom in the annexe was mouldy ( the towels got covered in it when put on the rail ) and the floor was rotten and stank ( despite air fresheners and bleaching the walls etc the smell didn't go away )
the fluffy blue blanket in the annex was badly covered with stains
The ice maker didn't work ( she said the previous guests had broke it )
The cushions were covered in god knows what stains and dog hair
The dining table sags in the middle and later in the week it caused a panic when it started to collapse with our tea on it so we had to bodge it up to last the week
The railings on the veranda were very wobbly despite being told they had been repaired ( they were still very unsafe)
the hot tub appeared to have a leak and we had to keep it topped up on the advise of the lady that showed us around. ( which we had to do twice daily..which resulted in not very hot water at some points)
There were over the bath showers but no curtains or screen which made things very difficult.
The boat that we thought we were going to go out on a picnic on was filthy, and later in the week after we had been using it, the broads authority man came to do an inspection as it had previously failed it's safety test, so we were using it without the safety certificate which we have since been told was illegal.
the house itself is in a prime location and we could not have wished for better views of the river, we paid a lot of money for the week and expected more than we got and in hindsight it was only worth less than half of what we paid, it's such a shame because the house has so much potential but has been neglected.
we feel that even though the house is old and tired if it was clean it wouldn't have been so bad but the cleaning team have unfortunately let the owner and the guests down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The dirt
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Point by point. The trailer is for boat recovery if it breaks down. The work boat on it is for essential maintenance on a riverside property the picket fence is to seperate children and dogs from cars.there are laminated instructions for control of temp re hot tub. It needs topping up after use.there is a draw full of ice behind de spencer lever awaiting spares. A new floor had been laid in bathroom damaged by a leak it has now been decorated. The boat was upgraded whilst they were there as normal after an inspection.the 8ft sq table had been repositioned without testing the central legs.a remark to my cleaner about an area full of film stars and millionaires suggests a touch of the green eyed God! One phone call would have resolved there complaints.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Large family house, lovely location next to the main waterway. Condition of the venue is very tired with immediate renovation required to bring it back up to date to it's surroundings. Not even hand wash to use let alone toilet roll! Balcony outside over the water unsafe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition of the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
The handrail was damaged by a previous guest and repaired today, it could have been repaired sooner if required I'm available at anytime to help my guests. We do not supply consumer goods other than a welcome pack and tea coffee and biscuits on arrival. I'm sorry this guest did not call me . I'm also disappointed that they left the property in such a mess!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect property for a relaxing holiday messing about by the river”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned after spending a week here at the beginning of March. We were lucky with the weather and had lots of days were we could use the boat and travel along the river. The village of Wroxham is a good walk away but only 5 minutes by boat. We took 2 dogs and they were very safe in the enclosed garden area to the back of the property, and along the raised decking at the front. The kitchen is very well equipped, we had several meals at the property but also went for a couple of meals out at nearby restaurants. Only about 30 minutes drive to Cromer if you wanted to go to the sea. Fantastic wild life on your doorstep, we even saw an otter. Already booked to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: waterfront location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend away!”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from an amazing weekend at this gorgeous cottage! Cannot fault it at all. The cottage is beautiful, the location is amazing and had everything we possibly needed. The hot tub was so much fun, as was the boat... and even when the shower head broke the owner was there the same day to fix it as soon as we phoned.
The cottage is warm and cosy, the shared spaces are huge and really versatile, the bedrooms are all comfortable and very warm and the showers are lovely. Completely recommend this to anyone, we were a hen party of 10 and it suited us down to the ground! Really ideal location as went out in Norwich Saturday night and the taxi was only £20 between us all each way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness & peacefulness
Liked least: The front door was a bit difficult to operate when we double locked it - but we managed to get in through a window and the owner did say double locking wasn't necessary! So our fault really!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Southover to celebrate a significant birthday with family and friends and had a fabulous time. The cottage is situated right on the river and we all enjoyed seeing the heron and otter. The boat was great, we used it for shopping trips and to pick up a heated hire boat from Fineway boats (who were brilliant) for a longer trip out. The cottage layout worked so well for us, plenty of space and huge fridge and range cooker were great. We set up a jigsaw puzzle and mini bar on the breakfast bar and the chef was never without someone to chat to! There are lots of plates, cutlery, glasses and kitchen equipment and the massive dining table had room for all ten adults to relax around for late lazy breakfasts and chilled suppers. There was something for everyone to enjoy including the hot tub, pool table and games. Everything was clean and tidy and well looked after and all very comfortable. We all loved it and would not hesitate to recommend a stay here. It's brilliant

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing