We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grandia Housen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Seiryukaku(Awara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Rosensou(Awara)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Wakatakeso(Awara)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Seifuso(Awara)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Fukuju(Awara)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Beniya(Awara)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Kadoso(Awara)
View Hotel
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
62
55
18
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
55
18
11
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful experience here, great food, beautiful room, nice services and staff, although the price is little bit expensive, it will make u worth it after u stay here, the owner of here give heart to this business and we will feel that,thx

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We stayed at Grandia Housen one night in September 2014.
We had rented a car in Kanazawa 3 days earlier and drove slowly around the Noto Peninsula in Ishikawa and down to Fukui, returning the car at Awara Onsen around 5PM.
We had a reservation at Grandia Housen and the rental car counter person was nice enough to give us a rid to the ryokan.
We had a big room, 3 of them in one actually, in the more quiet side, with a private outdoor bath, rocking chair on the deck, massage chair inside, small private garden, luxury.
We went around this big building of an hotel, checking things out, surprised by the number of families staying there, on the other side, and happily retreated to "our "quiet side, ready for dinner in our room.
Chika was in charge, she was great, and made everything she could for us to enjoy our stay.
Thank you Chika, we both have a smile when we think about you.
The dinner was wonderful, in taste and colors, the otoro was surprising, melting wakasa beef, very special abalone. . .
More private onsen, more massage chair time, a peaceful night, a good breakfast, yet more soaking in the outdoor bath looking at the garden, and it is time to check out at 11AM.
Too fast.
We took their shuttle bus to the train station, and hoped on the 11:30AM train to Osaka.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Stechaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We are a family of four. Our father, my two sisters and I. We spent one night here in early December.

Awara Onsen was not initially on our itinerary, but we read a very favourable recommendation by Chua Lam and so made a booking on the internet. I also found a 50th anniversary special price. We only managed to book 4 Dec as 5 Dec was fully booked. I thought there must be something special about this place then.

We rented a car and drove ourselves from Nagoya. We arrived in the area at about 2:30pm and went to visit Tojinbo first. At about 3:45pm we left Tojinbo and after just a very short drive, 15 minutes at the most, we arrived at Grandia Housen. I parked my car at the main entrance to unload our luggages, then parked the car in the big car park. Overnight parking here is free.

The four of us were soon led to our big, 15 tatami Japanese style room. It was so nice to be out of the cold and wet and into this nice and warm place. There was an enclosed balcony which overlook the beautiful Japanese garden on ground floor. They served us snacks and green tea as soon as we entered our room. The girl who showed us around, I think she was called Nagahama, was very nice and spoke excellent English.

There were two toilets, a big bath room with shower facilities and two sinks. Very adequate for 4 of us. We had everything we needed. Of course our luggage was all there, delivered with no fuss whatsoever.

Before we arrived they had emailed and asked us whether we would like to have dinner and breakfast in our own room or in a private room in the dining room. My family are not keen to eat in the room so I asked for the private room. It was the correct move as the restaurant is very nicely decorated and the private room offered proper table and chairs which my dad prefers.

Dinner, this really was the highlight of our trip. We had a long menu and the food just kept coming and very delicious. Crab legs, chawanmushi, sashimi, fukui rice, shabu shabu, you name it. We had so much good food my sister, normally a big eater, passed on the bbq fish. My father ate so much he could not move and slept at 9pm prompt.

The onsens were great. The real gems were the two outdoor barrels. The cold weather outside with the hot springs water was a perfect match. I could get used to that!

Next morning we all over slept due to over eating. The hotel had to call us to come down for breakfast. We went down as quick as we could and ate some more good food. We then checked out at 10am.

We really loved it here. I don't think we would visit if we did not rent a car, as it seems like a rather remote place. But if you have the transport means, then this is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main block are big enough to sleep 4 or even 5 people. You can bath in the onsens, there are two toilets and two sinks in each room, so don't worry about 4 or 5 people sharing a room. It is common in Japan and it will most likely work out cheaper for you.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was my second stay for a couple nights at this hotel this year. I was in a Japanese Western room on the new annex with a Japanese living room and a western bedroom with twin beds. Very spacious for a couple. This is probably hot spring hotel at its best. Each room is designed differently and thoughtfully. There is a hot spring bath in each room. It is really convenient to take a hot spring bath when compared with going to the public bath. I did it four times a day.

There is free Internet in the room, and the audio visual system is nice. There is even a massage chair in the bedroom!

The Japanese banquets were great. There were dishes specially created for the hot summer. The seafood was seasonal. Live fishes were shown to us before they were prepared. The raw sea urchin (uni sashimi) was really fresh.

Ladies should ask for Japanese banquet dresses rather than wearing the Japanese bath robes found in the room for the banquets. The banquet dresses are very colorful and in many different colors.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Love this place!
If you are looking for a ryokan experience, this is a good place to go. Unlike some Ryokan that may be old, this ryokan keeps its rooms clean and the facilities are new. The rooms are also huge.Out of the more than 8 ryokans I have stayed, this is the only one that has a nicely dressed lady to come in and make tea for you after your check in.
My favourite would have to be the view from the room. It faces the rice field and simple gives you a sense of tranquility. I even made a special effort to wake up earlier just to sit beside the window to enjoy the view. There are 2 chairs and a little table placed nicely at the window , actually, that part of the room is a balcony within the room. The tea lady brought our tea to the little table, and we just sat there , sipping the tea, nibbling the snack, totally immersing in the quiet ambience.
Food is fantastic too.
Just a gentle reminder: my mum, a senior citizen requested for a bed instead of tatami. She was put in a room catered more for the disabled. They had railings and supports and huge toilets, These would generally allow greater ease for the movement of a person on a wheel chair. However, my mum being very mobile and healthy, did not enjoy being in the room, as it reminded her more of a hospital than a nice hotel.
My strong recommendation is to stick with the traditional rooms and enjoy !

Room Tip: request for room with a view of the rice field.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yapnelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews