We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Oysters in July

Oysters and shellfish picked locally that has grown in the water running off Mount Chokai into the... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2016
YoroNikki
,
Yamagata Prefecture, Japan
Local seafood available for lunch

This is not Tsukiji, but the fish is fresh and you can eat a simple meal here for 1,000 yen or so... read more

Reviewed 13 March 2016
James V
,
T
Read all 79 reviews
  
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
12
30
31
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
30
31
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This place is one of Japan's hidden highlights. A seafood food hall overlooking the harbour with fabulous and cheap food. It's name is Tobishima.

No need to speak Japanese as the dishes are all displayed. My order was a set that included 12 pieces of sashimi, rice, pickles, miso soup and green tea and the cost was 720 yen. The food is caught that day and was delicious. Amywhere such a meal would be 2,000 yen or higher. You can sit at tables, benches or at low tables on tatami. If the weather's fine there is an outdoor area overlooking the harbour.

I've eaten all over Japan and my impression of this was, "How good is this?".

Sakata is off the tourist trail and on the face of it is an anonymous town with nothing special to recommend it. But the atmosphere here and in the rest of the town was incredible. The tourist office at the station rang the sake museum and convinced them to open up, even though that day was there day off, just so my wife and I could visit. The taxi drivers friendly and helpful (my wife and I speak Japanese) and because it's off the tourist trail foreigners in town seem to get the royal treatment.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank P_kun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews