We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Funi de Cossonay
Ranked #1 of 2 Cossonay B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel Le Funi is an absolutely charming place to stay. The owners are interested in making the stay as lovely as possible ... no detail is overlooked. If it is raining they offer to drive you to the restaurant in town, make suggestions for meals, etc. Every restaurant that they referred us to was wonderful ... quaint, delicious. The only drawback is that the funicular is closed for repairs until August 2013 so the hotel is not as accessibl as it once was ... you really need a car if you are travelling to/from Lausanne. We left early before breakfast was served and they put a "to go" breakfast in our refrigerator for the morning of our departure. Upon arrival our room was not ready yet so they gave aus a beautiful room to use to shower and nap in since we had just arrived from the United States. I recommend this hotel highly ... absolutely worth staying at.

Room Tip: Be sure to select a room with a view of the Alps! All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin3257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
38
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont NY
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Le Funi for three days last month. Cossonay is a charming town in the foothills of the Jura mountains. Its pristine rooms with swissy-white linens are guaranteed to refresh and restore the jet-lagged traveller. Our French doors opened onto a large terrace with a private area, a green lawn beyond, and fields and woods with just a glimpse of Lac Léman as a backdrop. For all its country ambience, the hotel is actually situated quite close to town, which makes it easy to explore on foot.
Although August 1st is the Swiss national holiday, certain towns prefer to have their fireworks and libations on the 31st. That is the case in Cossonay, and on the day we arrived, the community had organized a gathering in the square between the church and the town hall. Since all of the nearby restaurants were closed that evening, we took the funicular (located a few yards away) to the lower town and a pleasant but middling restaurant. When we returned our hosts opened invited us and some other guests to watch the fireworks with them over some excellent local wine.
Above all we appreciated the innkeepers' unconditional hospitality and the calm of the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank de-la-f0lle-chans0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Being a local resident who had to switch houses and needed to stay 3 days in a hotel, I chose the Funi as it was one of the greatest values in the area. Most of hotels around Lausanne are over 200 chf, and require a lot of supplements. Here for 160, you get a fantastic room for 2, an amazing rich and complete breakfast on a terrace with a breathtaking view, free parking, free fast internet wireless for all your computers and devices, and on top of that the most friendly hotel managers I had the chance to meet in the hundreds of hotels I have stayed.

Forget Ibis, Novotels, Starlings, if you are doing business in ouest/north side of Lausanne, this is the place to stay, you can be in 15 mins downtown with the highway, and around the hotel you have some of the best restaurants of the area, from an excellent Thai (Taiwan) to of course the 2 stars Michelin le Cerf and its brasserie Fleur de Sel.

5 stars for this place, nothing less !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxou689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here for a business trip in order to avoid overpriced hotels in Lausanne. Everyting is very well and like in the comments of other visitors. The only 2 negatvies are the hotel closes at 8pm which might be a problem for late arrivals and the walls within the rooms have a limited sound insulations e.g. you can hear your neighbour when he does a phone call. Service is very personal and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berggericht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A few hours after I booked this hotel online, I got a phone call from the owner asking what kind of bed sheets I would like, and notifying me that the night that I had book corresponded to the Swiss National holiday so the evening might be a bit noisier than usual. Although we arrived 1hr after the check-in time, the owner was very nice, and he invited us to share a bottle of wine with a few other guests on the terrace to watch the fireworks. Breakfast was lovely, especially since the weather was nice and we took it out on the terrace. We were asked at least 5 times if everything was ok ... a bit too much in my opinion but it's nice to see owners taking great care of visitors! It is also relatively inexpensive for Switzerland. They also provide free cable and wireless internet access.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb3343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cossonay
7.3 km away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
829 reviews
8.1 km away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
422 reviews
19.9 km away
Hotel Bellevue Le Rocheray
Hotel Bellevue Le Rocheray
#1 of 2 in Le Sentier
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
411 reviews
8.6 km away
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crissier
107 reviews
7.9 km away
Galion's Hotel, Restaurant & Pub
Galion's Hotel, Restaurant & Pub
#1 of 1 in Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Funi de Cossonay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Funi de Cossonay

Property: Hotel Le Funi de Cossonay
Address: avenue du Funiculaire 11 | PO Box 30, Cossonay 1304, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Cossonay
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cossonay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,429 - ₹ 8,724
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Funi de Cossonay 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Funi de Cossonay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing