We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Overlooking the Ocean”
other travellers have booked this property
beachfront pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
beachfront pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
beachfront pool
4th (top) floor view
rooftop gym
4th floor (top floor) studio
4th floor (top floor) studio view
rooftop pool
4th floor (top floor) studio
4th floor (top floor) studio
view from 2nd floor condo, 1 comfy queen bed and living area
4th floor (top floor) condo, 2 comfy queen beds
4th floor (top floor) condo, 2 comfy queen beds
4th floor (top floor) condo, 2 comfy queen beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Anthony S
Ft Myers Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Overlooking the Ocean”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are seasoned travelers that are in search of a location were we can spend 3 to 6 months a year. With that said, here is my/our summary/review on this particular destinations.

The Solarium is situated on the water overlooking the beach and light green emerald colored water. The sand is multi-colored and offers an interesting twist to your visit. However, when the sun is shinning bright, the sands gets very hot. You need to carry flip flops and/or water socks with you at all times. The water, as I said is a beautiful green in color and a perfect temperature. Most of the beach is lined with palm trees, villas and unique hotels.

We stayed in the Solarium, which was the hotel part (past tense) of Coronado Bay. Our narrow in shape studio has a full kitchen (a toaster-oven takes the place of a real oven) and larger bathroom. There is a stackable washers & dryers in the unit (a very big benefit). The AC works well (at least in room 407). The beds and pillows are very comfortable. Our studio had a desk with a chair, a larger chair, 2 queen beds, and a dresser and nightstand (as the on-line pictures illustrate).

The property does have 3 pools. One of which is on the roof top of Coronado Bay's 23 story connected tower. There is also a weight room, social area (with great scenic views) and direct access to the beach. There are lots of pool chairs, tables and covered shade for a nap or reading your favorite novel or just take in the views while not getting a sun burned. The facility is kept very clean and seems to be well maintained.

Outside the property has limited places to go within a short walking distances. There is Picasso (limited days of operation-open air bar & grill and is popular with the expats), Gourmet Pizza, Lunarossa (closest to a fine dine restaurant in the immediate area) and a Fonda (very limited menu & hours in a front yard setting). There is a small Mercado that parallels a 7-11. All other amenities such as grocery stores, shopping and restaurants are beyond the gated community.

Unless you rent a car, utilize public transportation or cabs, you pretty can see everything that the immediate area has to offer in a few hours. There are little to no beachside bars, restaurants and/or cantinas. If you are looking for a relaxing and self covenanting stay, then this would be the ideal spot for you. If you are expecting to experience some night life, enjoy a variety of cuisines and/or celebrate a special occasion by going dancing, then this might not be the destination for you.

There are lots of small towns to visit along the Pan American highway. The mountains also have quaint communities that provide rustic charm and true Panamanian culture. El Valle de Anton is a must adventure.

Here is my personal summary. We are looking for more of a "vibrant" environment that offers more shopping, cantinas and restaurants. Not to say we don't love local culture, but looking for more of a balance. With that said, here is my take. Would I recommend Coronado to my family and friends? I guess it would depend on what they are looking for in a vacation/trip. Would I return? I would return because of all the great people we have met here, and I really mean "great" people.

This review is provided by: You, Me and The Dock - Travel site
Love, Laugh & Travel Lots!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people
Liked least: Not enough walkable entertainment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thanks guys for taking the time to detail the amenities of the condo, complex and beach. It's a great service to the readers to know what is offered and delivered, and i thank you very much for that! I'm delighted you were able to meet our diverse and interesting and FUN group of expats and take in some activities with your hikes in the mountains with my amigos. Absolutely delighted! Certianly , the folks with a rental car (that I am always happy to arrange for them.. or a golf cart to get to a dozen more restaurants in 5 mins is a bonus). For those without transport , our local bus (shuttle van) is only 35cents that can take you again.. in less than 5 to all the restaurants and bars on the other side of the gate, as well as grocery store. It's fun to see the area grow and new restaurants and happy hour taverns popping up every couple of months.. so it's great! Hopefully see you back in these parts..Cheers! Panama Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veranda20...
Maryland
1 review
“Ocean Sounds Abound at Panama Sarah's Condo”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Panama Sarah's Condo had everything we were looking for on our first extended trip to Panama. We could hear and see the ocean from our balcony and were only a few steps from the beach for refreshing swims. (Early morning, or low tide swimming, was the most enjoyable for us.) We met many Panamanians, as well as vacationers from the US, Australia, and Canada.

The area is very secure, as there are two tiers of security gates with guards in place 24/7.

The complex has two pools, one of which is about 18 meters long, suitable for short lap swimming.

The neighboring building, which we also had access to, has a rooftop social area, where we met a few people, and a small soaking pool. There is also a fitness center in this building.

The condo has a refrigerator, microwave, and washer/dryer, which enabled us to prepare our breakfasts and leave with clean clothes!

Panama Sarah facilitated setting up many services for us, including a tour of Panama City and transportation to/from the condo from Panama City, which gave us peace of mind.

We plan on returning next year and look forward to being a repeat customer!!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, listening to the ocean waves, and gazing at the stars
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thanks folks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at my Solarium studio at Coronado Bay. It was a genuine pleasure to have you stay and I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you both. See you next year! Cheers, Panama Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kal1556
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from balcony!”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location in Coronado was great. The view of the ocean was amazing! The apt was an efficiency and was simple yet adequate. Not fancy. Older complex. Good for the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: there was only one roll of toilet paper, no paper towels, no dishwashing liquid, no soap or shampoo or conditioner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the solarium #407 in July. We went for vacation and with some business attached. The room had everything from comfy beds to appliances and I cannot leave out the view! Jen and Sarah where great from start to finish and made sure that we where having an enjoyable stay. Coronado Bay has everything right inside the property with 3 pools, gym, social area's and the most fantastic beach right down to a great restaurant within 300 yds of the front gate. I know we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: I cannot think of anything to be honest
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter2784
Ashland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very, Very nice vacation condo”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was exceptional. Rooms, beds, bathroom all in new condition well maintained with a beautiful view. Quiet surroundings and beautiful landscaping made our stay very enjoyable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing