We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perefect house for a large family...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stoke Gabriel, Totnes, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RikkyTikk...
Lambourn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The most perefect house for a large family holiday.”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Christmas holiday for 10 adults, 3 children and 2 hounds. The self contained suite at lower ground was perfect for the couple with the 2 hounds with its' door direct to the outside areas.The extra kitchen down there was very useful, and used mainly as a vegan cooking area. The pool is exceptional, especially for a quiet float after dark to stargaze through the glass roof. The spiral staircase from the main bedroom down to the pool would be useful to some, although we kept access locked off to avoid any inquisitive little monsters going exploring. The various sitting rooms made it easy to find a quiet space. All of the bedrooms are spacious and well equipped. The range and the additional hobs and oven made it easy to cook a full traditional Christmas Feast. The overall space is very generous, and even with an additional 6 guests for a day visit there was still room to spare. The local caretaking staff were extremely helpful, nothing seeming too much trouble. With more than 15 years of experience renting holiday houses of all sizes, our party were all agreed that this was probably the best. We even tried to book it again for the next Christmas whilst we were there, but it was already taken. Thoroughly recommended for any time of year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polkadanc...
Belvedere
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just come back from a family holiday at this house. It is certainly very impressive. Facilities extremely good although the furnishing is beginning to show signs of wear and tear. Swimming pool is fantastic and is regularly maintained, but the flagstones are very slippery when wet, so take extreme care. Otherwise there is all you could want at this house to keep everyone amused, from the pool to the snooker table and table tennis table to jigsaws, dvd's books, games, cards and children's toys, so even if it rains outside there is still plenty to do. The gardens are lovely and again well maintained. There is no real mobile signal but I believe this is a problem in various parts of Devon, however there is wi-fi, and you don't really want to use them do you - after all you are on holiday to get away :) A car is essential if you stay at this property but there is plenty of parking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed enjoyed your stay at Sandridge Barton.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie R
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were all thrilled with the accommodation and facilities which this beautiful house offered us. The bedrooms were lovely, the bathrooms good and the living rooms comfortable and beautifully furnished. The kitchen was well equipped with loads of china, cutlery and cooking utensils etc. The gardens and views were glorious and the terrace made the most of them. The crowning glory for me was the warm indoor swimming pool. We used it every day, sometimes twice. The best experience for some of us was lying in the dark pool on a starry night and feeling you were floating in space - magic! We would also recommend reading the visitors book for some hilarious contributions by former guests, priceless!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: I could not get a signal for my tablet, but everyone else could. Phone signal was tricky too but , if you walked around a bit one could usually get one eventually.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
We are so glad to receive such praising feedback about Sandridge Barton, thank you. It sounds like the house was absolutely perfect for you, and what a treat to sit out and watch the night sky from the pool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McClos
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful location, well equipped and perfect for a large group”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just had a great time - wonderful views, peaceful, but close to amenities in Stoke Gabriel (2 miles), Totnes (5 miles). Paignton (3 miles), such as shops, places of interest and water sports etc. The house had a great pool (indoor and well heated), and terracing overlooking the estuary. The house was so well equipped, with an aga, separate oven and hob and a second kitchen. There was a great TV room and a peaceful lounge as well as a comfortable breakfast room attached to the spacious kitchen - so lots of places to gather together or chill in small groups.

The main bedroom suite was spectacular - all the other rooms were also well equipped, although the doubles would apparently have benefited from at least a topper on the mattress or maybe upgrading to a newer king size. For that reason, it would currently suit a group with children more than 5 or 6 couples who would be fighting over who got the twin rooms!! Both kitchens had loads of equipment and generally the house had been thoughtfully set up with all kinds of great touches (first aid kits, pool towels, barbeque equipment etc

There was plenty of provision for babies and small children -with cots, high chairs and even one room with child-friendly decor.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at Sandridge Barton and I hope we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing