We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Mesl”
Review of Magic Mushroom

Magic Mushroom
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Billericay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 34 - US$ 52
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: An excellent product starts with the careful selection of the finest fresh ingredients. We source local produce whenever possible, our meats are reared at Essex farms and our fish is delivered fresh daily with much of our fruit and vegetables grown at home in the kitchen garden.
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on 18 Feb, 5 of us for a special 50th birthday meal!! We have been a few times now and thanks to Darren’s wonderful menu, incredibly attentive staff and little touches (balloons on table) we has the most fantastic evening. Cannot thank everyone enough for making my special birthday fabulous

Thank Wendywoo19268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicEssex, Owner at Magic Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a Special 50th Celebration and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to celebrate a belated birthday/Valentine’s day and an early anniversary. Dependent on your preferences, our table wasn’t perhaps in the best location (back of the front section of the restaurant by the wall meaning I had nothing but my other half and the wall behind him to look at!) and I have no idea what the other end of the restaurant is like but the bar end is attractive enough.
Service was speedy and attentive. The menu was large and impressive and desserts are on there too which I like, helps you gauge how much room you need to leave! On asking, we established that they do a couple of cocktails so I ordered a passion fruit Bellini while the other half was on amaretto and we also chose a bottle of wine. The Bellini was beautiful but word of warning, as it wasn’t on the drinks menu and we weren’t close enough to see if the prices were detailed at the bar, we weren’t aware until the bill came that it cost the best part of £12! That one drink was more expensive than some of the starters!
In the lull between ordering and starters we were brought a little ‘pre-starter’ of a duck mousse (I’m sure it had a posh name but no clue!) on little blini which was a sweet touch but I don’t eat meat and sort of feel like it would have been nice if they’d checked before bringing it over. Maybe I confused the issue by ordering fish which I do eat but I still think it’s nice to ask. Food arrived promptly and everything from the little blini onwards were faultlessly presented, just stunning. My tempura cod was nice but just not quite as yummy as I’d imagine, it needed more oomph but was just a touch bland. The other half’s duck was apparently very good. The mains were fabulous, a fish chowder and fillet of beef and a side of chunky chips (which were perhaps over kill given the new potatoes in the chowder and the rosti with the beef!). We of course left room for desserts, brûlée and cheesecake which were beautiful and finished off the meal perfectly.
The menu choices are brilliant, there’s the fixed or a la carte and you can mix and match. Just of note is that the menus on the website aren’t necessarily what you’ll get on the day though it clearly says that online but worth knowing I think.
We would definitely go back, it was so close to getting a ‘5’ so maybe it will next time if we have a nicer table, a non-meat nibble and I try another starter!

Thank kayceequeue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicEssex, Owner at Magic Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant, we are glad you enjoyed your experience. you should of told one of our staff that you didn't eat meat and we could of changed your pre starter for you, remember that for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Went there for dinner was enjoying the evening food was ok nice place food a bit rich but the staff were really very nice and will be back soon thank you

Thank louise19985ft3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicEssex, Owner at Magic Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant, all our meals are cooked from scratch so if you prefer no sauce or a different sauce we are happy to oblige. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely evening here, would strongly recommend. The service is excellent and the staff so friendly, lovely ambiance, great food.....can’t wait to go back!

Thank AmandaHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicEssex, Owner at Magic Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had an enjoyable Birthday Celebration and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Visited a few times over the past few years the last of which was to celebrate a birthday which all the other visits have been for too. The restaurant has a special feel that compliments visit to celebrate an occasion. The menu is quite expensive but you can reduce the cost by visiting midweek and selecting from the midweek set menu, though your options are reduced, the quality of the food is not impacted. Coke comes in bottles rather than the pump which limits the portion. One of my companions wanted a cocktail but they don't do any and the menu was different from the one advertised on the website which was the only negative. As the restaurant is quite empty we finished our courses by 9 but we stayed till 11 with just an extra round of drinks to chat and we were not pressured to leave which was nice. 3 courses inc soft drinks came out at £35 a head which was ok, for our budget. 2 nice little touches were the supply of free tasters before our starts (See pics) and the writing in chocolate pipping of happy birthday on my friends desert plate. (see pics)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheekycockney190757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicEssex, Owner at Magic Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant, we are glad you had an enjoyable evening and liked our special touches. Our menu's change sometimes daily so the ones on our website are only samples of each menu we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Mushroom also viewed

 
Billericay, Essex
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Chelmsford, Essex
Billericay, Essex
 

Been to Magic Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing