We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cabin Getway Off the Beaten Path”
Review of Red Cloud Ranch

Red Cloud Ranch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Cloud Ranch
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This ranch is situated back in a valley, backing up to the Carson National Forest. With 220 acres there is plenty of space to explore on this working ranch with a variety of open fields and wooded forests. You can tell they've done a lot of work on the ranch to make it visitor friendly with all the cleared trails that included interpretive signs along the way displaying lots of interesting information. Wildlife and birds are plentiful to admire. Excellent hot breakfast is served every morning in the main cabin along with great conversation with Stevie and Ken. They have 2 cabins available with sleeping accommodations for 4 each. Finishing off each evening in the hot tub gazing at the stars was pretty nice. Their location is close to Taos to spend day trips enjoying other sights and activities and then return to Red Cloud Ranch to finish the day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We were looking for a place to stay where my 11 year old could see stars like she had never seen before. We picked Red Cloud Ranch because it was remote and away from the hustle and bustle of Taos. Situated way back from the main road up on a hillside with lovely marked hiking trails, Red Cloud Ranch is an oasis.

If you are looking for privacy, peace and quiet, fresh mountain air, and natural surroundings, this is the place to go. It is a real working ranch with cattle and horses. Elk, mule deer, chipmunks, hawks, and other wildlife are around, and if you're a bird watcher you will see plenty of smaller songbirds.

The cabin we stayed in was beautiful, with a pine bunk bed that every child will go wild over, and beautiful southwestern decor and artwork. It was homey, comfortable, and spacious complete with everything we needed. If you've been to a lot of B&B's you have probably seen some that are over the top decorated, or really overly plush, but that's not the case here. It's a beautifully maintained log cabin in the woods on a mountain, and the decor reflects the serenity of the outdoors. I absolutely loved it! It has a picture window that looks out onto a pond, beyond which is a mountain in the distance that had some snow on it even in August.

The owners are welcoming, helpful, wonderful to talk to, and can provide all sorts of information about the area and about ranching in general. The breakfasts are healthy, delicious,and generous, and the cookies and brownies that Stevie baked for us in the afternoon were devoured with delight. We very much enjoyed getting to know Stevie and Ken and spent quite a while with them every morning at breakfast. They are wonderful hosts!

We visited during August in the monsoon season, so we had thunderstorms both days and clouds at night. Alas, we only got to see some of the magnificent stars, but just the same, as another reviewer mentioned, waking up to glistening trees was a treat. It is a bit of a drive to get into Taos, so you want to plan your day accordingly, and watch out for deer when you return at night. You do need to take a dirt road to get to the ranch, and you'll cross cattle guards and go through some fences, which for us, was a positive addition to the whole ranch experience. It threw us a little at first, being east-coasters used to way too much asphalt and congestion, but we got
used to it in a jiffy.

We stayed 2 nights, but I could easily envision staying longer since there is a lot to do in Taos. Even if you're just there to hike in the forest or catch up on reading, this is an excellent place to decompress. No wifi, so don't go there expecting to bury your head in a computer or cell phone. Go there to smell the air, listen to the forest, and experience unspoiled nature. It's great for the soul.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Looking to escape the relentless Texas heat and drought for a few days, we found RCR online and headed north with a bullet! It rained the evening we arrived, which was like manna from heaven to us -- it literally could have rained all day and night the entire trip and we would have been all too happy to cozy up inside! We awoke our first morning to dripping trees and sunlight -- absolutely stunning through the windows in every wall.

The guest house is immaculately clean, and reveals thoughtful touches everywhere -- from the New Mexican tile spa shower, plentiful hot water, organic soaps and crisp linens, luxurious robes for all three of us, and well-placed hooks and pegs throughout for towels, jackets, etc. Owners Stevie and Ken were delightful and interesting company -- unobtrusive, helpful, and especially kind to our 4-year-old son, who loved going to "the breakfast cabin" each morning to see them. Stevie treated us all to wonderful, healthy food each morning, with a full pot of coffee and fresh juices. We were spoiled, without feeling fussed over. It was like visiting good friends. If you are looking for a relaxing place to spend a few days and refresh, this is it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lleebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

If you want a secluded place to rest and still be only 12 miles from Taos, this is the place. This is a very private place with 200 acres to hike and walk. Great views of cattle and horses, with occasional bear sighting. We saw elk every morning and evening driving to and from the ranch. The food is excellent and Stevie the owner and host is extremely friendly and helpful. I can't wait for my next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyomingEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Cloud Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cloud Ranch

Address: of Valle Escondido Rd, Valle Escondido, NM 87571
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Valle Escondido
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Escondido
Price Range: ₹ 7,129 - ₹ 7,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open summers only. Retreat on 220 acres 16 miles east of Taos, NM; bordered by Carson National Forest. Running streams, pond, pastures, forest, wildflowers, interpretive nature trails. Organic breakfasts. Hike and mountain bike from your door. Halfway between Taos and Angel Fire, NM. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing