We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
10
18
9
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
18
9
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Old style service and authentic Japanese experience. This is well worth a visit and will give an international visitor a great cultural experience. If you are expecting steak or fish and chips, you will be disappointed. This is a Japanese ryokan which has been slightly westernised. Only negative was the smell of cigarette some everywhere - an ongoing problem in Japan.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Succhi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Three of us stay 2 days at Kokuya , we have a wanderful experience. The variety of type of Osen they have are excellent, we get to go to different types of Osen just within the hotel.the room open air bath are all install with jacuzzi.

All the staffs are friendly and helpful. They are also attentive. Most of the staff are able to speak English and try their best to meet your needs.

The staff even prepared some onigiri and snack for us to eat on the road after knowing we are leaving for Tokyo the 2nd day.

Room Tip: The hotel have a lot of stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kxye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kokuya is right on the main street in the old part of Yadanaka, a historic onsen town. The Kokuya is a well-established family owned and run Hotel. (400 years from memory!)
Many of the rooms have their own private onsen, indoor or outdoor. Some westerners prefer to enjoy the onsen experience privately. We had an outdoor onsen attached to our room that was fed by hot water from the mountains. Amazing to soak there in the hot spring water and have snow flakes falling on your head!
Dinner and breakfast are included and are served in your own private dining area within the main dining room. The Hotel provides you with yakata and wash bag and many guests walk around the old town, dressed in the traditional way, enjoying each of the 6 or so public onsen on offer. (The Hotel will give you a key - entry is free for Hotel guests) We preferred our own onsen, but enjoyed walking around town. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is usually someone who speaks English to be found. It is expensive, but well worth the money - a rare and unique experience and delicious and plentiful food - a banquet every night! Most people wore yakata to dinner and breakfast. You can nominate the foods you enjoy and dislike and ask for a western breakfast.
If rates are too steep, you can take a room without private onsen and use the public ones at the Hotel or in the town, a much cheaper option. The Hotel had lots of public baths/onsen, indoor and outdoor. (about 7 or 8 from memory) They also offer a private or family bath (2 from memory) which can be reserved for your own private use or with your partner. The Kokuya has a great website in English, with pictures of the onsens and rooms.
Internet access at 100 yen for 10 minutes was handy as well.
It was only a 10 minute trip to the famous Monkey Park as well - the snow monkeys relaxing in the warm spring water are something to behold - gorgeous!
Yadanaka is a scenic 50 minutes on a local train from Nagano - we used our JR Pass to Nagano and then paid about 1250 yen each for the local train. (each way) The scenery in the area is breathtaking and great for hikers, skiers and photographers.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews