We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Larchwood Lodge

Larchwood Lodge has great views from the glass fronted lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Larchwood Lodge has great views from the glass fronted lounge
The lounge in Larchwood with views to Skye and up Loch Long also Larchwood's corner deck gets the sun for much of the day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Larchwood Lodge has great views from the glass fronted lounge
The lounge in Larchwood with views to Skye and up Loch Long also
Larchwood's corner deck gets the sun for much of the day
Super comfortable beds
Well-equipped kitchen, sliding doors open to dining area
Walk-in shower room
Lounge & dining area , lets the landscape into the house
The famous Glenelg Ferry - half an hour from Larchwood
Loch Duich looking towards Glen Shiel
Elgol in Skye - boat trips to Loch Coruisk and the Cuillin depart from here
Larchwood deck looking towards Skye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dornie, Lochalsh, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
margarbi
margarbi
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The road to this place is across the street from the Eilean Donan castle which was a nice surprise. I knew I was booking in the same area but didn't realize it was so close. The house and furniture were a bit dated but the views of the water and the mountains made up for it. When renting a home on vacation, it does pose a challenge getting everything you need to cook including spices and such, so I did not enjoy that so much. Having breakfast and coffee in the house was a nice way to start our day though. Have laundry available was a huge plus for us since finding places to do laundry is hard. The place seemed a little pricey but overall we seemed to enjoy it. It was a great time to separate the kids for a while in their own rooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josh b
2 reviews
“Great holiday!”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Larchwood lodge is a very comfortable, spacious and well equipped holiday home to spend a great holiday. Spectacular views, easy reach of many of the great sites of Scotland and wonderful walks on your doorstep. Very friendly, helpful owner. We were a family group with two small children and a dog so the huge amount of space around the property was ideal. Would recommend this property to anyone who loves the outdoors and a very comfortable place to come back to after a long day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardanapa...
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A great place to get away from it all – including the internet and phone calls (there's nothing the owners can do about the poor reception). The loch-side location is magnificent. The attached pictures may look like Photoshop jobs, but I promise they were taken on a summer's day outside the cottage. The place is modern, light, well-equipped and all the beds are extremely comfortable. There are two pubs and a small shop 1km away (15 minutes on foot). Dornie is an ideal base to explore Skye and the Western Highlands – and probably better that Skye itself, which is expensive and overcrowded in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thanks for this review, and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Larchwood Lodge - who needs photoshop ?!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

An excellent location for lots of different places and things to do. Skye is a 15 minute drive away and Eilean Donan castle is on your doorstep. The property has all mod cons, clean and spacious. Log fired stove with logs provided and leather swivel chairs are very comfy. The bedrooms are lovely with dormer windows and blinds upstairs. The upstairs bath has a view of the mountain and the stars in the night sky. Nearest place to eat out is the Dornie Hotel or the Clachan bar which was closed up to the 18th March, I didn't try the hotel food so can't comment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larawanke...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Modern Holiday Home Ideal for Highland Exploring”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in July/August 2015. Our three bedroom lodge (Larchwood) was £1240 for 8 nights.

We booked the lodge a year in advance directly with Geoff, the owner. Geoff was very amenable, answering our constant email queries in the lead-up to our visit.

The lodge was very well-designed and perfect for 6 adults spending the week together. Each of the three bedrooms felt generous in size. Two of the rooms can be organised as a queen or two twin beds. All linens and towels were provided. The two bathrooms (one with bathtub, one with shower) also felt just right for 6 adults sharing. Dulux windows are used throughout the upstairs to utilise natural light. The kitchen was well-stocked with every utensil needed for cooking and dishwasher. The washer and tumble dryer were also welcome after a few muddy outings.

The large windows in the dining/living area took full advantage of the views. The social areas were large enough for a comfortable social time with 11 adults when we had guests. The television received free-view channels, a DVD player is provided and wifi signal is strong throughout the lodge.

In the winter months, I am certain that the under floor heating and wood stove (with wood provided) would be greatly appreciated. In the summer months, the large windows quickly head the lodge on a sunny day. A porch, picnic table and plenty of green space were provided if you have little ones needed to expend some energy outdoors. There is room for 2-3 cars to park near each lodge.

I would recommend pre-booking a grocery delivery with Dornie Stores in the village. They delivered our order directly to our fridge, where it was awaiting our arrival. We then paid the next morning when passing the shop. Very friendly service! The village is about a 15 minute walk from the lodge. The village also contains the Dornie Hotel and Clannach Pub (both serve dinner on certain nights of the week).

Overall, I would recommend Dornie lodges to those looking for a good self-catered centre from which to explore Kintail, Lochalsh, Skye and further afield. With Eilean Donan Castle right on the doorstep, there is plenty to do within driving distance from your luxury Dornie lodge to occupy a wonderful week in the Highlands!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views of the loch out the floor-to-ceiling windows.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing