We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful, almost magical and fun place. It exceeded all our expectations- jungle setting but close to all kinds of activities like several beaches, zip lining, excellent dining.
Stefan ( the owner) was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. His art is everywhere and it's fascinating.
This is not a luxury hotel but if you are ok with simple accommodations, you will have an amazing experience. The sounds of the jungle, lush gardens with fruit trees, beautiful butterflies and birds, and fun and entertaining host- Pura Vida!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Funky place in a jungle, close to beaches and all kinds of activities. Serene setting with colorful art, uniquely built. Breathtaking gardens all around where we picked our own fruit, the owner showed us all kinds of medicinal plants and herbs. We even made delicious tea using leaves straight from the garden! We cooked dinner there couple of times, but also walked to some nearby restaurants the owner recommended to us, and one night had delicious pizza made by Stefano in his outdoor pizza oven.
There is also a great deck on the second floor of the main property, where you can meditate or do yoga.
Our cabin was very large, clean with enough beds for 6-7 people to sleep comfortably.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We loved the place! Very unique, nestled in a jungle, next to a nice river, close to several beaches : Playa Ventanas, Playa Tortuga, Pinuela, Ballena. We went to the best and exciting zip lining, took a tour in a jungle, went snorkeling by the Cano Island, and just spent time on the property some evenings with the cool owner Stefano. The property itself is indescribable, so much art and cool things to explore. Gorgeous gardens all around with beautiful flowers, all kinds of tropical fruit trees, butterflies, colorful birds etc.
Cabinas are pretty basic, but large and very clean. And they are very private, too. You don't need 4x4 as it is located right in the village of Ojochal.
Best pizza in the area too!

Room Tip: If you are not looking for luxury but a true Costa Rica Pura Vida, this is a place for you!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizaborys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The Turtle Garden is an amazing and one of a kind place, beautifully integrated into the nature of the jungle, yet close to the main highway, several beautiful beaches, amazing restaurants for every budget, next to a bakery, and within walking distance to the supermarket. The owner and creator of The Turtle Garden is a very interesting, vibrant and friendly individual who speaks several languages, has lived in many countries, and if you are interested always willing to sit down with you and share some very interesting stories. We have booked our trip based on the reviews on Airbnb and enjoyed every minute of our stay. There is something magical about this place, full of amazing art, surrounded by breathtaking gardens with all kinds of flowers, plants, fruit trees. During the day we explored the property, walked down to the river, or just sat on the deck overlooking the jungle, watching all kinds of unique birds and trying to spot the animals. In the evening we relaxed with a glass of wine, listening to beautiful music that Stefan often plays or just unjoyed the sounds of the jungle. What a treat!
The cabinas are simple but very spacious and spotless.
Overall the place is absolutely gorgeous, Stefan made us feel like we are at home away from home. True Pura Vida in an enchanting and beautiful setting. Definitely would love to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdalenafresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

The Turtle garden cabins offer the out of the grid experience .
There is the variety of cabins ;all located around the central dining/restaurant area. The whole place is build on and around the trees; on the river. In the middle of the jungle. It is decorated with an art; most by the owner ;an amazing artist and chef Stefan. He goes out of his way to accommodate any needs one can have; and the jungle surroundings compliment his actions. He is an ample source of connecting with the local business -be for surfing; kayaking; hiking; cooking to his guests likings. The cabins are very clean and welcoming to the well deserved rest.And It's very exciting to be able to observe the monkeys while dining ; or catch a glimpse of the beautiful morphea butterfly early morning. Hey! It is Costa Rica with its famous abundance of fauna and flora! Blue Zone its called for the good reason. Also we found to be in the walking distance to the bakery next door. The Turtle Garden is located close to the supermarket and different restaurants in Ojochal. Its situated 5 minutes from the main highway.

Room Tip: Any cabin is the right choice!They all provide the most amazing abundant jungle view !
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trzcieniecka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews