We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and pool, but room quality declining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and pool, but room quality declining”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have enjoyed visiting this hotel as a family at least 5 times over the past 5 years. The last couple of times we have been a bit disappointed by the rooms though still really love the atmosphere of the village and the restaurant at the hotel (excellent food, reasonable prices) and the pool. Our room was stifling (in March) and hard to adjust without turing on the air conditioning. Opened the windows in teh middle of the night then couldn't sleep due to grooming of the ski hill and outdoor noise. The room was a bit worn around the edges. Also, we had booked an upgrade, but hte room was nowhere as nice as prior upgrades - small, oddly shaped room with no front closet (hooks only) and miniscule bedroom closet with most room taken up by a safe. Not ideal for a family of four with ski gear! Also, staff was inadequate at check-in/check-out times, with long lines and long waits. We will probably return but are considering some of the newer places which are much less expensive for the same size room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katelondon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    387
    134
    54
    38
See reviews for
500
414
12
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

For the money spent, I expected more, particularly around the service aspect. Check in was very slow. The staff seemed a little frustrated and the friendliness seemed forced. I really recommend they undergo customer service training. Pool was quite nice but hot tub was filthy, full of flies. Restaurant Oliver & Bonancini was very good with a well trained staff. Location of this hotel is probably the best spot in the village. The porters and car valet folks were very good. It made up for the check in staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here over March break and enjoyed our stay. The check in process was painless, our room was ready 2 hours before check-in time and everyone made us feel welcome. The room (2 bedroom suite) was large and clean and friends who stayed in a 2 bedroom in another part of the Village commented on the size of our room in comparison. The food at the hotel was outstanding even though it was a little pricey. The only downside was the room key was not reliable and we were locked out on 3 separate occasions over a 4 day stay. Once I came out of the hot tub and was in my robe and could not get in my room and I had to stand in line during a busy check in period for about 15 minutes until I could get my key reset. I would think the Westin would have a more reliable system.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyboy41699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent 3 nights in the ‘village’ over the March break this year. The hotel is located about 2 hours north of Toronto and depending on when you lleave traffic can be light. When we arrived at 3:30 pm the room was not ready. We had a garenteed check-in time of 4 pm and we did not get into the room until 5pm. No compensation was offered, but when I spoke to a manager the next day $100 was removed from the bill. We have 4 kids and stayed in a largre 3 bedroom suite ($1,100 per night) with a small extra room (3 and ½ bedrooms) . The suite was spacious (about 1,150 sq ft) and nice with three bathrooms. Daily maid service and room service of course. Facilities include a small gym and an excellent large outdoor pool with 2 hot tubs. The pool is heated and fun to use on cold nights. The view from the room is nice and you can see the ski hill. I ordered breakfast to the room and we had the waffles. They did not tast good and even my kids would not eat them. We had the breakfast buffe downstairs twice and it was average food. I would stay here again for convenience and its close proximity to the village and hills. It is expensive for the average food and service.

Room Tip: View of the village and hill of course, but you will pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAP-TRAVEL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

As far as we can tell the hotel gave away our room - we couldn't get a straight story. We were upgraded to a bigger room which would have been fine but it wasn't ready until an hour after scheduled check in. When we finally got into our room it had not been properly cleaned so we had to leave again. The room was also not properly stocked, there were no hangers in the front closet and no bathrobes. The king sized bed and the pull out couch both needed new mattresses. Our suite was at the far end of the hall from the ski hill and it took a long time to get hot water for morning showers.
The staff we dealt with were pleasant for the most part, and the front desk manager was helpful and accommodating. Our teenagers enjoyed the Westin pool and the unseasonably warm March weather was perfect for lounging in the pool and deck.
All in all, I will not be in a hurry to go back and this property was certainly was not the caliber of other Westin properties.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites only have 1 bed in the bedroom with a pullout couch which doesn't make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silent_Traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.8 km away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#5 of 8 in Blue Mountains
361 reviews
4.2 km away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
5.9 km away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
310 reviews
0.4 km away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
136 reviews
0.8 km away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Property: Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,818 - ₹ 27,640
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing