We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
207
153
49
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
153
49
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bath japanese breakfast train station an option japanese summer onsen hotel traditional ryokan men and women seafood free shuttle rice guest rooms izu peninsula surfers baths taxi beach
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Onsen only:
We did the private onsen for one hour and it was amazing. The onsen was a perfect temperature and the room to get ready in was great. The shower and shampoos were excellent.
The view over the beach was amazing

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

This was my first stay at Shimoda Yamatokan. The access was easy, close to city center. The guestroom was large with nice view of the beach and ocean. Our room had private onsen bath on the balcony that made our stay more special. The bathroom was spacious and our room also offered a nice living room and balcony both facing the ocean.
Food & Beverage was fantastic. They offered private dining room and our meals excellent. There was so much food.
The overall staff service was great. I could tell that the hotel spent time training staff and focusing on good customer service.
I noticed some areas of wear and tear but I rate this hotel high because I noticed that they went into great extent to think about overall customer experience and the staff delivered.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FunToTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. It was a awesome stay. We had a room with private onsen. The room was spacious enough with a stunning seaview. Not only the seaview was stunning but also the beautiful tranquil beach and sea breeze. The BBQ dinner was delicious with good seafood except the lobster was a little less fresh. I regretted that we had too short stay and the weather was not good the other day so we didn't have chance to go for a beach walk. The service was excellent too. Next time may come back in summer time. Definite recommend .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Siuting M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Shimoda Yamatokan for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week trip to Japan. Having visited cities we craved some r&r and through a bit of pre-trip research found the area of Shimoda to be exactly what we were after - a secluded haven just 3hrs by train away from the energy of Tokyo.

If all you want to do is relax then this place is ideal. If you want to venture away from the hotel you may struggle as the area isn't really set up for that.

From the moment we arrived via the free hotel shuttle bus direct from Izukyū-Shimoda train station the staff welcomed us warmly and spoke good English whilst being appreciative of our attempts at basic Japanese (hello/thank you etc...) on arrival we were given a brief orientation of the accommodation and issued with our Yukatan's. We opted for the Ryokan room and Japanese breakfast & dinner package which was great - you have to go with it and be happy to eat fish and rice for breakfast to get that authentic experience!

All rooms have a view of the gorgeous sandy beach which was constantly being surfed on throughout the day. The hotel also offers private onsen (Japanese bathing baths) which can be booked and paid for at the front desk each day - we opted for these rather than the free gender split public ones situated on the top floor.

We got the impression that this is where Japanese people come to unwind and that was something that appealed to us - as a result we were pretty much the only westerners on site.

Great stay and a great addition to the end of our 2 weeks in Japan.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andrewdfwalker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for a hotel with view and access of one of the beaches in Shimoda, then this one is worth a try.

What comes with that though is some challenges with location because while it is about 10 minutes away from the train station, you'd have to pass through several tunnels that walking is not an option (at least as how I imagined it). It offers free shuttle but with a given sched of course (to station in the morning and back to hotel in the afternoon until 5) and while there's a bus stop few minutes from hotel, it's rather limited especially at night. (For instance, leaving past 8, you would have to take a taxi for around 1200 yen)

There are also no restaurants / bars nearby but what I like most is how they were honest upfront about this. (I emailed them for instructions and was given FYI)

Location challenges aside though, the place offers comfort of rooms with futons and seaview, crew who will patiently try best to explain to you most important information and chance at experiencing onsen whether inhouse or on open with a lovely view of the sea.

For someone like me who is used to hostels, price can be higher than range but this is still relatively cheaper than most hotels in the area. There are guesthouses in another area in Shirahama Beach that you may check out if you give more weight in affordability.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank TengCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews