We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
241
21
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
21
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo room live music owners john costa rica the breakfast area would highly recommend this hotel cr coffee large patio amazing spot pleasure of staying watching the birds the pacific ocean three nights amazing views room hotel boutique hotel amazing hosts
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Very nice clean hotel with amazing views. Extremely nice and attentive staff took great care of us. The restaurant and music venue in the property is just amazing. This place is one of a kind, a must see.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank keithrs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights and it was great! The chef made gluten free fish and chips for Tammy and they were super tasty maybe a new menu option. Entertainment at the Bamboo room was awesome, Walter and John are great team playing good music and having fun on stage.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank adams1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I love this place. It is a small boutique hotel with excellent rooms, linens, bathrooms and views. The owners are so nice and hospitable. The staff is incredibly friendly and the place is immaculately clean. We love the attached Bamboo Room restaurant with live music. The area of Ojochal is such a nice community and you can tell by the local patrons that they really have something special. We have been going to the Ojochal area for almost twenty years and have stayed in many hotels in the area. From now on, Alma is the place for us!

Room tip: All rooms are good. I think the lower suites might have larger beds.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goinrountheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Alma de Ojochal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

What a wonderful review! Thanks so much for your kind words, we never know if we are completely hitting the mark to make those that choose us have the best experience we can deliver. Your words let us know our efforts are delivering that experience! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This was such a great place. The rooms have everything you need including a great view and very clean.

The bamboo room (the restaurant at the hotel) was awesome. Good live music and good food.

The owner was super nice, hospitable and super helpful. Just downright good people.

I dig what they're doing here. Highly recommend

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trail420328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I know it's cliché, but the owners here are, undoubtedly "living the dream!". You wouldn't guess it on a Sunday night (when we arrived) as it's the one night the restaurant is closed, but every other night this place comes alive with tourists like us and the surrounding community.

Great live music, great food+ great people= Awesome atmosphere at the bamboo restaurant, not to mention the great ocean view.

This place has helped seal the deal about my dream to move down here to CR. Two thumbs up to John and Janet for making their dream come true and sharing their love for just having fun and being alive. Thank you for being such great hosts. Definitely excited to come stay here again!

Cheers!!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews