We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
294
20
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
20
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolcosta ricachef pablothe general managersushi chefliving roomwonderful staffsushi nightview of the oceanlocal restaurantspura vidarooms are beautifuldinner menuour entire staylittle piece of heavenmain buildingenjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here for six nights after a week in Manuel Antonio. If you are looking to truly unwind, this is the place to do it. The rooms are very comfortable. Ours had a small balcony which was perfect for viewing the gorgeous sunsets. The staff is impeccable, paying attention to every detail and providing great information about the area. Wonderful food in the onsite restaurant, great drinks from the bar, and every attempt is made to insure total relaxation. Thanks Scott and your staff for a very memorable time. Pura Vida!! Till next time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

El Castillo is a beautiful place to stay. The pool, restaurants and rooms are all very nice. The food prepared by their own chef is Five Star quality. Really good! The staff is very friendly and professional taking care of anything needed. We will return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This place has been on my bucket list for years and we were finally able to make it happen. Wow! Was it worth it. The best service great views amazing food and drinks... Wow we felt like movie stars :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

first, this is not my first time at el castillo, but my first time in a long while!
mine is a short trip and i will always check in with scott, the owner/manager to find out the latest in menu etc.
we decided on a sat night ... sushi night, always a pleasure! (fri, sat & sun)
our servers were gerson, and jerrold ... both very attentive with a very good command of english ... making this a place for those wanting an exceptional view ... with exceptional AND uncomplicated service.
then the food!
the sushi chef is juan-pablo, an immensely personable man of maybe 30.
a side note: if you want to understand/comprehend 'pura vida'?? spend 10 minutes with juan-pablo!
ok, back to the food ... sushi!!
we ordered 3 rolls ... they are pretty big ... id say 1 roll would definitely be enough for 1 person. that being said ... I'm a sushi 'professional'. so, the 2 of us ordered 3 rolls. the 3 huge rolls, home made miso soup and 3 glasses of wine each came to just over 100bux!
so, combine the ambiance, the staff and the food ... id say scott hits it(and continues to hit it!!) on the head!
always a pleasure (and i think were going back tonight!!) ... SUSHI!!

Room Tip: i am reviewing the restaurant and service only!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Wow, we returned to El Castillo after exactly one year and we have to say it even was more perfect than it already was last time. The view from the pool down to the ocean and the small island is spectacular. The team of the hotel gave us wonderful suggestions for day adventures. Particularly a trip to the coffee garden in Biolley is worth driving too!
Food is star worthy!! Pablo is a real artist. He makes you smile when he talks about food.
Dariel makes the most beautiful coffee. He can make milk foam look like a 3-D cat!
Scott is so generous, lively and helpful. He just makes you smile.
Gerson has the perfect attention to detail and his helpfulness is amazing!
You have to try Gerald's 'My Try' cocktail. He has quite the moves shacking the cocktail shaker.
Carlos is one of the most pleasant bar tenders and waiter/staff I have met. His calm attitude fits the Costa Rican life style feeling you get once at El Castillo.
All the other staff are so friendly and helpful!
I am so looking forward to our next visit! Mucho gusto El Castillo team!!!

Room Tip: Rent a 4 wheel drive from Payless. Drive to Biolley and experience Pancho's art, mushroom house ice cream, coffee garden.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews