We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
98
103
25
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
103
25
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This hotel is a little away from Hagi town, located to the North along Japan Sea coast line. We arrived by train to Higashi Hagi station and rang the hotel to use their pick up service from Higashi Hagi staion (also from Hagi Bus Centre) after 3 PM. They also have a drop off service leaving the hotel at 9 and 10 AM to both destinations.

The views from the room windows are excellent, overlooking the beautiful sea with fishing boats sailing by. It was a pity that we could not enjoy the sunset as it was cloudy when we stayed. The views from the rotenburo (outside hot spring) are also good and you can enjoy 2 different rotenburo in the evening and the following morning (from 6AM onwards) as men/women bath areas rotate by changing blue/red signs. There is also an inside onsen which is very large with impressive natural rock landscapes.

Japanese style breakfast and dinner are served in a large dining room with tables and chairs, rather than in individual rooms as many ryokans do in Japan. They served fugu (baloon fish) in a variety of forms such as sashimi, hotpot, tempura, and mixed with rice, all prepared perfectly, fresh and beautifully presented.

Other dishes are also carefully cooked and I particularly enjoyed chawanmushi (steamed egg custard dish). The only issue for us was that our 12-year old son did not like the majority of dishes, but they gave him plain white rice when we asked which was not included in the menu.

The hotel has a variety of amenities such as massage chair room, children's play area, video room, computer room, book and comic library, table tennis room, karaoke, fishing pond, tea making room, ladies' powder room equipped with facial steamers and manicure sets, etc.

All the staff are very helpful and extremely pleasant without being obtrusive and they provide manicured services with attention to detail to make our stay comfortable such as providing tabi socks with yukata and leaving a jar of drinking water when they laid our futons in the evening.

We highly recommend this hotel despite their somewhat confusing name...
I simply call them 'Hagi Komachi' hotel without the prefix of 'yuukeino yado umi no yurikago' which means 'hotel with evening view, cradle of the sea'.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alfred c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is a wonderful place. It is a little ways out of town but the hotel has an excellent shuttle service. There is very little english spoken by the staff but if you make a plan ("I'll say 'shuttle' on the phone - you pick me up at the bus centre") you can work it out. Although they would pick you up at the hagihigashi station on arrival, I'd advise taking a taxi (less than 2000 yen) unless you can make yourself understood in Japanese on a phone. Take your booking as trying to pronounce the name of the hotel to a cab driver can be a bit of a challenge!

This was not a 'true' ryokan in the sense that the meals were served in a dining room at western tables, not in your room. I prefer this arrangement. The food was excellent although I found there was a bit too much to eat. Be brave - try the Fugu - it was delicious.

We had a room on the main floor with the sea practically coming into the room. You wake up to the sound of fishing boats in the morning. Rooms were large and well laid out with a seating area at the window with a view to die for. There is a small fridge for cold beverages and a hot water kettle for tea. The futons were a bit thin (I think the more you pay for a room in Japan the thinner the futon); but there were spare futons in the storage cupboard so we doubled up and that was fine.

There are four onsens in the hotel. Men and women's onsens revolve so note the colour of the flag outside the door. Two were outdoors and two in. All were excellent. The indoor ones had caves leading to the sea so you could hear the waves splashing. The washing stations are clean and comfortable. The immediate neighbourhood is a picturesque fishing village.

Hag is famed for its pottery and there is a good selection available for sale in the hotel. The prices were comparable to what we found in town. Hagi itself is a scenic, easily navigable town. I especially enjoyed the castle ruins and the hike to the ancient watch tower. We also enjoyed the terrific beach (abandoned by the Japanese of course since it was October) and swam in the crystal waters.

If you think of Japan as all concrete, big cities and intense action and you want a chance to see rural Japan I strongly recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews