We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hospitality Supreme”
other travellers have booked this property
yes, that could be YOUR pool!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
yes, that could be YOUR pool!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
110 reviews
yes, that could be YOUR pool!!
Newly upgraded bathroom in Gaviota
Guests enjoying a BBQ we had for a birthday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
k2cale
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality Supreme”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Though Sarah wasn't really ready to rent the work-in-process upgraded Casa Gaviota in late December, she graciously accepted our reservation and made it work. Yes, there was construction going on and as it was holiday season, the work was slower than ideal. Details aside, what resulted was a wonderful stay and the foundation for our decision to settle in the Coronado area for the long-term. The people we met through staying with Sarah and her inspired love for Panama life were contagious. Do meet her, stay on her property, and see what evolves. You will not regret the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2016
Hola K and K! Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with me, I truly appreciate it. IT's true the casita was not quite finished (as I explained up front when you inquired for a reservation) but I am so glad you insisted to stay anyway as I believe you took away some wonderful memories from your stay, and was indeed a pleasure to host you. The best part is.. you are staying on full time .YAY! So happy to have you as our new neighbours, you are certainly a wonderful and welcome addition to our growing community of happy expats who realize Panama is not perfect, but has its charms, advantages and beautiful local people who are so kind and patient with us. I'm sure we'll see you weekly at the local Happy Hour and please pop in and say hi whenever you are in the neighbourhood. Cheers! Sarah, Scotty and Jim :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LABS1086
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adult hostel at hi rise price”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I preface this review by stating that we have stayed in 3 other casita accommodations in both Costa Rica and Belize in past months and found them to be excellent. Not this one!
We stayed in tortuga for 3 weeks. First impressions are not great when entering parking area especially when there is construction debris everywhere. Cozy casita is a euphemism for very tiny studio motel style room of 195 sq ft. Kitchen is attached but separate tiny 100 sq ft ill equipped and not air conditioned (2 small plates, no steak knives or storage containers, dull knives, no prep area) . The door from kitchen to outside has openings which allowed in construction dust from the room across ( which lasted almost all 3 weeks and woke to saws every a.m.). The bed is small,creaky and uncomfortable with a old egg crate topper. The table and chairs would have to be pulled out against bed in order to dine so we sat on bed to eat. Had to ask for included cleaning as there was no schedule or organization. Some guests arrived with no one to check them in. The pool is nice but there was confusion over pool chemical treatment and what chairs there are, were mostly old and a safety hazard. Overall feeling of neglect and unprofessional organization. Outdoor shower was out of commission for 2/wks and there is an empty fountain at the back. We fixed umbrellas, our sink and the cold water input to the washer which seem like pretty basic maintenance issues. Also cleaned a/c filter. The common area floors and furniture don't seem to be cleaned at all. There were guests in owners pad as she stayed off site so no one felt we could use the outdoor living/kitchen area without disturbing them.
If you like very cramped, run down, hostel/dorm room type accommodation this could work for you but otherwise spend less and get a 2/bed Hi rise condo on the beach in Gorgona for less money.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Guest pass to Coronado golf and beach club
Liked least: Size of living area and "ensuite" kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Sarah's casitas.

In truth, we do consider the experience here to be different from a resort condo or high-rise hotel—that’s by design. The casitas are a low-key​ and personalized​ basecamp for exploring the Pacific Coast Beach area and El Vallee…a place where guests can meet fellow travelers around the pool or for a BBQ in the backyard. Fully equipped casitas with private rooms and kitchens, plus the intimate shared pool, and our 4.8 star ratings (over 50 of them here online) show that most guests are very happy with their decision to stay here.

We enjoyed having these folks as guests for 3 weeks, and took note of their many positive suggestions during their stay. When feedback was relayed (as I always ask guests to please provide feedback ​"during" the stay as I cannot help address the issues directly when they write about it ​"after" their stay) . The points that were brought to our attention were addressed immediately (new knives, more thorough housekeeping to remedy construction dust, etc etc.).

We also provided perks that a typical high-rise condo would not, like ​in the case of these guests, a​ ride to the grocery store immediately after check-in, mail retrieval organized from the country they were previously in, and a trip to the clinic following a medical emergency​ with a lengthy wait to ensure they were ok, and offer translation services between the cashier, doctor, and pharmacy​. This is just what we do here. We don’t expect a pat on the back, by any means, but we think these services warrant a mention.

About the construction: I am constantly upgrading my properties to offer a quality experience to guests…and unfortunately, there is never a "perfect" time to do it, as for the most part, I am fully booked, or very close to it year round. We sincerely apologize that past guests were inconvenienced for the sake of future guests, who will enjoy the fruits of all that work.

We tried to lessen the impact as much as possible, but this is Panama, where even painstaking plans go astray. Holidays come into play, workers are tardy.. a job is delayed.. it's part of it, and while we would love to have things work seamlessly as they would in North America, it's not always the case here in Latin America.

One final thought: Panama is not Costa Rica or Belize…and we like it that way! ​Over the years, we have compiled a long list of why Panama is​, in so many ways, ​ bette​r.. ​based on feedback from renters and friends who have moved here from those ​other countries.

And it’s true that rentals are less expensive in the nearby town of Gorgona. But Coronado is a gated community with very little crime, and a collection of grocery stores, restaurants, pubs and other modern facilities (like the full service hospital these guests were taken too and cared for in less than 5 minutes) catering to the large community of happy ex-pats who live here. Any traveler who prefers the high-rise oceanfront experience is welcome to try that instead (I too have a selection of oceanfront condos for rent in Coronado!).

What we offer at the casitas is very personal, and a bit different, and for the right travelers, they’re just right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikael650...
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant and conveniently located property.”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property consists in several casitas and a back area with garden and pool. It is well maintained thanks to an attentive and friendly staff residing on the property itself.
It is well located near the beach, shops, restaurants and the main highway to Panama city.
I was 'upgraded' to the main casita consisting in a 1 bedroom which was simple, clean and with everything necessary. The summary booklet in the casita with local addresses and things to do is very helpful. The Wi-Fi signal power was impressively strong and there was even a few foreign channels on the TV to catch up with European broadcasted news (French) ! Nice.
Unfortunately, only the bedroom in this casita had A/C which made it difficult for me to remain in the other rooms given the Panamanian hammering heat. So evaluate your cooling needs before booking.
I recommend this pleasant property to anyone traveling in the area.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annelie J
Umea, Sweden
1 review
“Welcoming and Enjoyable”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent 7 nights in casita la Gaviota and were so happy there that we extended our stay. The casita was the perfect place for our stay with the kitchen to fix our own meals, a good bathroom and bedroom with TV and AC. We had many dinners on our little porch and enjoyed the company of the other tenants in the garden by the pool.
Sarah has really created a homey environment and she often generously invited everyone to join for a drink, a dinner or to come and chat by the pool. If Sarah's not there, she has Vilma who lives on the property as caretaker, to help her out.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and pleasant and we made good friends with Sarah, Scotty and the other guests.
The beach is only a short walk away, so is the Golf Club were there also is a nice pool. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and it's easy and cheap to take a bus or a taxi to the supermarket and more restaurants.
If you're looking for something more than a hotel room, this is where you should go!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly J
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Sarah was an amazing host and Casita Gaviota was everything we hoped it would be and more. Coronado is a safe and beautiful city to stay in with breathtakingly beautiful black sand beaches. The property was wonderful. Our room was clean, quite, private, comfortable, and everything was functional and as described. The pool was wonderful and we loved the common areas that were conducive to getting to know the other guests. Sarah went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and truly at home doing our stay. She was eager to answer any questions and to help us navigate the area. She even drew us some maps. I would highly recommend renting though Sarah without hesitation. Our vacation would not have been nearly as enjoyable had we stay somewhere else. She was wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sarah was a wonderful host
Liked least: Driving in Panama ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing