We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
78
94
21
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
94
21
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews products baths sauna dinner variety bus
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2015

The greeting from a cadre of smiling individuals was accurate foreshadowing for the days to follow. Every detail that could contribute to our comfort and enjoyment was managed with great care. This is a well appointed Japanese style ryokan/hotel. Spacious rooms, delicious food (breakfast and lunch are buffet style with a wide selection. Dinners are more than ample ). The hotel is on a mountain and enjoys a commanding view. The communal baths are wonderfully appointed and include outside pools. Private baths can be scheduled as well. A spot to indulge oneself and savor.

Room tip: wifi available only in the lobby.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

It was a good experience staying at this hotel and had all the amenities you would expect at a quality ryokan. What made it memorable was the personal attention given to us by the manager, Mr. Ito. At dinner he came over to us and spent time explaining our traditional Japanese meal, answering all questions. After dinner he helped us with our upcoming travel plans. We saw him again at breakfast and he made sure we had a shuttle to the train station. The hotel was great, the food was great, but Mr. Ito's attention made the experience memorable.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is a gem. The service is really great. You have a fantastic view on the city and the landscape from the restaurant room.
The restaurant (breakfast and/or dinner) is worth a gastronomic one.
The best place we stayed during your trip.

Room tip: Take the option with diner, totally worth it.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GHenry94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My two nights in this hotel were very enjoyable. From the outside the hotel looks quite modern, but the rooms are decorated in traditional Japanese style. My room looked out to the bay and the view was spectacular in the morning, as the sun was coming up.

Dinner was served at the restaurant where helpful and friendly staff made sure I was looked after at every point during the meal. Since at the time I was the only Westerner, I felt they made an extra effort to explain the various (and wonderful!) dishes I was being presented with. Breakfast was a buffet of Japanese and Western food: huge selection.

Although the food was very good and the room nice, the real USP of this hotel is the hot spring onsens. They are absolutely fabulous. They have two baths, one for women and one for men which, as in all other ryokans I've stayed, alternate. Each has one bath indoors and six or seven pools outdoors, which include hot and cold pools, pools surrounded by the garden, pools with resting chairs, pools with water jets, and even saunas... Unbelievably relaxing.

Don't miss out on this experience if you are in the area!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsolaBella88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Very large room.

Towel, yukata, haori.
Toothbrush, comb, razor.
There is a service of tea and sweets.

Several bath. There is a sauna.
There is a towel that can be used free of charge.
There is a service of the water.

Within walking distance to the famous historic sites.
There is a shuttle bus to the city.
You can buy specialty products.

Employees are very polite.
It is a clean hotel.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews