We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for golfers, good bar food, clean , friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
London UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great base for golfers, good bar food, clean , friendly.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

First tip is to search the web for the best price, found £89 a night vs £178 on hotel site. Bar is welcoming after a day of golf, good bar menu, restaurant not over fussy, staff were all very helpful. Room was big enough with very good bathroom. All round would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you JSMLondonUK for your recent review, your helpful comments are greatly appreciated and future guests would find them useful.

In reference to the costs you mention we actually use a channel management system that ensures rates are matched across the various websites we sell via, I can only assume that the search that presented £178 had in fact looked at a 2 night stay by mistake (£89 x 2).

I do hope that you will come to visit the resort again very soon and take advantage of some of the great offers we currently have in place.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    373
    204
    169
    119
See reviews for
357
546
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, Sun-Wed. At check-in we were warned not to leave any golf equipment in car as vans drive in, load up and go (glad of this advice after reading earlier post)! The hotel facility is lovely, great swimming pool, beautiful grounds. Our room was lovely with fabulous views. I would say the staff are pleasant and try hard but are very young and/or lack leadership and training, this was evident throughout.
We used all facilities:-
Spa - treatments were good, staff lovely but spa rooms are in corridor used as thoroughfare by guests so can be noisy when having treatments.
Golf - the 18 hole course was good but would play better in the summer months, the par 3/9 hole course was great fun and a real challenge in the wind,also good practise facilities available.
Restaurant - this had a lovely atmosphere and food in general was fine but it depended on what choice you made and what time you ate, also, when busy whether at breakfast or dinner the staff were not able to cope at all, again all very young and seemed inexperienced.
In our opinion this Resort has fabulous potential if management took a more active role in staff leadership (i see this has been mentioned a few times on TA) - during our stay we did not see any management.
Also, little courtesies make a difference - like asking if we needed a hand with luggage on arrival and departure, not addressing guests as love or dear, asking if we enjoyed our stay on departure! All are usually standard practise.

Room Tip: Room with golf course view - beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModernMillie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear ModernMillie11,

Thank you for your recent review, it's always good to hear feedback from our guests as this helps us to continually improve the level of service we offer in the future.

I've checked with the receptionist on duty during your check in and she did recall you had asked about the recent issue regarding a theft from the Resort car park so she of course confirmed that luggage is best stored within the privacy of your bedroom. When building the Hotel the bedrooms were designed to be larger than average in order to accommodate golf bags, trollies and the additional luggage that comes along with a golf break.

I'm glad you found the PAR 3 course so enjoyable, guests often remark that it's much more difficult than they had anticipated and opt to play it more than once.

I have passed on your comments on to the team here at the Resort so they can address the areas you felt needed further attention.

Once again thanks for taking the time to out together your feedback, I do hope that you will choose to visit us again and experience the Resort at its best.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here Dec 2011 - on arrival we left our luggage in secure room and went off to spa - had lovely lunch and treatment. We arrived back at reception at 6pm - informed our luggage will have been taken up to our room. On arrival at the room our luggage was nowhere to be seen - reception checked every room in hotel. One and half hours later we were told that our bags had inadvertently gone to Sheffield with a golf trip! As we only had our gym stuff. We decided to cut our losses and go home. Despite the mix up the reception staff and management were lovely and we were refunded and told if we rebooked we would get good deal.

We returned in March. We were upgraded and got a really good deal. I have to say the staff from reception/spa/restaurants are so welcoming and friendly. The spa treatment was lovely. The food in bistro at lunch and in restaurant for dinner and breakfast was fabulous.

I would definitely go back here.

Top tips. Label your luggage very clearly!
Book spa well in advance to get good times to suit you.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_asparagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear ruby040404,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Formby Hall Golf Resort and Spa. It's great to read your feedback.

Firstly may I apologise once again for the mix up during your original visit in December 2011, I can assure you that this is highly unusual! I'm glad that your second visit to us proved how great the Resort and its staff are. The food, service, golf courses, spa and leisure facilities are second to none and we are very proud of what we have to offer.

I do hope that you will come back to visit us again very soon, we currently have some fantastic special offers available for stays until the end of July if you book before the 14th May 2012.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we went to Formby Hall Easter weekend on a Sunday driver golf trip 8 golfers 8 non golfers we arrived and could not check in understandable at 11 am that we could not have our rooms but still checked in so the accounts could be opened on the rooms for the Ladies to enjoy the leisure facilities only to find out there was a problem and all was not good after sorting this problem they eventually got it right after a lot of buggering about. Then we had already pre-ordered our meals as requested due to being Easter weekend and the kitchen being busy so we had obliged when we got there at 11 am, not eating till 8.30. we arrived down in the restaurant bar at 8 pm for a sitting at 8.30 when a member of staff informed me that we were being seated in the 19th hole bar and not the restaurant, I wouldn’t have minded had we all been golfers and going out after but we had the wives with us and was specifically told by the booking operator we were in the restaurant . she went and got the manager to try and sort it who was rather aggressive at first saying all golfing parties were in the 19th hole , this wasn’t true as there was lots of golfers even all male parties in the restaurant so we waited nearly and hour and half to be seated they did provide a complimentary drink as a apology but this was getting later and later then they came and said they had ran out of puddings which we had pre-ordered not good really the food was good and the hotel lovely but the levels of service not that good since we have come home there has been no contact from the management apart from a sorry we should re train the staff overall a good weekend but we have had better service for the same money

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticker7314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Ticker7314,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry that the level of service you experienced was not of our usual high standard.

Check in at the Resort is from 3pm however we do try to accommodate guests where possible if they arrive earlier, I apologise if this process did not run as smoothly as it should have for you.

As standard procedure we do ask that groups of 16 or more people pre-order their evening meals, this ensures that the service can run smoothly for all concerned. There is no excuse as to why your choice of dessert was no longer available for you and the Food & Beverage team have been spoken with regarding the matter.

In relation to your comments regarding the 19th Hole I can advise that you stayed with us during a set period in which we were trialling the use of the 19th Hole as a dining area for large golf based groups. After this brief period it was decided that this practice was unsuccessful so we have now reverted back to accommodating all groups in the Restaurant unless they request otherwise.

Once again I apologise for the unfortunate drop in service levels you received, I hope that you will choose to visit us again in the future so we can prove that this was below our usual standards.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very good hotel, ideal for playing golf in the surrounding area.Hotel has it's own good golf course and an excellent 9 hole par 3 course. Very good practice and driving range facilities.Rooms excellent with bath and seperate large walk in shower. Service was very good. We ate in private rooms and the food was good. We did not use the main restaurant so cannot comment. Breakfast was OK , if you wanted non english then the variety was OK not brilliant. Good spot for driving into Southport 10 mins.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are of a similar standard. Large withh all facilities. Large bath and seperate l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a3whd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your informative review, your kind comments are very much appreciated and will be very helpful to future guests choosing to visit the Resort.

As you mention we are an ideal base if you wish to play some of the fantastic courses in the area, we can actually put together tailor made golf tours for guests who need help in planning such trips.

Our 9 hole PAR 3 course is a unique inland links course that proves challenging for those who choose to play it, many guests are often surprised at just how challenging it is! We do also offer some fantastic deals for this course.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort very soon!

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formby
8.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,835 reviews
8.0 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,144 reviews
8.0 km away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
17.6 km away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
3,050 reviews
11.9 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#40 of 97 in Liverpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Formby Hall Farm Southport Old Road, Formby L37 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Formby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,816 - ₹ 17,246
Hotel Class:4 star — Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 200 acres of parkland, at the heart of England’s Golf Coast, Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa offers the definitive 4* golf resort, luxury spa and hotel experience. We have 7 luxury treatment rooms, including 1 triple & 2 doubles, available for massages and treatments such as wraps and facials, manicures and pedicures by Leighton Denny all carried out by our highly trained therapists. The challenging 72-par Old Course boasts an excellent pedigree and is an established venue on the European Challenge Tour, while the 9-hole par three course has been described as the best in the UK. For corporate golf days, visitor golf open days, weekend golf breaks, golf society days, or even a golf lesson at the UK’s first PGA National Residential Golf Academy, Formby Hall is the ideal place to improve your game. So whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned pro, welcome to pure golf heaven. We have a choice of four purpose built air-conditioned rooms to suit any size meeting or conference. All meeting & conference rooms at Formby Hall can be tailor made to suit your exact requirements by our experienced events team. We can also offer support for any secretarial, travel or equipment services you may require.Stunning location, friendly atmosphere - Formby Hall is the ultimate party venue, whatever the occasion. With a choice of chic function suites we can accommodate virtually any size of event. The dance floor and bar provide plenty of room for guests to mingle, while those wanting a quiet moment can step out onto the balcony and enjoy the panoramic views over the golf course and parkland. But it's about much more than just the setting, it's about the service too. Our dedicated event managers will help you plan your special day down to the last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formby Hall Golf Resort And Spa
Formby Hall Golf Hotel Formby
Formby Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing