We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Castillo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

This place is spectacular! When you stay here, it is all about you. The attention to detail is unmatched. Scott, the general manager, is the best. He and the guys go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. Pablo, the chef, is world class! You could have every meal on the property and would never be disappointed. We will be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here for six nights after a week in Manuel Antonio. If you are looking to truly unwind, this is the place to do it. The rooms are very comfortable. Ours had a small balcony which was perfect for viewing the gorgeous sunsets. The staff is impeccable, paying attention to every detail and providing great information about the area. Wonderful food in the onsite restaurant, great drinks from the bar, and every attempt is made to insure total relaxation. Thanks Scott and your staff for a very memorable time. Pura Vida!! Till next time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

El Castillo is a beautiful place to stay. The pool, restaurants and rooms are all very nice. The food prepared by their own chef is Five Star quality. Really good! The staff is very friendly and professional taking care of anything needed. We will return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This place has been on my bucket list for years and we were finally able to make it happen. Wow! Was it worth it. The best service great views amazing food and drinks... Wow we felt like movie stars :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

first, this is not my first time at el castillo, but my first time in a long while!
mine is a short trip and i will always check in with scott, the owner/manager to find out the latest in menu etc.
we decided on a sat night ... sushi night, always a pleasure! (fri, sat & sun)
our servers were gerson, and jerrold ... both very attentive with a very good command of english ... making this a place for those wanting an exceptional view ... with exceptional AND uncomplicated service.
then the food!
the sushi chef is juan-pablo, an immensely personable man of maybe 30.
a side note: if you want to understand/comprehend 'pura vida'?? spend 10 minutes with juan-pablo!
ok, back to the food ... sushi!!
we ordered 3 rolls ... they are pretty big ... id say 1 roll would definitely be enough for 1 person. that being said ... I'm a sushi 'professional'. so, the 2 of us ordered 3 rolls. the 3 huge rolls, home made miso soup and 3 glasses of wine each came to just over 100bux!
so, combine the ambiance, the staff and the food ... id say scott hits it(and continues to hit it!!) on the head!
always a pleasure (and i think were going back tonight!!) ... SUSHI!!

Room Tip: i am reviewing the restaurant and service only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.5 km away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
221 reviews
15.9 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
634 reviews
16.0 km away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 13 in Uvita
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
17.4 km away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
1.6 km away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range: ₹ 16,287 - ₹ 35,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Castillo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Castillo is an adults-only, luxury boutique hotel known for its incredible staff, over-the-top service, free gourmet breakfast, and exclusive beach on a nearby private island. Perched 600 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the magnificent structure has arguably the most dramatic view in all of Costa Rica. Enjoy the infinity pool on the main level or relax in a cabana on the ocean-view deck below, which features a bar, Jacuzzi pool, and a full menu of in-cabana spa treatments. The fabulous Azul Restaurant & Bar, located inside the hotel, specializes in Mediterranean cuisine. El Castillo is a special place - stay as our guests or rent the entire hotel and let our staff spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing