We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
The living room with stone inglenook fireplace, bread oven and salt safe The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
The living room with stone inglenook fireplace, bread oven and salt safe
The dining area in the living room
The separate kitchen is very well equipped, including dishwasher, washer, dryer, etc.
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The second bedroom can be a king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The third single bedroom
Bathroom with bath, WC and shower cubicle
Path to rear garden - the pergola supports a magnificent white Wisteria
Rear enclosed private garden with impressive dry-stone walling and built-in bench
Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
Inglenook Cottage from the car park
The pond is a perfect place to relax and watch the wildlife (e.g. frogs, newts and dragonflies)
There are loads of butterflies on site in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from Humphrey's Hill
The cottages seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of amazing coastal walks
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has plenty of wildlife, including wild horses, deer, goats and birds of prey
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SimonB610
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Inglenook is a really nice place to stay with a great old world feel to it but with all that you would expect from a holiday cottage TV/DVD, WiFi, washer, dryer, dishwasher etc. The cottage is set in really nice grounds with lots to see. Melanie and John were really welcoming. We had a great stay. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the building
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We have tried to keep as many original features within Inglenook Cottage as possible, while having the comforts of modern life - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandKadve...
Berkeley, Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“..........and relax”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Absolutely would not hesitate to stay here again. We stayed at Inglenook only for the weekend but wished we had booked longer. It's so peaceful there with lovely grounds to stroll around, the cottage was well equiped and of a good standard. We did a couple of local walks with the dog and scenery is just lovely. We'll definitely be back! thanks Jon and Melanie for your lovely welcome and all your help, we have wonderful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, so you can explore some more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alimartyn
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I can't recommend this cottage highly enough. We had a four night stay and it was perfect. It was the ideal location for a walking holiday, our young Springer Spaniel was made to feel more then welcome, she and the children loved the grounds. Even though dogs are welcome the cottage is so clean that you would never know that pooches had stayed there. Will definitely be returning one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you, your children and your puppy enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you at Town Tenement Farm again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had a lovely stay at Inglenook Cottage on a very stormy weekend in February. Cosy, clean and very well equipped cottage in a beautiful setting. Perfect position for wild and windy walks on Exmoor and later recovery in the nearby Black Venus pub. Excellent spot for star gazing too. We will definitely plan a return visit in the summer for hopefully sunshine and clearer skies.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Thank you for your nice review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, it was quite a blustery weekend!
The dark skies are great for star gazing - we hope you managed to get a clear night.

We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Inglenook Cottage for a windy week in October. It was warm and cosy. We did get out for a few walks but the cottage, although small, was a lovely place to shelter from the storms. Great fire and plenty of wood and kindling. And it was great for our dog (as long as we could keep her off the lounge carpets!). There is a lovely quick walk attached to the cottages. John and Melanie were around throughout the week and very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Dogs are very welcome in the lounge in Inglenook and most of our guests bring towels, blankets and bedding for their dogs' comfort. Some prefer their dogs to stay in the kitchen, which has a vinyl floor. Next time you may wish to consider the Farmhouse, it is even more spacious than Inglenook and has a stone floor in the lounge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing