We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit to Hotel Lookout!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Lookout continues to impress me after my third recent visit. In addition to the excellent regular service and great food, the staff was challenged to keep the hotel running during a severe tropical storm which coincided with my trip. They showed impressive concern for the safety and comfort of the guests, as well as neighbors in the community. Such spirit earned my loyalty for all future trips to the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allenl178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Greetings Allen,
We appreciate your continuing patronage! Life in the jungle is always an adventure. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Visit this place again after 2 years and we enjoyed it.
As a nature-photographer I have to say this place is outstanding.
They build 2 small birding trails and they have more plans to extend all kind of possibilities to see wildlife in the area. Howler Monkeys are around. Its a short drive to the beautiful beach of Ojochal. Whale watching in 25 minutes . Tour guide for birding available. ( ask for Jeffer ). Rooms are fine with A/C but not very luxury. Wifi in the rooms.
Nice pool. We will be back in the future.
photo's see worldnature-photos.com

Room Tip: Best rooms are the oceanview rooms , rest of the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hi Ronald,
We enjoyed having you as a returning Guest. Your photographs of the wildlife around the resort are truly breathtaking. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hotel Lookout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I had the good fortune to select the Lookout for my first visit to the Southern Zone. The hotel has a beautiful, elevated site overlooking the ocean with a central pool and terrace from which to enjoy it.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with all my questions about the area. I enjoyed the restaurant and bar multiple times.

I highly recommend this hotel to visitors to the area, whether new or returning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Greetings Allen,
Whether you are traveling to Costa Ballena for relaxation or for business, Hotel Lookout is The Place. Strategically located as the gateway to Osa and a myriad of activities, you can be as active or as relaxed as you want to be. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel Lookout provides a unique vacation or getaway destination.
My list of 5 Star likes.
* The open air restaurant & bar that "Lookout" to the Pacific Ocean.
* The personal and friendly service of the staff; managers, waiters, and housekeeping.
* The comfortable and clean cabin style rooms.
* The quality, taste, and presentation of the restaurant menu selections.
* The proximity of various activities; bird watching, beach walking, hiking, whale watching, scenic drives, and experiencing local life.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SGSHOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Greetings, my staff and I appreciate your thoughts on our hotel. We work hard so your Holiday is a fun mix of what you want--whether that is relaxing in a pool lounger, snorkeling with turtles and dolphins of Cano Island or hiking Corcovado. Vacations at the Lookout are quite the memory makers. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We travelled Costa Rica with our two little kids. The Lookout was fantastic, beautiful scenery, friendly and personal treatment, up-to-date installations.
Actually nothing to add. We know what it is like to read Tripdvisor reviews to judge whether a hotel suitable or not, this is a sure shot.

Room Tip: Cabins facing the ocean are obviously the preferred option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LexiBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsaJohn, General Manager at Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Greetings Lexi,
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. My staff and I appreciate your kind words. Once Costa Rica is in your experience, you will want to return again and again. Hotel Lookout is such a great "base of operations" for Costa Ballena and Osa--whether you wish to just sit by the pool with a cocktail or spend your day experiencing a myriad of activities. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
2 km away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 5 in Ojochal
226 reviews
6.3 km away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
14.4 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
644 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Hotel Mamma e Papa
#4 of 5 in Ojochal
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga

Address: | 200 Meters East from La Ferreteria de La Costa Grupo Materiales, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range: ₹ 6,829 - ₹ 12,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast is included in your Guestroom Rate. Our hotel has twelve cozy bungalows with Queen beds (Junior Suite Rooms have one King Bed and one Queen Bed), Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Tiled Floors, Large Hot Water Showers, and individual Patios with outdoor furniture. Hotel Lookout features magnificent views of both the Pacific Ocean and Jungle Wildlife. In the evening, from our 2nd Floor Lookout, open-air bistro, cozy lounge or outdoor pool, sit back, enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the ocean. What could be better after a day at the beach or a day full of fun activities? Ready for fun? Whether you choose to spend the day bird-watching, relaxing at the beach, exploring the nature trails, enjoying a really good massage, hiking to a waterfall or ziplining through the trees, the Lookout at Playa Tortuga is the perfect place to explore the wonders of the Osa Penninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout At Playa Tortuga Hotel Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing