We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gatehouse

The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cordeliaj...
Wincanton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Brilliant cottage, extremely clean and very tidy, very friendly, cosy and relaxed. We have a dachsund dog and it was great to be able to take him with us too. The dvd did not work after the first dvd so we were brought a new one the very next day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry you had a problem with the DVD player - we only bought it in November! Glad that it didn't affect your stay and we hope to meet you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stew8la
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage, fantastic location.”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed here for two nights with 3 small children and the family border collie. Fantastic drive through the exmoor national park with some stunning views, then to arrive at challacombe. Five holiday cottages in the same grounds but feel miles apart from each other and you don't really notice they are there. Only a 15 min drive to the seaside towns of Combe Martin and ilfracome. The village of challacombe has a small post office/shop and a fantastic pub called the black Venus. Here you will find some great food and beers too! Didn't get chance to meet the owners of the cottage we stayed in, but we will be back! There is something about a nice log fire that really makes you unwind!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are sorry that we didn't manage to catch up with you (we did pop by on Saturday evening but missed you).
We are glad that you were comfortable in the Gatehouse - a log fire is very relaxing.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful and traditional”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here over the new year period of 2014. The location was great and the cottage was inviting and traditional. We took our dog (a cockapoo) and this worked perfectly in the property, with a small private garden area for her to wander around in. The owners were very welcoming, with great advise for places to visit and drives across exmoor.
We ate at the local pub, which was less than 5 minutes walk. Every meal was delightful, living up to the claims of award winning.
The property was clean and well stocked. It was quiet at night, allowing a very peaceful and restful stay.
Our only negative comments would be:-
The shower is not very powerful, to be expected in an older property with it's own water well.
The open fire, although very romantic, didn't give out much heat. There are storage heaters to keep the property warm. Our smaller, although modern wood burning stove at home gives out way more heat than this fire, which appeared to loose its heat up the chimney. So possibly not as cosey snuggled on the sofa as we might have expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the peace and quiet.
The local pub is great, we are very fortunate to have it so near.
We look forward to welcoming you back (and your cockapoo)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two glorious weeks on Exmoor based at the Gatehouse”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was our second visit to Town Tenement Farm - previously we were a larger group and stayed in the Farmhouse which was equally good.
On this visit as there were only two of us plus two dogs we opted for the Gatehouse - which proved to be an excellent choice.
Good standard accommodation throughout and the owners on hand to sort out any small problems.
Will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire in the cool evenings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review - it was nice to welcome you back to Exmoor Cottage Holidays.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

(Again we apologise for the shower fail - and are glad that we were able to replace this quickly for you).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed a truly lovely three night break here. The cottage is very homely and well equipped and was spotlessly clean. The best thing about the stay was John who was an absolute mine of information about what to do and see while we were there. We crammed in as much as possible but will need to return to do the area justice. Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review - we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and found plenty to do - Exmoor really is an amazing place!
We look forward to welcoming you back for your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 89
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing