We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of The Old Malt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Malt House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timsbury
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed at The Old Malt House for a couple of nights for a family wedding at Priston Mill. The whole place is very quaint and set in a beautiful part of the countryside.

The ladies that ran it were very friendly, helpful and efficient.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and food was piping hot, beautifully cooked and plenty of it. The room was a good size with its own ensuite, very clean and warm, but the bed was a bit rock hard. I did have a shocking back after the first night. My dad was accommodated on the ground floor for easy access, again a good size room with its own ensuite.

Breakfast was varied and hearty, good quality produce used and cooked to perfection.

Overall the whole stay was very enjoyable, and would definitely recommend a stay here if visiting Priston or Bath and surrounding areas.

Positives:
Rooms clean and warm
Food excellent
Proprietor and staff lovely


Negatives:
A little pricey
The window in our room was misted up so couldn't see the wonderful view very well
Dads room was beside Road so quite noisy.
No telephone reception WiFi weak which is not normally a bad thing, but hubbys mum is very sick so we needed to be contactable

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the hotel, the lane that runs along side is small but quite busy, so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soozcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Quaint building in lovely surroundings.

Sadly this hotel did not live up to the positive reviews on tripadvisor during our stay following a wedding at Priston Mill.

The furniture in the room was clean and modern however the bed was uncomfortable. Staff were pleasant but not overly friendly nor helpful. Sadly the heating was off when we arrived with a freezing room. The TV had no reception, the shower was a dribble with small packets of toiletries. Wifi signal would not reach our room. Breakfast was fine but nothing spectacular. Overall quite disappointing for the price.

We would advise looking elsewhere if you are planning on staying here.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tommyh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This was a short break for my husbands birthday, we found the staff very helpful, food and service was great. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Really felt like home from home. Will definitely by returning

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weeksy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Myself and my wife arrived very late at night as I had been out on exercise with the army, however we had already notified the hotel about this well ahead in advance which begged the question why we ended up locked out for well over 10 minutes before someone let us in. The staff at reception weren't particularly friendly and we were both made to feel like a massive inconvenience for them. After returning the next day from our trip to town we found that the room had been tidied however the bed sheets had not been changed despite there being a blood stain on them. The whole trip was tainted by the poor treatment from the hotel staff and to be honest it cost a lot of money to stay here. I would tell anyone to avoid staying here in the future.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Just what we needed. Such a lovely place to stay. Jen was very welcoming and made us feel at home. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Food was nice. We sat in the lounge by the log fire with a drink from the bar before we were shown through to the restaurant. Good choices for breakfast and happy to say they catered for me - gluten free. Everything was clean and tidy. Odd down Park and ride into Bath is £2.75 each which saved all the hassle trying to get into Bath. Another enjoyable place we have found to stay nr Bath. Fully recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sew298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timsbury
3.1 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
13.4 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,218 reviews
11.2 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,337 reviews
10.3 km away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Malt House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Malt House

Address: Timsbury, Bath BA2 0QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Timsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timsbury
Price Range: ₹ 6,767 - ₹ 12,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Malt House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Malt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Malt Hotel
Old Malt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing