We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of The Old Malt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Malt House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timsbury
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Great find. Jen and Andrew were the perfect hosts. There innovative dinner program was excellent giving guests more time to mingle and swap travel tales. The menu in the restaurant was extensive and good eating.
The rooms were very good.
The hosts were fonts of knowledge and good mixers with all the guests.
Would recommend this one!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

7 - 11 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Yes a bit dated rooms and small bit worried it was going to be noisy as close to the road but in the end the beds more comfortable that they looked and had a great nights sleep! the best bit though was the evening meal superb and good value - some local beers and reasonable wine list. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast all you could want half way between a hotel and a B&B nothing much nearby so car a must and probably best for a short stay rather than a long holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Batista012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We only used this as a base for a nearby festival/conference so left early and came back late. Hearty breakfast, clean hotel. Rooms were basic and dated but warm and clean. Shower was weak. It was expensive for what it offered but this is peak season and it provided what we needed so satisfied. The junction out of hotel is in my opinion dangerous with blind corner- needs a mirror to show road.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank comfy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a night here in August for a friends wedding in the nearby village of Priston - less than 10min drive.

We booked a small room, which was indeed small but fine if you don't plan to practice gymnastics. It was pretty clean and warm with simple service, kettle with teas and coffee and a small selection of toiletries in the shower room. Walls are pretty thin but we found it pretty quiet. Bedding was clean but mattress was quite soft and the springs could be felt.

Breakfast was ok. Selection of cereals and yogurts that could be ordered as a 'starter, and then order main breakfast. Small choice as well as juices and tea and coffee. A shame you can't just help yourself to drinks and cereals. Might help the friendly waitress get round everyone a little quicker and make it feel more relaxed.

The biggest issue with the hotel is the location and potential reliance on taxi firms. To get the Priston for the wedding reception was £20 each way. We were in the taxi for about 8 minutes. The taxi meter said £3.40 but apparently this is ignored and a flat fee for the journey there. Now I know this isn't the fault of the hotel, but I was surprised I wasn't warned of this first and that the hotel haven't agreed a deal with the taxi firm. The taxi driver just said that this was the fee his 'boss' told him to charge. When I spoke to the receptionist at the hotel about it, she seemed fully aware of the price and said that firms know people go to Priston for weddings and therefor charge a premium. I would have thought that sorting out a deal would encourage more people to use their facilities.

With a little TLC, this could be a real gem of a hotel, especially for those looking for somewhere close to Priston.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Very good hotel nice clean room and staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Food good and enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere in the hotel was nice and on the first night we had 13 family members requiring a meal .This was not a problem to the staff and we were all well looked after and well fed .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglesde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timsbury
3.1 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
11.2 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,348 reviews
13.9 km away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
10.3 km away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Malt House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Malt House

Address: Timsbury, Bath BA2 0QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Timsbury
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timsbury
Price Range: ₹ 6,893 - ₹ 17,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Malt House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Malt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Malt Hotel
Old Malt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing