We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gatehouse

The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colleen T
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a fantastic week here. The cottage was excellent, beautifully decorated, equipped with everything we needed. Even when we forgot our dog bowls they provided them! The grounds we lovely and the location of the cottage within the village was great. A very short stroll to an excellent pub.
Melanie and John were very friendly and helpful with great knowledge of the local area.
Hope to go back when we can

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments.
We are lucky to have such a good pub, just a short walk away and we are glad that you enjoyed our grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumsy2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super holiday cottage”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderful 3 day break in a fantastic location. Cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Owners were really friendly and helpful. I would recommend to anyone who wants a home from home in beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean cottage and friendly owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Thank you for your great review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Gatehouse comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat in a hidden valley”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We only had two nights at the Gatehouse, which was a real shame as the tranquil feel of Challacombe had really started to work its magic by the morning we left, and I wanted to stay longer!
The Gatehouse is a cosy little place, well equipped with everything you'd need. The wood burner really made it for us, and I liked the generosity of offering free logs throughout our stay, not just the one little bag you get in most cottages.
The real draw here is Challacombe itself, a peaceful valley, filled with sounds of the river, bird song and even the occasional frog chorus from the pond! It really felt like we had got away from it all, but as the Gatehouse is part of an old farm (now all holiday cottages) it didn't feel too isolated. Melanie and John have really capitalised on the beauty of the surroundings, with a beautiful pond and even a little hillside walk. During our stay, snowdrops covered the hillside, and dozens of wild birds visited the feeders which hung outside our cottage. Idyllic!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - you will have to stay longer next time! We like to encourage the wildlife - it is good to know our guests enjoy it all.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette E
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

As a family with children (aged 14, 11 and 2), we loved our stay at the cottage. It was clean, tidy and very accommodating - definitely a home from home.

I would definitely recommend a visit to the local pub (delicious food and very friendly staff) and a visit to the local shop (again, really friendly staff).

Apart from the gorgeous walks all around, there isn't a huge amount to do in the immediate vicinity. However, the location of the cottage is very central and everything is very reachable by car.

Whilst my "teenagers" struggled not having the full capacity of their phones, I loved being able to get away from it all! Bliss! Thank goodness for the Wi-Fi - the kids just about survived it.

Not a single bad thing to say about the property. Didn't meet the owners but they had left loads of really useful information handy on the dining table. Also, a lovely idea to leave some essentials such as tea, coffee, milk and toilet roll!

Will definitely be making a return visit - ideally in the spring/summer time.

Thanks for really lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The dishwasher didn't work! Such a tiny thing though - barely worth mentioning!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you and your family 'loved it'.

We are sorry that we did not get to meet you - we usually try to meet each guest personally.
The dishwasher has been fixed - we apologise for any inconvenience.

Exmoor really is beautiful all year round, we hope that you manage another visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, comfortable
Liked least: Chilly first night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay - the weather certainly has been interesting!
We are sorry that your cottage was a bit chilly on your first night - we try to have all the heaters on for at least one day before guests arrive but sometimes previous guests turn the night storage off. We are glad that you soon got the fire going.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing