We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“NIce place, lots to do”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gatehouse

The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helium6
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NIce place, lots to do”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a very nice time during a week of sun and rain, and left with more things to go back and do next time. Heddon Mouth and Hele Bay beaches strongly recommended, also enjoyed Exmoor Zoo, steam train, Watersmeet and Dunster forest.

Melanie and John are lovely people who put in a lot of effort to help everyone to have the best possible time. The gardens are beautiful, with lots of long grass for insect-hunting. There is a small but well-maintained play area maybe best suited to children age 3-6 - small children could fall so need close supervision.

The Gatehouse is well-equipped and spotlessly clean. There were lots of books (I didn't read any of the ones I packed) and a few games.

I feel bad for apparently being the first to score 4 rather than 5 stars! But 4 stars officially means "very good" and I would give closer to 5 stars for value. The Gatehouse is compact, furnished with an eye to function as much as beauty, and hence good for a family holiday, but less suitable for royalty or other people looking for truly 5 star accommodation. We never used the outdoor seating area, as mostly out or putting children to bed - but a pervasive aroma and hum suggested a septic tank and pump directly underneath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Cookware (hard to cook without burning)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a lovely time in the cottage, grounds and local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles12...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful cottage on Exmoor perfect for our relaxing honeymoon. Great access to North Devon and John could not have been more helpful. Nice local facilities within walking distance if you don't feel like driving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Gatehouse for your Honeymoon and thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidpL18...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy,comfortable well equipped cottage in lovely location.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The gatehouse is a lovely homely cottage with everything one could ask for. Also good dog walking area behind cottages.John and Melanie are very helpful and informative.We had a great week here with so many places to visit with our dog. A big advantage also was the Black Venus Inn only two hundred yards away serving superb food and dog friendly too.
Would certainly recommend this property and location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the walks on Humphrey's Hill and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
England
1 review
“Lovely, well fitted out, cottage”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It is exactly as the owners' description says. They keep the whole place very very well - it is a real taste of rural Devon.

The 'Black Venus' pub, a couple of minutes walk away, is well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank for your good review. We are pleased you like the cottages and grounds, and the Black Venus, and look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly situated,well-equipped and comfy”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 3 days with our daughter, 2 grandchildren and 2 terriers. The cottage is prettily decorated and comfortable with everything we needed supplied and the owners are very friendly and helpful . The children (aged 5 and 7) loved Humphrey's Hill and the play area, and we found ourselves within easy reach of Combe Martin and Lynton/Lynmouth where the children had a great time in the rock-pools and on the beach. Rides on the cliff railway and also on the Woody Bay steam train proved a great hit, as did the Wildlife and Dinosaur Park at Combe Martin. All together a fun-filled half-term break. Plus a special note for adults: food at the nearby Black Venus pub is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are indeed blessed with lots of things to see and do nearby - we are still finding new walks after nearly 20 years! We are also very lucky to have the Black Venus almost on our doorstep. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 90
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing