We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool available May-September.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool available May-September.
100% cotton linen and breakfast food provided. Fully equipped kitchen with microwave combi oven and induction hob.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Pool available May-September.
100% cotton linen and breakfast food provided.
Fully equipped kitchen with microwave combi oven and induction hob.
TV, DVD player, ultra fast fibre optic broadband, DAB radio all available.
Super smart new bathroom with under floor heating and heated towel rail.
Spacious shower.
Lots of books and games for you to enjoy.
Large hallway for all your outdoor walking gear. Pegs above radiator.
Everything you need to cook up a feast!
Enjoy your breakfast or an evening drink by the poolside.
View from your bedroom window.
Pancake Hill where our B&B is located.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chedworth, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Blonderun...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pretty place but disappointing”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Well presented self contained letting but shower limited to 5 minutes due to size of water tank. If you like a a longer than 5 minute shower you will be disappointed. Breakfast items provided for day one but no extra or fresh items for day two. Expect to have to ask for more as you won't be asked. More self catering in style than a typical B&B with very little service . .At £90 a night I expected more and you would getmore from more well established B&Bs. Definitely not an option for a family with small children due to lack of hot water and split level set up with steep staircase. . If you are above 6ft tall , the low beamed ceiling in kitchen /lounge/bedroom area would make for an uncomfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty location
Liked least: Lack of hot water and service level
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
We are sorry that Eve did not enjoy her stay as we work exceptionally hard to ensure that every guest has all they need to have a fantastic relaxing time with us. We just wish that she had felt able to ask for the extra things she require at the time of her visit. We are always happy to provide guests with whatever they require. This couple requested a standard and continental breakfast. So we put in a loaf of homemade bread, two pots of homemade preserves, three boxes of cereal, four large croissant, real coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, milk, sugar, butter and honey. I was in bed with the flu but my husband offered the couple a lift to their wedding venue so they didn't need to get a taxi. I am sorry that this was taken to be very little service. We always put the food for peoples' stay into the property in advance so that they can relax, waking and eating whenever they want in the privacy of their own apartment without specifying a time in advance. Most guests like this style and we mention it in our advertising. I'm not sure Eve had looked closely at our website before her arrival as she wasn't even aware that the property was totally private and self-contained. Every guest has a 70 litre tank of hot water and we have now extended the heating period from ten to twelve hours so that if guests are unfortunate enough to use all 70 litres, whatever time of the day or night, they will be guaranteed shortly to have another tank at their disposal. Families with small children have frequently stayed with us and not had a problem either with hot water or our standard flight of well carpeted stairs.
If Eve would like to visit again we will be happy to show her why we have been designated 'super hosts' by one of our other agents.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanthoula...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovely village, very nice cottage and the Owners were very friendly and helpful with everything.

Warm and cosy space.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanders S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very quiet, perfect little cottage!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The view from the cottage is beautiful. Very quiet and peaceful! The owners go above and beyond to make sure your stay is great! The bed sleeps wonderful and so nice to be in a beautiful quiet village than in a hotel room. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a peaceful cottage and having wonderful, very helpful owners.
Liked least: Everything was great!
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_T...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stunning stay at The Shrove”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful stay! We arrived to meet Hugh who welcomed us graciously and showed us to our accommodation. The cottage was absolutely spotless with a very large bathroom with underground heating and walk-in shower, a kitchen with every utensil you could hope for(!) and a homely living area with a comfortable queen-sized bed. It was private but had windows over the local sheep farm and rolling hills. We were provided with ingredients for a big breakfast (pack of sausages, bacon, free range local eggs, fresh orange juice, bread and a selection of homemade jam) - it was delicious and we appreciated being able to cook ourselves so we could set our own agenda.

Hugh spent a great deal of time speaking to us about the local highlights and offered us bikes to cycle around the area. The cottage is well-stocked with walking resources but both Hugh and Ros were on hand whenever we needed advice. They clearly love the area and the outdoors and this was reflected in their knowledge! We cycled to the local pub - The Fossbridge Inn which served tasty British pub food and a wide selection of ales and beer set in beautiful surroundings with a pond. We were also able to cycle to Bibury which is about a 10 miles round trip through quaint and stunning Cotswold's scenery. This was a particular highlight! There are plenty of other things to do within driving distance.

In total, our stay could not be faulted and would recommend The Shrove to anyone. One word of warning - be prepared to have little to no mobile signal but this should be expected in the heart of the Cotswold's countryside!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hume j
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First class comfort and hospitality in a quintessential Cotswold village”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were looking for somewhere to escape to that provided us with an escape but also close enough to some points of interest that would keep the children entertained! Shrove Cottage met and exceeded all of our expectations. The owners, Hugh and Ros and their family, couldn't have been more welcoming and the accommodation was wonderful with lots of thought going in to what guests may need. Breakfast was delicious and included pancakes, what else would you expect when you are staying in Shrove Cottage, Pancake Hill! We will definitely be returning very soon and I look forward to trying out the swimming pool when the weather warms up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality of the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing