We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homey and great location to go and see the whale sharks! Get breakdown on prices of things if on a budget x”
Review of AguLuz Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AguLuz Homestay
Ranked #1 of 6 Donsol B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2012

You are made to feel very welcome here and it is a quirky and relaxed place to stay.
The daughter is especially lovely, so sweet!!
Marilyn is an amazing business woman and is well connected in town. She can arrange the whale shark tours for you and take out any hassle but keep your eye on the running total if you're on a budget as some things are included in the package that you may not want ( ie lunch at P250) There is also Marilyn's service charge. We explained we were on a tight budget and were offered this rate at a discount.
Everyone in the house is very friendly and the room was clean.
Only real complaints would be the early morning wake up call from the roosters and the occasional power out.
Wld go here again x

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niknak356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

From the moment we were greeted at the door I felt as if I was at a relatives home. Marilyn was nothing but exuberant and compassionate towards us and made sure we were completely comfortable. They cooked, cleaned, regaled us with stories, and even taught me how to make a few Bical dishes (chicken adobado is a new fav of mine).

We were shown to our room, which met our needs (bed, shower, hot water, air con). The rest of the house was open for our use as well, large TV in the living room, kitchen if we wanted to use it, bathroom on the main level, courtyard with a hammock, and filtered water (definately a plus for refilling bottles of water).

Marilyn and her family (daughter, grandkids, sister in law, etc) constantly kept things clean and organized. The only reason I would rate cleanliness as a 4 is simply because it is an older home with a bit of repair that could probably be done, but that's to be expected from a town with such an old history.

The location is convenient to the town center, Donsol Public Market, several shops and restaurants, and the beach (although I would reccomend going just outside of the city center for a better beach). It's a short and cheap tricycle ride to get just outside of the center and go to better beaches at the resorts.

Marilyn organized all of our tours for us and handled them with grace. We were treated very well and didn't feel as if we were being taken for a ride price wise.

If you are looking for a place to relax and fight that homesick feeling by being treated like family, then I HIGHLY reccomend Aguluz Homestay. You will be hard pressed to find a better place, especially for the price, in Donsol!

Room Tip: Avoid the room downstairs, just off of the living room. The private room with bath up the stairs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vitadelizioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My friends and I had a great experience at AguLuz! Our room was comfortable with nice aircon and a hot shower. Marilyn and her family were extremely welcoming and helpful. If you stay here, have them cook you a local Bicol dish-- they even let you join them in the kitchen--they made us feel right at home! The town of Donsol itself is probably the friendliest place that I have ever visited and we felt very safe walking around, even during the evening. I would highly recommend that if you plan on staying in Donsol that you stay with Marilyn!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Marilyn and her family made the four of us feel like we were a part of their wonderful family during our three-night stay. During the day, the house typically was fairly busy, with three generations of family members commingling with the guests. I normally wouldn't be comfortable in this kind of busy environment, but the entire family does a great job of putting the guests at ease. Marilyn was very helpful in arranging our whale shark and fire fly excursions, and charged competitive prices. The room was fine, with everything as advertised. The food was a good deal: very tasty, with good-sized portions, at a price that is competitive with the two other tourist restaurants we sampled. But, again, the real highlight was Marilyn and her family. When we left Donsol, we were raving about the friendliness of the people of Donsol--and especially those at Aguluz--even more than swimming with the whale sharks--and swimming with the whale sharks was as incredible as advertised.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JourneyWithJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I am a backpacker and i went to see the whale sharks. Whale shark area is a tricycle ride away. If you want a beach area perhaps you can choose another place. The people are very friendly though. Room is very basic but airy. Doesnt have a closet though. Room looked clean. If you want less interaction choose a hotel. Homestays asks for more interaction.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honey1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donsol
0 km away
Vitton & Woodland Beach Resorts
0 km away
Dancalan Beach Resort
Dancalan Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Donsol
36 reviews
0 km away
Elysia Beach Resort
Elysia Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Donsol
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Ticao Island Resort
Ticao Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Ticao Island
86 reviews
0 km away
Villa JoLee
Villa JoLee
#4 of 5 in Donsol
11 reviews
0 km away
Giddy's Place PADI Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AguLuz Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AguLuz Homestay

Address: San Jose St. | Barangay Awaii, Donsol, Luzon 4715, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Sorsogon Province > Donsol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Donsol
Price Range: ₹ 2,027 - ₹ 2,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AGULUZ HOMESTAY is the best homestay in town! Yes it's the best in terms of the beautiful structure of the house and most especially in terms of services and hospitality and friendliness of the owners and staff and of the foods served!!! AGULUZ HOMESTAY has homey amenities, comfortable rooms, cool ambiance and affordable rates. It is along the national road right at the heart of the city and is only 5-10 minutes drive by tricycle to the Butanding Interaction Center. It has six cozy rooms: AC deluxe room with cable TV, own bath, hot and cold shower; AC standard room, shared bath; and fan rooms. AGULUZ offers free wifi service. It has wide parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your AguLuz Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguluz Homestay Hotel Donsol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing