We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
4
10
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
10
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2015

In the north part of Ya'an, close to the tourist bus station (5 minutes walk) and the riverside, Sage hotel is clean and confortable. 149RMB for a double room (try bragain less!) with chinese breakfast. Quiet place and located in a busy street full of restaurants. Good location to get minivans to Bifenxia panda base or Shangli

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Iuiliain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I completely agree with some of the other reviews that this is a very good hotel for the price. If they only used the vacuums in the storage closets, I would definitely give it 4 stars.

We booked their biggest room with the hopes that we could put our 4 year old in the extra room, but it just wasn't possible given the amount of dirt and garbage around the walls and under the chairs and bed. We tried to move the beds together to make one giant california king, but the overwhelming buildup of peanut shells and discarded wrappers kinda grossed us out.

We thought that maybe it was a little of an oversight, so we had the room cleaned the next morning, but all the cleaning staff did was make the beds and change the towels- very clean towels by the way. All of the wrappers and nut shells still remained. I got a bit grumpy so I broke down and stole the vacuum from the maids quarters and cleaned up the mess myself.

There is a photo on multiple websites of what the rooms look like, but it certainly isn't up to date. The rooms are a bit run down, missing misc. pieces of wood with a few holes in walls. Our room had the extra addition of a wet floor near the entrance to the bathroom which stained the floor black. We just covered it up with a stolen towel to not soak our socks.

Even with all my complaints, this is one of the least expensive hotels in all of Ya'an. They have wifi and a computer, A/C, hot water, teapot and comfy pillows. The breakfast which comes with the room is good. Hard boiled eggs, bread, your typical chinese style breakfast. No complaints there.

Checkin and checkout were easy. If they just cleaned the darn rooms they would have a gem.

Room tip: The large suites have Mahjong tables and an extra bathroom, but are a bit smoky.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happiestbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed in the Business Standard Room (Room 8318) at RMB188 per night in early Dec 2012 and was pleasantly surprised by the standards and service quality it offered. We will highly recommend budget-conscious traveler to consider this hotel should they visit Ya'an. However, take note that we have booked the more expensive Business Standard Room. I can't comment on the hotel's other normal "Standard Room".

Plus points
1. Room is clean and spacious. At RMB188 (breakfast included) per night, it is indeed value-for-money.

2. Room equipped with PC (headphone included), LCD TV.

3. Comfortable beds with extra China-made blanket which came in real handy. Heater within room was working fine.

4. Functional bathroom with toiletries provided. Clean and good quality towels. Reliable hot-water supply.

5. Spread of breakfast was one of the best throughout the hotels that we stayed in our 15-day Sichuan trip.

6. Hotel staff was courteous. Note that we can speak Mandarin and as such, communicating with them was not a problem.

7. Location of hotel is quite convenient. We had our dinner (cheap and good at RMB130 for 9 of us) at a restaurant within 1 min walk away. One pharmacy outlet and a departmental store are both within 3-5 min walk.

8. The other family which travelled with us, left their handphone in the room after check-out and only realized it about 6 hours after we had checked out. Fortunately, we were still touring parts of Ya'an then. Our hired local driver called the hotel and was informed that they had found the handphone. We subsequently returned to the hotel to pick it up.

Minus points
Really, nothing to fault the hotel about.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brastilava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 19 September 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 November 2011
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews