We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Kos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

First off let me say that I have travelled to Kos about 8 or 9 times with my parents. My aunt lives here so i know the island quite a bit. We previously stayed at many different hotels (Horizon Beach, Gaia Palace, visited Neptune etc. etc.). This was our first trip alone to Kos (Me and my girlfriend) and she's never been so I wanted to pick the perfect hotel for this trip.

I wanted to have a Hotel directly at a sandy beach with big pools modern accomodations.

We arrived at the Hotel at 9.30 p.m..
They told us we could grab a bit to eat a the buffet and check in later which was perfect because we were hungry after the flight.
Back at the reception everything was ready and they gave us a quick tour of the facilities.

ROOM We booked a Junior Suite with Balcony because of the Jacuzzi you get on the Balcony.
The Suite is stunning. You have a living room with 2 sofas a tv, stereo/dvd-system and direct acces to the balcony with the jacuzzi. Then you have a bedroom with a king size bed another tv and access to balcony nr. 2 which has a table and 4 chairs an a view of the ocean. The bathroom has a massage shower two sinks and a separate room for the toilet.

POOLS
The pools are the most impressing feature of the Hotel. There is the Main Pool which is 3500 m2 and always as clean as it gets. Then for the Junior Suites theres another pool directly in front of these 10 units. You have direct access from the ground floor suites to this pool. There were never more than 8 people at our pool so never a problem to get one of these comfy loungers.

BEACH
The Beach is privat for Palazzo guests only. It's nice soft sand and you even have drink/food service there. One thing you should no about Kos is that it is quite windy. So you may find it a bit chilli even in the Summer (August). It was no problem for me but my girlfriend complained 2 days when it was really windy.

FOOD
There are 2 Restaurants. The Buffet and the Italien one Bacco. You get one dinner per week free at Bacco if you're on halfboard. The Buffet was very good. Maybe not as much choices but the quality is what makes it that good. Always diffrent meats (including Roastbeef) some typical Greek dishes and always Pasta. For Lunch you either eat at Bacco (most of the guests) or you can get a Crepe at the Creperie.

BARS
There's the Lounge Bar at the Reception and there's the Poolbar. At the Poolbar there's once a day happy hour i recommend you get your drinks then because otherwise it's quite expensive. There were never much people at the bar in the evening because. So if there's a minus i would say it's that in the evening there's nothing to do.

I would say that the Palazzo is probably the best 5* Hotel in Kos. It exceeds the Neptune, Porto Bello Royal etc.
However i would not recommend it to familys or people who want to meet new people. It's perfect for a couples vacation where you want nothing to do but relax.

Room Tip: I highly reccomend the Junior Suites with Balcony. I would not go for the ground floor junior suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Heise69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 347 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at the Palazzo Del Mare for the last two weeks of August 2011 and honestly this hotel is truly fantastic, one of the best 5 star's we have stayed at and we have travelled the world to many destination.

We arrived at the hotel late evening and we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very spacious, modern and so very very clean with immaculate gardens and grounds.

Our room was located on the 2nd floor with plenty of space for myself, husband and our 4 year old son. The beds are very comfortable and bathroom was large, we also had plenty of space to hang and store our clothes. When we return to the hotel, we will book a room with direct access to the swimming pool, so if you haven’t already booked your room make sure you book one of these rooms.

The restaurant was lovely, we used to eat a touch later after the rush in the evening about 9pm and sit toward the back of the restaurant, the waiters treated us so well. The food was excellent and so very varied with the most divine desserts.

As this is a 5 star hotel the entertainment was perfect, just as it should be! A band played in the evening for background music in the outside bar area, such a lovely relaxing end to the day whilst slipping cocktails.

The pool is the largest I have ever seen and was never busy so you could always get sunbeds whatever time of day. The hotel also owned a part of the beach, with its own sunbed and waiter service.

We decided to hire a jeep for a few days and travelled the island to lovely beaches and taverns. Also had a couple of trips to Kos town, which is buzzing and vibrant, this is a must do. Once the jeep went back we caught the bus at the bottom of the hotel gardens opposite the beach and this took us straight into Kos town, the buses went hourly and was a great service.

This hotel is a real treat and so very relaxing we loved it, it was perfect. If you haven’t book you will not be disappointment I can guarantee.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank witneyoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Palazzo Del Mare on 22nd June for two weeks and I can honestly say that it was the best holiday we have ever had (we are fortunate to have several holidays a year).

This is a lengthy review split into sections – but hopefully you will find it useful.

Reception

The reception is a large spacious area with a check-in area on your left as you walk in. There are always several staff behind the desk all of which speak good English. Check in was completed in under one minute – we had filled in check-in details on line prior to our arrival to avoid filling in forms at the hotel. You can do this on the hotel website before travel. After check-in, we were handed a glass of sparkling wine and sat down on some very comfy day sofas overlooking the fantastic pools. We were then taken on a tour of the hotel and showed the key areas before being taken to our room. Within 5 minutes of being in our room, our luggage was delivered by a golf buggy.
Also at Reception there is a small car hire desk which we found fairly competitive compared to other local companies. There is also a small ‘Customer Relations’ desk where you will usually find Vicky – she is very helpful and if you ever need anything, she can make it happen!

The Grounds

The grounds of the hotel are truly five stars – there is a small army of cleaners who every morning are cleaning and polishing every inch of glass (and there is a lot of glass in this hotel!) as well as maintaining the flower beds and trees etc. There is another small group of cleaners who spend all morning cleaning the pool area and always ensuring all public areas are always spotless. The hotel is truly spotless and genuinely looks as good as the pictures in the brochure.

The Rooms

There are 175 fully air-conditioned rooms in the hotel – majority of which are split over two floors. The rooms were split into 5 areas - we stayed in area 2. We also opted for a standard room with Direct Pool Access and it was well worth the upgrade. Our room consisted of a large open-plan modern room, a modern shower and separate toilet. There were also two sinks – ‘his’ and ‘hers’. The room was tiled floor and painted walls all in neutral colours.

Our room had twin beds pushed together as a double and was extremely comfortable. The bedding and sheets were extremely high quality and were changed as often as requested. There was a 19 inch flat screen TV mounted into the central desk area next to a large built in mirror. There were 2 large built in wardrobes and some built in draws the bottom of them. The was another built in wardrobe with shelves in and another wardrobe with a mini bar / kettle / coffee etc. The mini bar is slightly pricey – but no more than any other five star hotel around the world and on most evenings someone would knock on the room to see if we needed anything re-filled. The safe is free of charge to use.

There were dressing gowns as well as slippers in the rooms as well. There were several drawers in the desk as well as well as two bed-side cabinets. The only items this room was missing was a full length mirror and an iron. The room had large sliding patio doors that led onto our own private terrace with direct access to the pool. There was also a fly/mosquito screen so you could leave your door open (though remember that you can only have your air-conditioning on with the doors closed!). On our terrace we had two sun loungers and a sun shade, with steps into the pool.

The room was cleaned every morning and toiletries replaced etc, the cleaners even swept the patio. As a tip, do take an a mosquito plug – I got bitten a lot (but I think that was from being outside in the evening – we had a plug-in inside the room and didn’t seem to get bitten inside).

We only had two problems during our entire stay – (1) the lock on the toilet door got stuck – this got sorted very quickly by one of the maintenance men (often referred to as ‘one of the boys’). There was no problem of getting stuck in the toilet, you just couldn’t get in! The only other issue we had was the batteries in the safe came lose after my other half closed it too hard (although she denies this). The maintenance man was around in under five minutes of reporting it.

Pools

The pools are truly amazing – they are huge! The one to the right is slightly longer and you can swim between the two. The water was always warm and they were always spotlessly clean. There were always plenty of sun-beds to go around – whatever time of the day largely as people with direct pool access rooms tended to sit on their terraces. The one thing you will note when around the pool is just how few English / British people there are at the hotel (out of our entire plane, it was only us and one other couple staying here!) There were hardly any children here and the ones that were here, were so well behaved. Even in high season when the hotel was full it never felt busy.

You each get a pool towel on arrival that you can change at the Gym desk whenever you require so no need to bring your own.

Snack Bar

There is a snack/pool bar called ‘Sole Bar’ – This is a small bar where you can have a light bite to eat or a nice relaxing drink. The food was fantastic – I can highly recommend the Greek Salad, Pizza and the Club Sandwiches. Typical lunch for two including a drink each would be c.25 Euros. The staff are all so friendly here and will go out of there way to help you. The Pool Bar menu is available from Noon – 5pm (however after 3pm,only the ‘light snacks’ are available. Opposite the Pool Bar is ‘Bacco’ – in here they serve the same food as the Pool Bar but is often under more shade. In the evening, Bacco is a formal sit-down restaurant where you have to book in advance. No booking is required for lunch.

Restaurant

The main restaurant Sogno is next to reception, where breakfast and dinner are served. Breakfast is from 7 to 10 am and Dinner from 7 to 10 pm. At breakfast one of the waiters will come to the table and take your order for tea/coffee etc, which they will bring to the table. The breakfast is buffet style with plenty to choose from: fresh juice, cereal, pastries, fruit, fried breakfast all excellent quality.

Dinner follows a similar arrangement, a waiter will come for drinks orders which you can either pay in cash for or charge to your room. Again there are plenty of options including several different types of fresh fish and meat which are delicious.

Crepe Bar
The crepe bar is next to the shop underneath the restaurant. Here you can get a ‘lighter’ lunch of a crepe or waffle with sweet or savoury options. We only discovered it towards the end of our stay but would definitely recommend.

Entertainment

The entertainment is befitting of a 5 star hotel. Most evenings there is a gentleman playing the piano and guitarist playing in the bar accompanied by a singer. The main hotel band were called KID. They were truly amazing and a real highlight of our holiday. I hope they will be there when we return next year. They play a mix of songs from all decades – and we found it great entertainment. On Mondays there is a greek night with specialist dancing. If you are looking for lively bars/clubs or children’s entertainment then this probably isn’t the hotel for you.

Staff
The staff were fantastic - they constantly worked with a smile on their faces and I never saw them standing around idle. Most speak excellent English and will go out of their way to help you.

Beaches
To get to the hotel beach you need to walk past the pool bar to the gate and cross the quiet road. At the beach there are plenty of sunbeds for Palazzo residents and there is a “Beach boy” who will fetch you a drink from the pool bar if required. As by the pool periodically one of the staff will come around with a tray of water-melon for refreshment.

Airport
Kos airport is small – very small; however this has some benefits as coming in our luggage was very quick to appear unlike at Gatwick. When leaving we made sure that we were at the airport when check-in opened, I did hear some people on the plane home complaining that they had needed to queue outside in the heat as once the queues form there is little space inside the building.

There are a couple of shops and cafes in the airport but as above it is small so I wouldn’t expect to do a lot of shopping here.

Gym and Spa
There is a small gym in the hotel that I used most days (usually after the sun had gone down) – all the equipment is new and well maintained. The gym is very small, however; I never saw more than three people in it so it was never ‘busy’. The Gym and spa is looked after by Desi – she is a true star and a real asset to the hotel. We didn’t use the Spa but they appeared to have a good menu of treatments at reasonable prices

Shop
There is a shop at the hotel where you can buy newspapers, water, fizzy drinks, snacks, inflatables for the pool, souveniers, cigarettes with all the usual recognisable brand names. The water in the shop is expensive though at 4/5e per bottle for Evian, there is a hypermarket a 10 minute walk away (turn right out of the gate by the beach) where you can get bottled water for 50 cents per bottle!

Car Hire
We hired a car for 7 days from Avis (booked cheap deal online in advance) who are based at the airport. Most places in the island are accessible within 30 mins drive of the hotel so to be honest hiring a car for 3 days should be sufficient for most.

Definitely worth a visit are Ixia (beautiful village up in the mountains with lots of little traditional greek shops) and Mastichari (beautiful beach with sand coves). We also drove around the coast where you can see some beautiful views and small beaches – most of the roads are in good condition.

Other places we visited:
Lido waterpark: This was small but good for a few hours – not sure it is big enough to spend the entire day there though
Bubble Beach: down on the south cost – can get busy so get there early. The water is so warm, clear and has natural bubbles!
Kos Town: historic ruins as you enter the town however the main centre is heavily commercialised, (complete with McDonalds). You can also get the boat to Turkey from here.
Tigkaki & Kardamena: both seaside towns but I thought Marmari was just as nice

Checkout
The hotel will send a copy of your bill the day before checkout which will show any lunches/drinks that you have charged to your room. Personally we found we used little cash when we were there and settled the bill at the end by card so you may not need a lot of change. If you contact reception 30 mins before you wish to depart they will send one of “the boys” to collect your suitcases on a golf buggy – you won’t see anyone dragging a suitcase here!

Overall we had the most fantastic holiday here – you will be treated like a star. Within a week of returning home, we had already booked our 2012 summer holiday here! Book this hotel, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Upgrade to direct pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank lilbear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived late at night to a welcome glass of champagne to drink while reception checked us in. Very organised. We were transported to out room by golf buggy! Nice touch. Waiting for us in the room was more champagne and a selection of food as we had missed dinner. Room spacious and well decorated, very clean, large balcony, free safe and air con. Looking around we would have preferred a ground floor room as all of them went straight out onto the pool from the private terraces. Food was always of good quality and plentiful. Drinks a similar cost to back home. During the day hotel perfect. Stunning pool if a little chilly, fab and plentiful sunbeds, free melon on a morning! The beach is a two minute walk through the grounds and is sandy and clean. I attended the free aquafit and pilates classes which were good fun and created the only real noise in the hotel during the day for all of half an hour in the morning!
So the evenings.... Enjoyed dinner and on the first night enjoyed the singers in the bar. However this entertainment failed to alter all week. The music between acts was great, I wanted it to stay on! Thank god we had the pool table to keep us amused. On our 3rd night we ventured out to Marmari in the hope of finding something a little more lively. After a short walk we arrived in what looked like a ghost town! This was out of season so whether it's usually better I don't know. Our best night was after a straightforward and cheap bus trip to kos town. One benefit of the lack of entertainment was the most sleep I've ever had in a week!
This was a gorgeous hotel and i'm sure many people love it's seclusion and low key entertainment. As a couple in our late twenties we would have liked the option of more on an evening!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jahsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This hotel is outstanding, we have stayed three times, the first shortly after it opened, and then again in 2010, and again this summer. It is a truly 5* hotel, with the small touches making a massive difference.

Getting There / Travel
Kos airport is an experience in itself, its total mayhem but as long as you don't allow it to stress you out, your in it for such a short period of time that its worth it..
Palazzo, was the first drop off from the airport (thomson / first choice) and its the sort of hotel you pull up to and instantly everyone wishes they were staying there!! Its stunning!!

Food and Drinks
We have stayed half board, and full board I would recommend full board as the drinks are quite pricey. You get drinks during lunch and evening meal if you go full board. Make sure you book into the restaurant for an evening meal as the steaks are outstanding, and the service is brilliant.
Food at the main buffet restaurant is a very high standard, and there is always a very large choice, they generally have different themes, Greek night is a really good one.
On an evening the hotel entertainment is not the amazing, but if you walk along to the village (turn right out of the hotel exit near the beach) it takes about 10 - 15 mins to walk along, we would recommend Artemis bar, you get a friendly welcome and great food and drinks at very reasonable prices, plus they have free WIFI. The waiters here are very friendly with lots of handshakes and warm welcomes. If you'd like a change of scene for food, the dishes here are amazing. Don't be put off by the menu with pictures!!
A walk along to the big supermarket is a good idea for snacks, cheaper beer / wine and water. Its not open on a SUNDAY though, and its a fair walk in the heat, (approx 20 / 25 mins) so don't make the mistake we did!!

Trips / Excursions
Don't book in the hotel with your tour operator, Tigaki Tours in the centre of the village are very good, and a fraction of the price for the same trip. We would recommend a couple of different trips.
Zia is amazing there are lots of fab restaurants to eat at and the view is amazing. You can purchase a "transport only ticket" for a few euro, which gives you a lift there and back and gives you a reasonable amount of time to eat, and shop.
Kos Town (on the local service bus) is always good, and cheap. There isnt that much to do in Kos town, and they don't really do a very good job of marketing it, but its a reasonable after noon out.
Three Islands tour is also a good one, great relaxing day, and you get to see some Greek islands that have not been over run with tourism. Watch out for the cheesy euro dance music as you make your way back to Kos Port.

Overall Kos is a great island, and if you like chilling out the Palazzo is a superb hotel, the pools are stunning, the rooms are very high quality and the beach is great. What makes it 5* are the small touches.rooms standards, being able to flush paper down the toilet (only hotel on the island!) the spa, the melon on the beach (brought to your sun lounger), the swim up rooms, the complimentary wine and fruit in your room, the complimentary toiletries, the food, and the fabulous setting.

We will definitely return again..

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are good if you like the pool. 1st floor rooms are good if you prefer the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
13.1 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
8.8 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
18.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,460 reviews
18.5 km away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.5 km away
Casa Cook Kos
Casa Cook Kos
#9 of 15 in Marmari
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
#1 Family Hotel in Marmari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
Price Range: ₹ 10,704 - ₹ 19,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing