We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want to escape look no further”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Cottage

Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper
The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
The open plan kitchen is well equipped
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The twin bedroom overlooks a quiet country lane
The wetroom has a WC, hand-basin and shower
The private garden patio and picnic table - accessed through French doors from the sitting room
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in the late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildlife meadow at the top of Humphrey's hill
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of stunning coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
Play area with two towers, bridge, slide, swing, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skidtrim
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you want to escape look no further”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Apologies for delay in writing our review been meaning to but things kept getting in the way. The wife and I travelled down with a friend and his teenage daughter to escape and recharge the batteries. In the lead up really good communication with John showed they were flexible with arrival times which was appreciated. On our arrival John was painting one of the other properties but welcomed us and gave us the benefit of his local knowledge. Property is very well maintained and equipped. It was so quiet with lovely gardens and there was no phone reception which is exactly what we wanted! Wi-Fi was working in the house so you could contact people if you chose to. Would definitely use again when down that part of the world would thoroughly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you found the peace and quiet that you were looking for in our Cottage.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
default85...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely peaceful holiday in rural surroundings.”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Garden Cottage is a cosy homely place in lovely rural surroundings. Big enough for the four of us and our golden retriever. A smallish garden which could be made larger when the bush by the patio door is cut back. Also the patio door when put on hook managed to unhook and close itself. Think the hook is in wrong place. Minor moans. On the whole we loved the cottage and would definitely book again. The owners, Melanie and John, made us very welcome and were very informative on the area giving us tips on walks etc.

The Black Venus pub a short walk away was a bonus. Good food and very friendly. Also the local store was handy for supplies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: We liked the peaceful location and the pub in walking distance.
Liked least: The weather, but you cant book that unfortunately.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you were comfortable in our Garden Cottage.
The Black Venus and Challacombe Stores are great - just a short walk to both.
We are sorry that you had problems with the door hook, we will fix it ASAP.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Move over Basil, here comes Boris!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Absolutely top place to stay, would recommend Exmoor Cottage Holidays to anyone.
Having visited before it was no surprise to find the cottage immaculate and thoughtfully provisioned with the essentials but the home made scones and cold beers waiting in the fridge were an unexpected bonus! Never seen that before!
Mel and John are the consummate hosts while comic relief is provided by the cranky old maintenance man, Boris, who makes Basil Fawlty seem normal! (Its worth a visit just to see his Mr Angry routine; don't mention the war!!).
All in all a fantastic place to unwind, will be going again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of owners
Liked least: rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you for your humorous but not entirely accurate review. Alas we don't provide beers, scones, or a cranky old maintenance man, but fresh scones and cold beers are available at the shop and pub just a few minutes walk away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighleig...
2 reviews
“Always good here”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thank you enjoyed our short stay, cottage well equiped, very clean all you ask for. We love North Devon this is an excellent base for the area. A big plus a great pub 3 mins walk. Stayed here quite a few times in different cottages , it's great to see the how it's been developed over the years. Thanks again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for your good review. We are very pleased that you are happy with the changes we have made and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citibadge...
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely rural retreat”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My fiancée and I stayed at Garden Cottage this past week. The cottage was lovely, the setting peaceful and relaxing in a little hamlet. The Black Venus pub is only a 5 minute walk away and we had a great lunch there. Lots of walks around the area, Heddons Mouth probably the best place we went to. Central location to lots of places to visit. Very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Heddon's Mouth is an amazing walk, as is the Valley of Rock outside Linton. We are very fortunate to have such a good pub nearby! We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing