We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
10
11
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
11
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at Hotel Rhodania for one night end of March 2014 traveling with a married, eldery couple.

Hotel Rhodania is a small family run hotel with about 10 rooms, located just outside the alpine village of Albinen.

Check-in/Check-out/Front desk ++++
We booked the room via hotels.com/Expedia about half an hour before arriving to the hotel. Our arrival was therefore kind of a surprise as we were the only guest this Saturday night. However, the staff (native german and french speakers) were very friendly and put together our room in just a few minutes.

Rooms +++
We stayed on the top floor in room #18. No lift access means it may cause trouble for disabled guests. The rooms were old fashioned, bathroom newly refurbished and very clean. The view of the Rhone valley and the village of Albinen from the balcony was absolutely amazing.

Internet +++
The hotel has free Wi-Fi internet, one hot spot with speed enough for browsing normal websites. Wi-Fi password displayed in the information booklet.

Breakfast ++++
Continental breakfast buffet served for an additional charge included yougurt, a selection of different bread, cheese and ham, orange and multivitamin juice, tea and coffee, cereals and fruits, and was served in the restaurant which shared the view of valley with the rest of the hotel.

Parking +++++
The hotel offers free parking on a large lot located below the hotel building. A step entrance may cause problem for disabled guests during snow season.

Atmosphere +++++
The hotel is accommodated in an old alpine wooden house offering great 60's to 80's atmosphere

Location ++++
Hotel Rhodania is located just outside the village of Albinen close to Leukerbad, about 10 km drive from the main road between Visp/Brig and Martigny/Sion/Sierre. We stayed here on spring-break road trip in the Alps en-route from Chamonix to Zermatt.

Pricing ++
Swiss prices (163,50 CHF inc. breakfast) means value for money is in the lower range. As a guest, I find the right pricing in an international context should be about 20% less.

Summary/Overall view +++
We were quite happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Please book in advance to give staff time to prepare your room as this is a small family run hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Even taking into account the 'swiss premium', this establishment is simply overpriced. Ok, so I know not all the rooms can have a great view, but if even your in-room brochure says they have a balcony then they should have a balcony!

The bed is solid as rock, and coming from me that is tough because I like hard beds - but my back was killing me after one night here.

To be honest, it feels more like a hostel but is priced like a hotel and for me, that is too much.

That said, the lady who served us and seemingly did everything was very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

You have the feeling to be a Guest in an splendid alpine area. The restaurant is serving very good meals but prices are swiss priced. We are pleased to return to the Kammacher family. Albinen is a tranquile place with a nice ski area.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We (my wife and I) stayed with friends in the Hotel Rhodania for two nights. The hotel is a bit outside the village of Albinen, along the main road and easily accessible from the parking place. Rooms are entirely made of wood with traditional furniture. Bathrooms are about the size of those found in Japan i.e. unsuitable for undeniably oversized individuals. Rooms facing the valley have a balcony. The location is very quiet with an impressive view over the Rhone river valley on one side and cliffs on the other side. Continental breakfast not included in room rate. Restaurant with good meals. Interesting wine card.
We visited both Leukerbad and Albinen and found streets and "mazots" (traditional small chalets entirely built with almost black wood) much more attractive in Albinen. Have also a look at the church.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claude-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had 2 days there, and it was lovely : charming hotel staff, very clean rooms, splendid view, very quiet place and typical Valais food, all of this made our stay very pleasant, and we will come back for sure !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony to see the splendid view !
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews