We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awestruck”
other travellers have booked this property
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
It took a long time for this dream to become a reality, but we're so very glad it did!
Plenty of comfy sun loungers, chairs and cushions to relax on and make yourself at home!
*New outdoor shower area by plunge pool, overlooking jungle canopy & bamboo gardens
The view of the villa as you arrive from the road with Pura Vida Ecolodge Reserve in the background
Front deck and balcony to the jungle villa - offering impressive panoramic and ocean views
The open-plan stylish living space on the first floor with wrap around teak decks.
Open-plan kitchen (with NEW teak benches, pictured in next photo) comfy living area with sea views
Fully equipped open-plan kitchen and dining area with new handmade teak benches for up to 6 people
We've recently added a yoga exercise deck hanging over the reserve at the end of the stepping stones
Spacious deck perfect for sunbathing, yoga or admiring the nature reserve, animals and sea views
Our infinity plunge pool,  plenty big enough for escaping the tropical heat! Sea and jungle views!
Our Location with 2 routes upto lodge from the Costanera (Coronado and Puntalmala, near Ojochal.)
The front of the jungle villa with its impressive bamboo palapa roof.
Wrap-around teak decking offering impressive sea, mountain and jungle canopy views
*NEW outdoor shower by the plunge pool, perfect for cooling off after the beach!
Welcome to Pura Vida Ecolodge - your retreat, your lifestyle, your experience!
The new stepping-stones path from the lodge down to the yoga deck and body-weights gym
NEW yoga exercise deck complete with rustic dining/chill-out area. Offers valley and ocean views
NEW yoga deck hanging over the edge of the plantel offering stunning valley, ocean sunset views
NEW Rustic seating and cocktail area in front of the lodge overlooking the valley  and Pacific ocean
Walking back up to the jungle villa from one of the reserves nature trails
Contemporary  spacious master bedroom offers ocean views, sun-deck delightful en-suite bathroom
Wake up to panormacic ocean/valley views out of the bedroom window in the Ocean view Suite upstairs
En-suite bathroom with walk-in powerful rain shower (solar powered heated water 24/7)
Handcrafted teak and bamboo sliding doors so you can have the villa as open or as closed as you wish
Jungle-view Suite has its own private deck overlooking the jungle canopy with all its nature
Downstairs Jungle Suite, offering guests great jungle views, ensuite bathroom and private deck area
Spacious en-suite bathroom with walk-in rain shower overlooking jungle (with heated water 24/7),
Wake up with the howler monkeys as the villa hangs dramatically over the jungle canopy
As you come up the stairs to the 1st floor you enter wrap-around teak decks with panoramic sea view
The toucans especially love these tress that you can literally reach out and grab from the deck
Fun trek along 1 of the nature trails brings you to freshwater plunge pool and waterfall for swim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Abhishekm...
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awestruck”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We were just meant to visit this place, our stay for Bocas Del Toro was booked by then our visas for panama were rejected, so while I was looking to find places to fill in those days, I came across Pura Vida Ecolodge, and now I have no regrets that our visas were rejected.

This was unarguably the best house we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Costa Rica. Joe and Kika have create something very special here and we really appreciated it. Pura Vida Ecolodge is beautifully made with all the amenities required during a stay. Our check in was very smooth, Henry the local Tico had kept the house clean and ready for us and even stocked the refrigerator with many fresh fruits, which we used every day to make smoothies and juices. Well, I definitely recommend having a 4x4 while driving here.

Since we had only 3 days on hand, we preferred to stay indoors most of the time and enjoy the house and the pool, however we did do a half day amazing snorkelling tour with Mystique dive Center, which was recommended by Joe! The dive shop is located approx 20 mins from the house and I would definitely recommend people to do this half day scuba / snorkel tour. You drive down to the beach where your speed boat is waiting to rush you to an island called Isla De Cano. Kumari who runs the dive shop is a wonderful person and absolutely brilliant at what she does. We snorkelled for two sessions of nearly 1 and 1/2 hour each with a lunch In between the dives. he coral reef around the island has so much sea life, we saw incredibly colourful fishes, turtles, dolphins and even saw a shark!

What's awesome about this palace is that it provides complete privacy and literally nobody passes the house at any time. My only regret will be not staying here longer!

Pura Vida

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: That I stayed only 3 days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dror d
tel aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“in one word - Tranquility!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Puravida Ecolodge for 6 days –sure wish it was longer - it was, by far, the best place we have stayed in Costa Rica. Away from the touristy parts of the country, but not too far.

It’s a 3.5 hour drive down from San Jose to the dusty village of Coronado (that is if you don’t stop at Manuel Antonio national park on the way as we did.)
In Coronado we met Henry that was extremely nice and helpful threw all our stay. From there it's another 10 minutes up hill to the Puravida – (good thing we rented a 4wd – no other way to get there ).
Highly recommended place to stay if you are looking for a remote, quiet, private place to get away – just you and the jungle noises – some time intense noises
The jungle villa is ideally planed for two couples – with a grate terrace upstairs – you can seat outside even on a rainy day – watch the sunsets over the pacific or stay in the pool on a hot day.
All very clean, nicely, simply "ecoluxury" style –thought has been given to every detail, a kitchen with all you need for cooking your own meals and most important – a shaker – that we used every day.
There is also plenty to do around the place: wonderful untouched beaches, surprisingly good restaurants – waterfalls, nature reserves, surfing, diving
Definitely a place to come back to!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy
Liked least: having lo leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meckimess...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect eco-style far away in a beautiful, natural setting”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I were fortunate, to be some of the first to have ever stayed at Pura Vida Ecolodge. We spent 8 absolutely magnificent days in the remote lodge, far away from the bustle and hustle of big cities or even settlements. The lodge is very artfully crafted from natural material and the photos on this page do not even do it complete justice how well designed it all is. Simple, yet stylish and very open. Having the sliding doors open all day whether rain or shine allowed us to always experience the rainforest at the doorstep in its fullest including the various sound and lightscapes. During the day, one can lounge on the deck, sit in the pool or simply walk around the various (unpaved/natural) roads and paths without seeing a single soul. We found howler monkeys, all sorts of insects, butterflies and birds over birds. The drive down into the little village of Coronado is a bit of a challenge given some steep parts and a 4WD is a must here. If one does not want to bother going "to town" too often, we would definitely recommend buying some basic groceries for some days in advance before making the way up to the lodge. There are also some nice restaurants in close vicinity from Coronado up and down the main highway, specifically towards Uvita. Getting to the lodge from SJO was about a 4 hour drive without major breaks and adhering to the speed limit. Overall, we can recommend Pura Vida 100% to everybody who is looking for serenity, natural bliss and an almost spiritual experience. For us, coming from NYC, it was a perfect antidote to the hectic city life. Listening to and living in the rainforest is a truly amazing experience. Thanks to Joe and Kika for this fantastic place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the house on the jungle
Liked least: Some parts of the road to the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the villa and the situation in the jungle, completely in the nature
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diana G
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location, the house, the quiet...cant choose
Liked least: The mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing