We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
32
65
45
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
65
45
12
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2016

This was my first experience at an Onsen. I travelled my train from aimed a station, changing at Ishibashi for Mino, which is the end of the line.local people directed me to walk up the shor hill to the elevator that goes to the hotel, where the spa is located. I was the only Westerner on the train and at the Onsen.
None of the staff spoke English, but we're very friendly and helpful. However I o my disappointment I did not find the outdoor garden spa.
I was able to cop the other women to l arn what to do. There was a stool to sit at to wash yourself before entering the baths. In front of me was an array of bottl s containing lotions. It took some time to discover whatnthey all were. The women spend a ve y long tim washing and the I sing prior to ente img the pools. Everything was spotless and I found the experience to b very relaxing.
I could not work out what I o do at the end. I think I did it he correct thing by si is ing down and r petting the asking and rinsing routine. The change rooms are equipped with hairdryers and face and body lotions. The cos was au$22 . There was a food hall and small shop.
There was also a theatre where I was able to watch a Japanese dance with men in traditional costumes. An experience I would recommend. I do hope to visit more on sends, perhaps altitude less upmarket, to compare.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rose1916purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

i was spoiling my time to go in the tub,sauna and stroll around especially in spa garden,and the illumination as well..looking forward of coming soonest with some of my collague...thank you for the wonderful accommodation....

Room Tip: Facing the overlooking osaka
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maria Tiburcia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We stayed in this Hot Spring hotel during Cherry Blossom April in 2013, when my parents, and us had great 3 days accommondation: Fantastic out-door hot spring on top of the building, seeing dreamy night view of Osaka, and yummy breakfasts.

BUT when we brought my sister and her husband back to MINOO again at the end of November for maple tree season, the management group is different from year 2013. The hotel after renovation turned too big to manage. 1. They forgot to give us the sashimi coupons when we checked in. 2. The former top hot spring with beautiful view was not there anymore. New location of hot spring is in basement. And the water is not as milky as before. 3. They have no sign at online booking or in hotel rooms that they have issues with people having tattoos. When my sister and I were in the middle of our shower, with bubbles in our hair and gel on our bodies, 3 hotel female employees came in to tell us literally "Get out!" with very rude attitude and body language. We only got to know why we were asked to leave the hot spring when we came out, as they showed us a paper with very little written regulations. I think, as a hot spring hotel, they should tell customers with tattoos in advance. Driving customers out by saying and signing rudely "Get out!" is totally not acceptable. 4. We asked their Assitant manager to complain about our poor-treated experience. Surprisingly, he spoke in very broken english that how big and how international this hotel management group is, didn't say any sorry. 5. My husband speaks fluent japanese, and he evetually came and translated our anger, so the female staff who drove us out and touched my sister's body finally kneeled down to apologize. But this costed lots of our time and energy, also ruined our good mood along the 10 days holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Jane1970-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Minoo Kanko Hotel is a short commute from Osaka, with one train change when you get to Ishibashi taking the Hankyu train. Once you arrive there its a short walk and elevator up to the hotel, which is very hard to miss. During the day there are guides waiting at the Minoo train station who can provide English maps. Checking in was easy and they will give you a wristband which will allow you to access the onsen and other areas. Our room was overlooking the city so we could see Osaka and the whole city in between. An incredible view. The disadvantage of this is that the room is very far, on the other side of the hotel. The slippers aren't that comfortable for westerners with larger feet so I would advise taking your own if you can.

It's Japanese style sleeping with a tatami floor and futon, but very comfortable and everything is well laid out and relatively spacious.

The onsen is great, there's a few different areas some for day use only and some for staying guests. Remember everything here is in Japanese (there's some English) so pay attention or you may walk in the wrong door and find yourself somewhere you're not supposed to be.

We checked out a comedy show and they have dancers and bands as well. Also check out the sauna because it's very relaxing.

A couple of tips:
- When you check in you can become a member which will allow you to get some discount vouchers
- After you check out you can exchange your staying wristband for a day-use wrist band and use the onsen afterwards
- The waterfall is a good walk up the hill before the elevator to the hotel, it's really worthwhile
- The buffet has a VIP section where you can enjoy the view as well. It costs a little more but it's also a good view
- You can use the wristbands to purchase items from the vending machines inside the onsen and this will get charged to your room

Room Tip: The rooms furtherest away have great views
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews