We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Julia C
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved it! A lovely, simple cottage in a really quiet, beautiful location with excellent pub, good dog walks and local shop all a walk away. Both of us and our dog thoroughly enjoyed our week here. The owners are very helpful and friendly too. We'll be back definitely!

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn F
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, peaceful, ideal location.”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a 3 night night break at the wonderful Wisteria cottage with our dog. Melanie was so welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and places of interest. An ideal base to explore the moors and the coast. The cottage was well equipped for our break with a welcome pack awaiting our arrival. It was a haven for many birds and wildlife. The night skies were fantastic.
The surroundings were so peaceful and relaxing.
Hoping to return in the future.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and in particular the birds and starry skies. We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Really Great Break !!”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just got back from a short break at Wisteria Cottage, and am pleased to report it was all we had hoped for. Light, airy, and flooded with sunshine in the daytime, warm and very cosy in the evenings. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need. The bed was oh so comfy. You had your own little patio and garden, plus a brilliant pub at the end of the road. What more could you want from a holiday cottage in a beautiful part of the country.

Date of stay: March 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for a great review, really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed lucky to have such a brilliant pub so near by. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ziggyRedr...
redruth, cornwall, uk
2 reviews
“Fantastic retreat in the countryside”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed in Wysteria cottage with our 2 dogs for 5 nights and enjoyed the stay very much.It was so quiet and peaceful you could hear the birds singing regularly.There are many walks near the cottage and a fabulous pub 200 metres away.The food there was excellent we ate 4 evenings .Melanie the owner was very helpful and will advise you on anything you may want to know.We would not hesitate upon returning to Wysteria Cottage.

Date of stay: February 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We also like listening to the little birds.
The local walks are great and a meal at the pub a lovely reward.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamTro...
Trowbridge
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just perfect for us!”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for three nights and it was excellent. The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything that we needed . The location was just right - we had our very active Spaniel with us and he loved the walks and the beach at Woolacombe (about 25 minute drive away). The log burner was the perfect compliment to a couple of bottles of wine - we felt almost romantic!

We will stay again when it will be less muddy and we can get out onto Exmoor.

Melanie is a delightful lady and very helpful.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Being on Exmoor and close to the coast is ideal for walks, and the log burner is ideal for evenings in with wine!
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.